We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved the rooms and the views. The staff were wonderful and friendly.

Location is excellent as well; couldn't have asked for more.

The beds were comfy and the family enjoyed a wonderful sleep. Would recommend to people wanting the best in Banff.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    201
    122
    40
    21
See reviews for
114
174
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay - the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to shopping and restaurants - it was right around the corner. Enjoyed the Jacuzzi - it was a great way to end the day. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was easy to find had its own secure car park under the building which was good. Whilst we were booked into a standard room, but as we were on our honeymoon they very kindly offered us a bigger family room (and later a king size room when one became available). The fellow behind the desk, David crossland, was particularly helpfull, helped us with all our enquiries and was able to tell us what was good to do in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This may have been my best hotel stay of all of my travels! I want to send a special thanks to Stephanie at the front desk for all of your help and coordination for what I hear was months of planning. It all started with "Let's go to Banff for a ladies weekend". It was my birthday weekend and it was the first time in many years that I have been home in Canada to celebrate. I went ahead and booked 2 rooms with no set plans. Growing up I never actually had a birthday party so my girlfriends decided to throw me a "Champagne Birthday" that I would never forget. Not only did this hotel upgrade our 2 rooms to loft suites at no additional charge, Stephanie was in on the coordinated birthday the whole time! The girls were running late decorating so Stephanie from the hotel called and let me know that due to the "Late check in due to 'housekeeping' " she would be upgrading the rooms at no additional cost. She's a trickster, that one! She was in on the surprise the whole time! AMAZING! I am not a girl of many emotions but the organization behind this brought me to "Happy" tears! The hotel also gave us a late check out of 1pm the following day. Thank you for making my "29 on the 29th" birthday the most memorable day of my life! Lastly, the loft suites are newly renovated and aesthetically appealing! The banff international in located on the main strip and is conveniently located close to all of Banff Avenue's fun! The customer service, the rooms and the convenience is an easy recommend on this hotel. Thanks again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at this hotel by default as our original booking was unsatisfactory at another hotel. The front desk lady was most helpful in quickly setting us up in a room, and gave us the pick of one of the standard rooms or one that had been refurbished. It is obvious the renovations are still underway as there was a distinct lack of things like hooks for hanging clothes but this was a minor to us. The furniture still needs to be updated as was explained to us but the beds were comfy and everything was clean. The bathroom door 'stuck' a lot because of the recent painting, and wasn't able to fully close.
Our ground floor room looked out onto a walking alleyway which I presume is for staff to use. If we were in our room during the day we felt we had to lower the blind as we had a couple of people walking past and being able to clearly see in. Perhaps this needs to be looked into for privacy reasons? Maybe a net curtain or tinted glass would do.
Reasonably quiet despite being so close to town - apart from some late night lads trying to find their room in the early hours.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear 189Helen,

Thank you for your review of the Banff International Hotel. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy the comforts of one of our recently renovated rooms. As you note, we still await the new furniture for the full effect. I also wish to thank you for your suggestions. They are appreciated and we will look into the alternatives.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Brewster Hospitality
Banff International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is OK, middle of the road, doesn't offend but doesn't overly impress.
The rooms are of a reasonable size, the decor is that that you get in a marginally over budget porn movie (so I'm informed).
I had two double beds in my room, a small bathroom and a good size flatscreen TV.
So nothing to complain about, but nothing to rave about either.
The staff were adequate, certainly not rude but clearly had received no training on customer communication, interaction or relationships.
The hotel has an underground car park, but beware, the height is 1.8 metres, my car didn't fit and I imagine there are a few 4x4's out there that will struggle also.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to stay a night in Banff last minute. We picked the Banff International as we remember it being much closer to downtown. Found an amazing rate of 100.00 to top it all off.

We checked in late, check in was quick and friendly. We parked underground which is located around the corner - the parking lot was very spacious and clean, best of all free of course.

The hotel's interior is a bit dated, not a huge deal. The room itself had everything you need - although the amenities were a bit bare. We had a coffee maker, with 1 cup and 1 pack of coffee, no sugar or coffee mate to be found.

We slept well, the windows open and the beds are comfy and linens clean.

Will certainly consider this hotel again in the future, having it so close to downtown was an amazing bonus.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Clover82,

We are very glad that you picked well and enjoyed your stay with us! Your review pointed out many positive attributes of our hotel and we thank you for the feedback, it is much appreciated.

We have just renovated one wing of our hotel and have just a few days left before we re-open this section. It is a nice modernization of our interior and our rooms.

We do hope you consider us again in the future and we hope that we can provide good value and another positive experience.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Brewster Hospitality
Banff International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.