We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served the purpose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Served the purpose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed a few nights here with some friends staying nearby so didn't really spend all that much time in the hotel.

A nice room though, good size, clean and presentable and the staff were polite and helpful. All went smoothly so no need to discuss any customer service issues.

Good location for the centre of town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Stanski2015,

We ae pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in August with us and we thank you for sharing your comments.

We would be happy to welcome you back to our rooms which are gradually being renovated.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    187
    120
    40
    21
See reviews for
109
169
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed one night in Banff, the hotel is quite handy after a day of shopping or a late night out in Banff. The staff are amazing and upgraded my initial booking to a much bigger room. So happy they did as the rooms are huge with a mountain view just across the street.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear awesomewellington,

Thank you for your very positive feedback of your recent stay with us. It is very heartwarming to see the staff recognized as they are always striving to go out of their way for guests.

Your words mean a lot.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at Banff international hotel on the snow easy package and we were amazed by the value of the deal.

We stayed in the loft rooms with are huge. Three large beds, two upstairs and one down, and more room than you'll know what to do with. The decor needs a little refresh but the hotel is doing renovations over the next year so I'll sure this will be fine tuned.

WiFi is free in the hotel but the connection is fairly poor. I heard from other visitors that the connection was more stable in the lobby but on the third floor at least it dropped out frustratingly often.

The location of the Hotel is great, there is a snow shuttle pick-up right next door, safeway supermarket across the road and even ice skating in the park with skates available to hire in the store connected to the lobby.
The main street is a tiny walk away. The lobby suggested 5-10 minutes to most places but unless you hit every red light or walk at the pace of a 90 year old with a zimmerframe you'll get there in about 3.

Staff are lovely and will go out of your way, lockers are available for ski gear and the jacuzzi on the ground floor is great to help work away those aches and pains from a day of human avalanche impersonations.

The snow easy package itself was a great deal including lift passes, bus transfers and vouchers for use at the hotel restaurant or The Toque on the main strip.

We had a great time, couldn't believe the value and would definitely be back again.
If it wasn't for some minor issues this review would be 5 stars.

Room Tip: The loft rooms are HUGE for only a small amount more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear kingzac,

Thank you for sharing the wonderful experience you had during your time with us.

We are glad that you found the Snow Easy package to be of such great value. Our hope when designing it was to make skiing in the Rockies something easy, convenient and hassle-free.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to hosting you again in the beautiful Rockies.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the a Banff International for 3 nights and were very happy with our accommodations. I agree with many reviewers that the rooms are dated however I believe it is part of the charm of Banff. I do not want a fancy overly modern hotel in this rustic outdoor location. The room was very clean and the beds incredibly comfortably.

The great customer service came in when I contacted the hotel ahead of time wanting to plan a surprise for my husband. I courier out an anniversary gift and some decorations prior to our arrival. The staff had everything laid out beautifully in our room and when we opened the door my hubby was very surprised and I couldn't have been more pleased.

The location was great. We were able to park (free parking) and walk everywhere.

I would definitely stay again and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kim M

On behalf of all of us at Brewster Hospitality I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to leave your glowing review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience and we are very glad to hear our staff were able to be so helpful in setting up your anniversary surprise.

I would also like to touch on your comments about our rooms and we absolutely agree that they are dated which is why I’m proud to say we are currently in the second phase of our extensive renovations to completely transform the hotel.

We thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Banff International Hotel when your journeys return you to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was staying for one nigh. Very pleasant staff. Very clean rooms and areas. We had to check in again for another night as the weather was not goo to drive back to our destination. The staff accommodated us with professionalism. The four of us were very happy to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Debbie C

On Behalf of all of us at Brewster Hospitality we thank you very much for your glowing review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are very happy to hear our staff could be so accommodating when you were in need.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Banff International Hotel in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The International Hotel in Banff was a pleasant surprise. We found it after leaving disappointed from another hotel in Banff. Customer service was great, the lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful, the price of the room was excellent, the room itself was big and comfortable. We were able to check in early and check out late, which was much appreciated. The hotel is close enough to the downtown shops for a pleasant short walk. They have a good size hot tub with plenty of towels. The restaurant on-site (Ricky's Grill) serves good food, and service is attentive. There is coffee and tea in the lobby. We had a good time at the International Hotel and felt appreciated as guests.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear electronicpaper

On behalf of all of us at Brewster Hospitality I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to leave this glowing review of the Banff International Hotel.

Experiences like yours are what we strive to provide all of our guests and we particularly thank you for your kind words about our staff and for pointing out our great location and facilities to your fellow travellers.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Banff International Hotel in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Banff International Hotel is centrally located and would recommend it without hesitation. The rooms are very clean and maintenance is very good. Safeway is just across for any shopping and many restaurants are close by. The view of the Mountains in the morning is great. The only draw back is the poor WI-fi connection in the rooms. But, the wi fi in the lounge area is excellent. With a coffee / tea maker in the lounge with comfortable cushioned chairs, it is a great place to spend your free time.

Room Tip: Carry your Laptops to the lounge - you have better connection. Safeway super market is close by righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear PARAMAST

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

First and foremost I would like to apologize with the issues you experienced in regards to our Wi-Fi network, it is very troubling for us to hear that as we recently upgraded our entire system and we are looking into anything that may have caused that poor connection.

We are glad despite this issue you had an overall positive experience and we thank you for pointing out our fantastic location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Banff International Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.