We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is clean, very comfortable and spacious. The staff were very helpful and sorted out any queries we had. The location is excellent, just up from the Main Street of shops and has a supermarket opposite. The buses stop right beside. All in all excellent value especially if you are travelling without a car.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mum23Queensland

On behalf of all of us at Brewster Hospitality we thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your glowing review of the Banff International Hotel.

We also thank you for your kind words about our staff and for pointing out our fantastic location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

Experiences like yours are what we strive to provide all our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Banff International Hotel in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    179
    120
    40
    21
See reviews for
108
165
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for Christmas for 6 nights. Would very much recommend.
- Excellent location in the centre of town,
- Plenty of underground parking (good as the temp was so cold!)
- Spacious rooms with good facilities
- Helpful friendly staff - arrived early after a mamoth journey from Jasper and there was no issue checking in early etc...

Wifi was a bit sketchy but as not on business, it was not the most critical aspect of the trip!

Really positive first trip to Canada, re-enforced by friendly staff!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sweenem

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your overwhelmingly positive and informative review of the Banff International Hotel.

I would however like to apologize about any issues you may have had with our Wi-Fi network, this is troubling for us to hear as we recently upgraded our entire network and we are looking into any issues there may be.

We also thank you for your kind words about our staff and for pointing out our excellent location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Banff International Hotel.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the hotel for a long weekend in Banff in January this year, We had a large family room with 2 double beds on mezzanine floor and a further double on ground floor. A TV was on each floor. The room was very clean but but looked tired as did the rest of the hotel. The beds were small, our one could have benefited from a new mattress as we kept rolling into the middle.
The hotel provides free parking in the car park below.
On arrival we used the toilets in the lobby, these where in a dire state both the women and the mens. We reported this to reception, she radio housekeeping straight away. The hotel was very busy.
All the staff were friendly and location is ideal for eating out and exploring the many sites off Banff.
A point to remember - if you intend to drive to Banff and park up the motor and use public transport to see the sites, then you do not have to pay the tolls when entering the park.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear kevinmacEssex

Thank you for your recent of the Banff International Hotel.

First and foremost while we are happy to hear you had an overall positive experience I would like to apologize about the state of the lobby washrooms and the mattress in your room.

As we have begun the second phase of our major renovations, feedback like yours provides us with the information we need to create an even better guest experience going forward, such as mattress replacement and what we would agree is the aged feel of the hotel.

We do also thank you for your kind words about our staff and for pointing out our fantastic location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Banff International Hotel in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here in 2008 from the 26th of December until the 9th of January 2009 - What can I say everything about the town, the hotel, the skiing was perfect! By far the best place I've ever visited! The rooms are amazing! The staff are Brilliant! The facilities were incredible! All in all I would if I could spend the rest of my life here!

Room Tip: Rooms at the south of the building seemed to have the best views of the hills!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Calum M

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your glowing review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are glad you had such a positive experience with us as well as a wonderful time skiing.

We also thank you for your kind words about our staff and we hope one day we will be able to welcome you back to the Banff International Hotel once more and live up to the prior experience you had which motivated you to write this review so very long after your stay occurred.

It was truly a pleasure to hear from you.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is located in a great area of Banff on the main street. Great for walking anywhere. There's a safeway across the street.
The beds were the best beds I have ever slept on. However, the hotel is very dated.
There's a ricks something restaurant in the hotel with terrible service and apparently out of a lot of food items.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Leanne C

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you experienced with Rickys Grill during your visit, we did experience severe issues over the holiday period with food shortages and we are sorry about any lapse in customer service levels that may have taken place along with that.

We are glad to hear however the hotel side of your stay was very positive and that you found our beds so comfortable and enjoyed our fantastic location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

I would also briefly like to touch on your comments about the age of the hotel, we definitely agree that our hotel is dated which is why I am proud to say we are now in the second phase of our extensive renovations to completely transform the Banff International Hotel.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Superbly placed to walk into town. Parking underground but only for 6'1 vehicles or less. Limited outside parking. Didn't use the sauna etc or Ricky's so can't comment. Will definitely stay again when coming skiing

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear HighlandShortie

We thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review of the Banff International Hotel and we are glad to hear you enjoyed our location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time we have stayed here. It is in a great location. Right downtown. You can walk to most things. The front desk girl was great. She upgraded us and when we were not thrilled with the room - no view - she gave us a better upgrade. Beds were comfy, Ricky's restaurant on site and nice hot tub. It feels a little old when you walk through the halls but the front desk and lobby are really nice and comfortable. Good value when in Banff.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the front corner, next back corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Andy F

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We regret you did not like the room you originally booked but we are happy to hear our staff could be so accommodating in moving you to a different room that you enjoyed more.

We definitely agree with our guest comments about the age of the hotel which is why I’m proud to say we have just begun the second phase of our extensive renovations to completely transform the Banff International.

We are glad you had an overall positive experience and we thank you for your kind words about our staff and we hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Banff International Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.