We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpfull staffs, easy access to Ski area and Banff downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banff Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Kyoto, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Helpfull staffs, easy access to Ski area and Banff downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed the hotel for 6 nights and enjoyed skiing. Staffs helped us many times. Location is convenient to access to Ski area, Banff downtown and rental car services. We also enjoyed jaggzy bath and steam sauna in the hotel. Underparking lot is convenient, not suffering by snow, but has not enough slots to park for all guests. Ski locker room is secured and easy to access.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    260
    174
    69
    40
See reviews for
159
309
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

The room was pretty standard and we got good service at the front desk. The restaurants were only open during peak hours, which is a bit of a pain when its freezing cold out and you arrive at 9pm. There was a DVD player in the room, which you don't see too often. The hot tub area wasn't very clean, but I think there was a teenaged hockey team staying there at the same time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. Unfortunately we do only have the restaurant open for breakfast and dinner during the quieter months however we are striving to increase these hours when possible. Fortunately Banff also has a wide range of restaurants that will deliver right to your hotel room at all hours, everything from French cuisine to pizzas, even beer or wine if needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Staff is very friendly, room was very clean and comfortable, food was great. I'd definatley stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

The hotel is well located at the north end of downtown Banff. Many shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance.

Nice rooms, comfy beds,

free underground parking - very nice in winter

Nice decor.

Two Hot tubs and stream room. Sauna didn't work. Very small fitness area - one treadmill and a few dumbbells. The nice pool in hotel photos is for spa guests only.

Our rooms were very clean but the Hot tub room was dirty. I thought it might be because we were in late but I checked back the next morning and it wasn't any better.

Multiple Shuttle buses to nearby ski hills stop right at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We do appreciate your feedback and have since changed our polices in regards to the cleaning schedule of our spa area. We hope the next time you visit you will see the change and enjoy the spa area as it should be enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

banff ptarmigan inn is about as close to banff centre as you can get, 2 minute walk from all shops, bars and restaurants, hotel is spotlessley clean, courteous staff, great value in restaurant . rooms are comfortable with everything you could need

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Front Office Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We at the Banff Ptarmigan Inn pride ourselves in our customer service and would like to thank you for staying with us and wish you safe travels and a sooner return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Travelling with small children is difficult - small children with food allergies is more so. Almost all restaurants will advise when their premises have allergens. Many will try to advise which dishes do not have the allergens. Few will provide ingredients on a dish by dish basis. The Meatball went to a level reserved for the very upscale of restaurants - they made a single serving of their dish completely from scratch (the only solution left for the chef as he could not determine the ingredients for all components of his dish) to ensure the safety of my children. Yes, most kitchens do use prepared "sub-ingredients", such as premade sauces. The Meatball also charged their regular fare for this specially prepared meal. I consider this outstanding service, and left a message with the restaurant manger and hotel manager detailing our delight.
The Ptarmigan Inn itself is an excellent value, and provides service beyond their price range. The rooms are clean, the beds warm and boucy (as my children described), the hot water at a good pressure, and really wonderful soap bars (again, my children). Heated parking is readily available, as is a hot-tub/soaker-tub.
The location cannot be beat. It is central to downtown Banff, but far enough away that you can't hear the closing crowd emptying the many bars.
The hotel bar is quite nice, albeit a bit small. The 3 HDTV was barely sufficient given the diversity of sports interests present - hockey, soccer and golf were all playing. The bar tenders more than make up for it with great service, local stories, contiuous drinks and that Banff charm.
Wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed here for Valetines night! We stayed in one of there SUPERIOR rooms! It was great! We had a fireplace and a jetted tub which we used but found hairs in the tub. I love the beds. The feather mattres cover and feather douve are AWESOME! We had a great night! The location is perfect to walk downtown!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunBanff, Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments and we’re glad you had a great stay. We have spoken with our Housekeeping to ensure that the issue you had does not reoccur. We hope it was a Valentines to remember and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.