We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very bad experience!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
ottawa
1 review
“very bad experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

It's a bad experience with this hotel, the first one they give to me is full of smoke smell, the second one they exchanged for me has no air condition, hot, a lot of noise, small room! I don't recommend this one for people especially with children. For those who has to be there, don't be hesitate ask them to change if they give you 251 room!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    171
    113
    40
    21
See reviews for
104
158
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

After over 15 years of regularly staying at the Banff International Hotel last week was the last time staying there.

The property was renovated a number years ago but is now average at best. I liked staying there because:

- the rooms are large
- property is very close to the core couple of blocks of Banff avenue with restaurants, shops and bars (St. James Gate in particular)
- Safeway is across the street for snack runs
- large underground heated parking for the winter ski weeks

This year as usual I checked on-line for availability and called in to book. Got the usual $245 price given the summer peak season (versus the usual half for the lower winter months). I was told that given we were repeat customers we would get an upgraded room.

Upgrade turned out to be simply the same room but located in the "new" outer ring, which is as dated as the rest of the rooms, with a view. The view turned out being Mt. Rundle as our room was directly above the front door drive up ramp. For the winter probably not that bad as the windows would need to be closed. However, not good at all for the summer as the rooms have no air conditioning. We needed to open the windows which also let in all the street noise and kept us up at night--close window and roast or open and listen to every person walking by or having a smoke out front.

"Upgraded" room aside the biggest issue and reason for not staying again was the awful service and attitude of the management. In particular, upon checking in a walk-up asked the next front desk agent the rate. The agent very loudly quoted $55 less per night for the same standard room we reserved. Without simply handing over our extra $55 per night we politely questioned why our rate was so much higher. We were told they were not a full capacity so they had dropped the rate. After pointing out that the difference was rather significant (to us it was) and that we were regular customers for over 15 years the Manager was called out and we were told that because we made a reservation we had no choice but to pay the higher price. As a compromise the Manager indicated that they may give us a 3rd or 4th night free for a future stay at full rates of at least 2 or 3 nights. However he would have check with his Manager and get back to us the next day.

Needless to say we had no options other than to check in or have to pay for all the nights booked given a 72 hour cancellation policy. No one ever contacted us the following day.
When questioning the front desk agent upon checkout I was simply smiled at as my credit card was processed.

Last time staying given a reservation only guarantees paying an over-inflated price and management could care less about getting a repeat customer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed at the Banff International for three days and loved it. Our family of four had a loft room with three beds. The room was very clean and comfortable for us and the central location of the hotel made visiting downtown Banff very easy. The rooms are not AC'd, but the mountains cool rapidly in the evening and sleeping was easy even after hot days. The entire staff were friendly, from the efficient and polite check-in to the smiling room cleaning staff that say "Good to see you again" when you pass them in the morning.

Our only caution when considering the hotel is the level of noise that creeps into the room from outside. The hotel is not well soundproofed and so you will hear noisy neighbours or people talking as they walk by late at night. But you are in central Banff and should expect the noise such a location will inevitably invite. There is also a train line that you will hear.

We paid $175CDN / night for our loft room. The value can't be beat for a family on vacation in Banff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

The hotel is very clean, well priced and in an excellent location. The only problem is that there is no air conditioning in room so at night it may get hot.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We stayed two nights at this hotel. After two days on the train we were looking to relax and thankfully our check-in went very smoothly. The front desk gentleman was extremely pleasant as were the other staff we encountered on check-out. Our room was a good size and very clean. I have seen some reports where people have complained about the view from their room, but lets face it, one does not go on holidays to sit in a hotel room all day. (Our room did have a good view). The location is right in the centre of Banff with bus stops close by. Talking of buses, we went to Sulphur Mountain and the bus driver was most helpful in suggesting different sights to see. All in all, a nice hotel in a very pleasant location. Pity we didn't have more time here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel with a group of guys for a stag. We selected it as we were able to get a loft room which would provide us with enough beds and room so the group could all stay together.

The front check in staff were more concerned with the girls in the hot tub wanting to stay for another 10 minutes after it closed than checking us in. The underground parking was a nice feature, although it would be a little scary for some people as most of the lights were off.

The decor of the room as dated, the TVs were from 1980 and one didn't even have a remote.

The problem came at 7:00 in the morning the next day. The walls are paper thin and the room is incredibly hot. By paper thin, I mean that you can hear the next door neighbours walk up and down the stairs and every word of their conversation. They weren't even yelling but it was like they were sitting on the end of my bed having their conversation. Even with the windows open, the room was incredibly hot.

This hotel is located very close to the main strip of Banff which is a huge bonus. Overall this hotel is what it is. It served its purpose for us, but I wouldn't be having a romantic weekend here or bring my family.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

We found the hotel very friendly/homely with a 24hr reception, which gives you peace of mind. All the staff were very helpful and the food was very good in the restaurant and we had no problems with eating there. The sauna/jacuzzi room was very clean with lovely views. Our room was very big with plenty of room with a fridge and tea making facilities, main let down was we did'nt have a view but we were out most of the time anyway so it did'nt riun our holiday. The hotel was at the end of Banff avenue and was very well located for all the shops, restaurants and museums etc. I did hear that the decor is getting a make over in February. I would reccoment this hotel to anyone to stay in.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room temperature
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.