We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Medicine Hat, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

As usual a comfortable stay we had the loft room for our family which was very spacious. We attended the winter start night run and the hotel provided the perfect base. Staff very friendly, parking was not great had to park on the street 5 min walk away but minor problem. Breakfast at Ricky's attached to the hotel is a waste of time. It looked empty but we were told 30 min wait not sure how they make money. I recommend Mellisas for breakfast.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    173
    114
    40
    21
See reviews for
104
159
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can't say enough about Banff International Hotel the staff are amazing. We have stayed there twice now once on our own and just this past weekend took all our foreman and their wives out for the night. Being a large group things usually get alittle messy but the staff were more than happy to help and things went great. As for the location you are one block from downtown shops and all the entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has a nice large and yet warm feel to the lobby. The desk is open 24 hrs for check in, which we needed as we caught the 10.30pm shuttle and arrived 12.40am.
Nice and quiet despite being on the main strip. The rooms are basic but moderately sized with a deep bath and a coffee machine in the bathroom.
Staff are accommodating and the restaurant is open for breakfast til 4pm with $4 cocktail specials daily.
A short 5 minute Walking distance from cafes, hiking trails and shops. There are buses leaving daily from hotels nearby for $13 to Lake Louise taking about 45 mins.
If you are after a cosy, no frills stay in the hub of Banff this place is great.

Room Tip: 5 th floor has a great view of the rocky mountains and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear OpheliaSam

We are very happy to hear that you had such a positive experience during your visit and from all of us at Brewster Hospitality we thank you for taking the time to leave us your glowing review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are also glad to hear you could take such full advantage of our great location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We thank you once again for taking the time to leave us your feedback as well as all the tips you have given to your fellow travellers and we hope to welcome you back to the Banff International Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked for two Queen bed and the front desk upgraded us into loft with 3 queen beds...never been upgraded from my entire hotel stay before...thank you and I appreciate it much...the challenge is the stairs when one get up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night...not recommended for older guests and alike....cabinets are old looking...TVs are in those cabinets..I cannot help thinking I was in a hunted mansion...
the place is very near Banff strip/downtown...can walk to different stores and restaurants... Spa/ hot pool is open at 9-11 pm...I was not able to see it. They should open it longer so that guests can have more time to relax.
Friendly staff...although when I was asking for brush or comb, she told me that they ran out of it...recommendations were given like going to Safeway which is located across the street to buy forgotten necessities.
Overall, I will recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear laaglaag

First and foremost I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and say that we recognize and agree that our rooms are old and to that end I am proud to say that we are in the first phase of our extensive renovations.

We also regret that you had some difficulties with your upgrade, particularly with the stairs in the loft, in the future never hesitate to call on our front desk staff who will be happy to find an alternative if you’d prefer something different.

But we are glad to hear that you had an overall positive experience with us and would recommend us to others, we also thank you for your kind words about our staff and for pointing out our fantastic location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the Banff International Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

They staff were courteous, it was fairly quiet when we stayed. The corner suite is lovely, with great views and so nice and close to everything! That is the best part about the Hotel. Walking distance to everything.
They need to update the rooms though. The bathroom is small for the size of the room, the shower was less then great. The underground parking only accommodates 6'1" which was too low for our Aspen. That was too bad as it started snowing when we arrived and parking is scarce around the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear robdellAlberta

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost I would like to apologize for any difficulties you may have had with parking, it is one of Banffs primary issues with visitors and as you pointed out our parking does have a height limit of 6’1”, but never hesitate to call upon our front desk staff who will do everything they can to find an alternative for an oversized vehicle.

We are however happy to hear you had an overall positive experience and we also agree with your comment that our rooms need updating, I am proud to say our major renovations are in their first phase as we strive improve our guest experience going into the future.

We once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Banff International Hotel in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I booked a 1 night stay at the Banff International hotel for Halloween night. We paid $89 for the night so I didn't expect much from the hotel. When we got there we were promptly greeted and checked in. The hotel room was clean and comfortable. The standard room had a mini fridge which was handy. We called the front desk about information on Halloween events and a few minutes later they arrived at our room with printed out information. Very helpful.

Underground parking was included in the booking.

The best thing about this hotel was the location. it was near everything. Right by a Safeway, places to eat, gas stations etc. all in walking distance.

i would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Lisa M

On behalf of all of us at Brewster Hospitality I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your glowing review of our property.

We are very glad to hear you had such a fantastic stay and it fills me with great pride to hear that our staff could be so helpful while planning your Halloween night.

We do also thank you for pointing out some of our other positives to your fellow travellers such as our great location and our free underground parking which, with the bitterly cold months now with us, becomes a massive bonus.

We hope to welcome you back to the Banff International Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

This is a terrific Hotel very comply , we had trouble with our WIFI BUT OTHERS SEEMED FINE. THIS HOTEL IS IN A GREAT SPOT ONLY A VERY SHORT WALK TO TOWN.The breakfast was good and the service was quick

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for an up grade if they have one they are happy to give it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Dear joy f

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review of the Banff International Hotel.
First let me say we regret any issues you may have had with our Wi-Fi, it has been an issue for us in the past but I’m proud to say we will be resolving that issue within the next few days as we are revamping our entire network to address this major concern with our guests.

We are very happy to hear despite this you had such a positive experience and you enjoyed our location and breakfast in Rickys All Day Grill.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Banff International Hotel in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.