We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We stayed two nights at this hotel. After two days on the train we were looking to relax and thankfully our check-in went very smoothly. The front desk gentleman was extremely pleasant as were the other staff we encountered on check-out. Our room was a good size and very clean. I have seen some reports where people have complained about the view from their room, but lets face it, one does not go on holidays to sit in a hotel room all day. (Our room did have a good view). The location is right in the centre of Banff with bus stops close by. Talking of buses, we went to Sulphur Mountain and the bus driver was most helpful in suggesting different sights to see. All in all, a nice hotel in a very pleasant location. Pity we didn't have more time here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    179
    120
    40
    21
See reviews for
108
165
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, AB
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel with a group of guys for a stag. We selected it as we were able to get a loft room which would provide us with enough beds and room so the group could all stay together.

The front check in staff were more concerned with the girls in the hot tub wanting to stay for another 10 minutes after it closed than checking us in. The underground parking was a nice feature, although it would be a little scary for some people as most of the lights were off.

The decor of the room as dated, the TVs were from 1980 and one didn't even have a remote.

The problem came at 7:00 in the morning the next day. The walls are paper thin and the room is incredibly hot. By paper thin, I mean that you can hear the next door neighbours walk up and down the stairs and every word of their conversation. They weren't even yelling but it was like they were sitting on the end of my bed having their conversation. Even with the windows open, the room was incredibly hot.

This hotel is located very close to the main strip of Banff which is a huge bonus. Overall this hotel is what it is. It served its purpose for us, but I wouldn't be having a romantic weekend here or bring my family.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

We found the hotel very friendly/homely with a 24hr reception, which gives you peace of mind. All the staff were very helpful and the food was very good in the restaurant and we had no problems with eating there. The sauna/jacuzzi room was very clean with lovely views. Our room was very big with plenty of room with a fridge and tea making facilities, main let down was we did'nt have a view but we were out most of the time anyway so it did'nt riun our holiday. The hotel was at the end of Banff avenue and was very well located for all the shops, restaurants and museums etc. I did hear that the decor is getting a make over in February. I would reccoment this hotel to anyone to stay in.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room temperature
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

This is a large hotel with good facilities, 24 hour front desk, and popular with tour groups. Check-in staff were very helpful, and the room was very comfortable and clean, with mini-fridge. There is a free underground car park, which is a great asset at any time of year (not just winter), as on-street parking is very difficult in Banff. The hotel is on the main street, and all of the shops and restaurants are within 5 to 15 minutes walk. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but I didn't eat there - there are too many great places to eat nearby. This is a good base for a stay of up to a week, and represents good value for Banff. The hotel's web site says it offers free wireless internet, but I distinctly remember that the system said it only offered a free period to try it (enough for me to book my next hotel on this trip), and you would need to pay after the first few minutes - maybe this has changed in the past few months since I stayed there.

  • Liked — Great location, free underground parking
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in a spacious small suite (2 queen size beds, sitting area, bathroom). No air conditioning, but ceiling and freestanding fans. Decoration of room was dingy. Beds were really uncomfortable - the first to be so in our trip. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and there is a choice of a buffet (plentiful and good) or a la carte. There is a car park in the basement. The town centre is quite compact, and there is a good range of restaurants to choose from. We didn't use the hotel's restaurant apart from breakfast, but the menu looked good. The hotel is bigger than it appears, and easily caters for tourists.

  • Liked — Plenty of space
  • Disliked — Lumpy, uncomfortable beds
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

The hotel is in a great location, just next door to a Safeway, and a short walk to the extensive Banff shopping. There's free underground parking, but no security. The room was stuffy and had no A/C. No view either....saw only a large piece of engineering equipment, or something like that. Bed was the hardest I've ever slept on, and I'm not usually picky regarding beds. Internet available, but pretty expensive. It's not a terrible place, though, just don't expect something fabulous.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — stifling air in the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

I have stayed in the hotel during a weekend vacation. I find it amazing for its price. Its location is a bonus, it is near all banff attractions, I didn't have a car, and I found it easy to walk to any place.
The hotel itself is so clean, the service is excellent.
I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.