We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Lady on Reception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant Lady on Reception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived at this hotel by default as our original booking was unsatisfactory at another hotel. The front desk lady was most helpful in quickly setting us up in a room, and gave us the pick of one of the standard rooms or one that had been refurbished. It is obvious the renovations are still underway as there was a distinct lack of things like hooks for hanging clothes but this was a minor to us. The furniture still needs to be updated as was explained to us but the beds were comfy and everything was clean. The bathroom door 'stuck' a lot because of the recent painting, and wasn't able to fully close.
Our ground floor room looked out onto a walking alleyway which I presume is for staff to use. If we were in our room during the day we felt we had to lower the blind as we had a couple of people walking past and being able to clearly see in. Perhaps this needs to be looked into for privacy reasons? Maybe a net curtain or tinted glass would do.
Reasonably quiet despite being so close to town - apart from some late night lads trying to find their room in the early hours.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    197
    121
    40
    21
See reviews for
112
172
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We decided to stay a night in Banff last minute. We picked the Banff International as we remember it being much closer to downtown. Found an amazing rate of 100.00 to top it all off.

We checked in late, check in was quick and friendly. We parked underground which is located around the corner - the parking lot was very spacious and clean, best of all free of course.

The hotel's interior is a bit dated, not a huge deal. The room itself had everything you need - although the amenities were a bit bare. We had a coffee maker, with 1 cup and 1 pack of coffee, no sugar or coffee mate to be found.

We slept well, the windows open and the beds are comfy and linens clean.

Will certainly consider this hotel again in the future, having it so close to downtown was an amazing bonus.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Clover82,

We are very glad that you picked well and enjoyed your stay with us! Your review pointed out many positive attributes of our hotel and we thank you for the feedback, it is much appreciated.

We have just renovated one wing of our hotel and have just a few days left before we re-open this section. It is a nice modernization of our interior and our rooms.

We do hope you consider us again in the future and we hope that we can provide good value and another positive experience.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Brewster Hospitality
Banff International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel during skiing season, I understand that Banff is kind of a party town which explains the quality of the guest rooms. Don't get me wrong they were clean and they had a nice bathroom and a flat screen TV but there was permanent stains all over almost everything and the furniture was very outdated. The lobby and entrance was very nice and both ladies that helped me at the front desk were very knowledgeable and friendly. I will come again but overall was a little bit pricey.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Brook P.

Thank you for your review of our property and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We consider all feedback valuable in the quest to ever-improve our product and services.

Please know that we are in the midst of a full renovation of our rooms, which we are doing phase by phase so that we remain open throughout the year. Up to this point, the renovation is advancing very well and our rooms have a brand new modern look and feel.

Thank you as well for your comments regarding the friendliness of the front desk staff.

We do hope that you will come back and try our new modern rooms.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Brester Hospitality
Banff International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent value. I paid $110 for a night's stay in a room with two queen sized beds. If you're an Albertan resident you get a free full breakfast at Ricky's. The room had been recently renovated and was clean and modern. Parking was included thought the parking area was limited. I wouldn't be surprised if on occasion guests drive around endlessly and find the place to be full. If that happens I think you could find street parking. If you're looking for value, in a well run hotel then this is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear grainneualie:

Thank you for being one of the first to review our recently renovated rooms. I am glad that you found them appealing and of excellent value. The Alberta Resident Special is a great value and it is available throughout the summer as well.

Parking can be a challenge on the busiest weekend nights but we take pains to prepare the front desk staff with maps that indicate exactly where street parking is and for how many hours. Many parts of our side streets are 3-day or 72-hour parking.

It is always a pleasure to hear positive and balanced feedback from a guest. I hope to see you again in beautiful Banff.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

At $89 per night this hotel offered everything I could think of for that price. The rooms are large, dated, but very clean. They are renovating so once this is done I imagine the hotel rooms will look very good. Our room had 2 queen sized beds that were a tad squeaky. The exercise room doesn't have any weights. Other than that, no other complaints. The train that runs through banff is very loud and it came about 6 times one night. That noise would be heard from any hotel. There is a Ricky's grill right in the lobby. The front desk was very friendly and welcoming. Wifi is free (so is parking which is nice) but I could only get wifi to work for the first few minutes of being in the room. I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear tovsgetaway:

Thank you for your appreciative review of our property. We are grateful for the feedback. In particular the front desk staff will be pleased to hear your comments.

Our renovations are going very well and the rooms that are currently finished look modern and sleek. We hope that you will give the new rooms a try the next time you are in town.

Again, it is nice to hear that we met your expectations and provided you with great value.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel, and it has been a pleasant one. A friend and I stayed during the Easter weekend and the service and hospitality is above average. We were helped from Stephanie at the front desk and she was very nice and set us up pretty quickly. The rooms were clean as like last time and looked out dated like last time, but the hotel staff have told me there is some major renovations happening now and by next year, should have most of it done. Hot tub is very nice and Ricky's is pretty good too. Overall, it has been a great stay and will definitely come back next year.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Matthew K

Thank you for your recent review and for continuing to make the Banff International Hotel your property of choice during your visits to Banff.

We are very glad we were able to provide you with another positive experience and as you quite rightly pointed out we are in the midst of our major renovations to transform the hotel into a modern property.

We also thank you for your kind words about the staff member you cited, she was very happy to know she could have such a positive impact on your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the Banff International Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Three of us stayed here on Good Friday along with a 9 mth old. Great set up as each adult had a bed with two queen beds in the loft, and the infant and her mother on the main floor. The upstairs had its own TV console. Downstairs was a double bed, table and 2 chairs, tv console, couch and bathroom. Carpet is a bit dated. Room was clean. Heated parking is available for vehicles under 6.1 inches. Coffee and tea are complimentary in the lobby. My only complaint is the restaurant "Rickies" in the lobby. Poor service and high prices for the quantity and quality. They said under different manager but you can sign your meal to your room? I would recommend the hotel but not the restaurant. Staff at the desk are friendly and helpful. As for Banff cute town, but not infant friendly. Most restaurants say no minors or do not allow strollers inside. The majority are on the second floor o f the downtown buildings.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Paula W

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

First and foremost we do apologize for the issues you experienced in Rickys and to answer your question, it is possible to sign meals to your room. We have passed your comments on to Rickys management in order to improve that area of the hotel going forward.

We are glad however despite that shortfall you had an overall positive experience with us and we thank you for your kind words about our staff.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Banff International hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.