We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmount Hotel in Banff, Canada a real treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fairmount Hotel in Banff, Canada a real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is fabulous!! It looks like a Castle and is huge. The rooms are very nice and the setting is absolutely gorgeous!!! The hotel staff is very nice and just walking around is a real treat.
Just the perfect place to stay and they have a shuttle that runs into town for $5.00 each way.
There is a Starbucks on the lower level, which we are finding in more hotels now.
A Great choice if you are visiting Banff-which is so Beautiful.

Room Tip: We never stay near an elevator and like a higher floor for a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    156
    102
    39
    21
See reviews for
98
146
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent location in the heart of this charming city. Friendly and helpful staff willing to see to our needs and accommodate our stay. Clean and great on site services. Would choose this hotel again and again!

Room Tip: Make sure that the room has good circulation if you're there in summer as there is no central ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

That was a pleasant stay - just for 2 nights to see Banff and the highlights around. The rooms were clean and decent, no breakfast offered though. And as others already stated, Wifi is very bad and kind of non-existent in the rooms, that should be improved. But overall it was an upscale hotel experience.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

when a neighboring hotel screwed up my reservation on an extremely busy and full capacity weekend in Banff, I had to scramble to find a room as it was too late to drive all the way back home. I managed to grab the last room available as I was not in a position to be choosy.
I had stayed at the property a couple years prior and our room was in pretty good shape, and I remembered having a enjoyable time.
I paid more than I would have spent at the trendier hotel I originally booked, and was a bit bummed this time when I saw the many stains in the carpet, and outdated décor.
We must have gotten one of the lesser desirable rooms, (every hotel has a couple) complete with massive air conditioning unit directly outside our window.
The staff were really great, as I was a panicked emotional mess when I arrived and the beds were quite comfortable so, I was happy to at least have a place to stay.
steam room and sauna were nice, hot tub could use some tlc.
the linens, bedding, bathroom and all surfaces were was cleaned well, but the carpet was pretty stained and ugly, kind of giving it a low end motel feel.
there was a space for a fridge, but no fridge included in the room to chill my wine, and no wine glasses. (I did get one from the Ricky's in the lobby, which I had to wash in my bathroom as it was pretty gritty and not washed properly).
hotel common areas were nice and welcoming, parking was perfect. location also a huge plus, with grocery store right across the street.
I think that under different circumstances the hotel would have been more enjoyable, but it didn't really fit the bill for the romantic weekend of hot tubbing, wining/dining and relaxing that I had planned.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel after the Calgary Stampede. This was a great place to stay for a short stay but the location earns top marks. You are in the heart of downtown Banff and close to shopping and restaurants. I did like the decor as the lobby had a outdoor/mountain look view and very Banff-like atmosphere.
A few negatives would be no A/C during July and especially if there was a heat wave you need to open the windows. The problem when the windows open you hear the noise from close by residents or people coming home drunk from the bar. The ceiling fans are a bit noisy. Generally the rooms were small and outdated. l found the price were a bit expensive despite being peak season and no AC. We also had no mini fridge as heard other units did have.
I would only come back under two conditions if AC was installed or at least come in the fall or spring for the cooler weather.

Room Tip: Get close to the elevators as a good walking distance if you are at the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Ed S

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost I would like to address your primary concern with the hotel, the lack of AC. It goes without saying that we understand that this is a concern for the hotel and its guests in the warmer months, but within the context of Banff it is important to note that we are not unique in this regard as 2/3rds of Banff hotels do not feature any AC in their rooms, but it is something we will be installing in our extensive renovations planned for the coming year.

We apologize for any discomfort this may have caused you.

We are glad to hear however that you enjoyed our location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer and we hope to welcome you back to one of our air conditioned, renovated rooms in the future should your journeys return you to Banff.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit,mi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is located in the midst of Banff. Everything in the city is within walking distance. Personnel was very helpful and friendly. But one should be aware the website does not accurately depict rooms. We booked a superior room with the promise of a king size bed. There is not such room although it was clearly stated on the website. Our room was much smaller and we booked at the highest rate since we were there for 7 nights. We attempted to get this corrected but no one could fix the problem. Accommodations are adequate, needs updating and if one isn't concerned for their chance of getting the correct room, this hotel would work. There is a bar and restaurant on the property and underground parking was a plus.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear turnie

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

First and foremost I would like to address your concern about our website and the accuracy of your reservation.

On our official website, the superior class of room is not associated with a King Bed in any way, shape or form; the description and picture clearly show this.

Secondly our records clearly show that you booked our Premium Deluxe King, which is the room type assigned to you for all seven nights of your stay.

To that end, if any other website or source gave you a different impression or you did not find the room you booked adequate, which I assure you is the largest king room we have available at the hotel, then for that we apologize but as far as the hotel is concerned we provided you with the correct room type booked on reservation.

We do however thank you for your kind words about our staff and for pointing out our underground parking to your fellow travellers, which with the colder months approaching becomes an even bigger plus.

We thank you once again for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has it all really, position and great rooms, spacious clean and well presented, the restaurant is good, lovely breakfast, pity the wifi is appalling....might be the terrain?
You will not be disappointed... Alan and Penny

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Alan T

On behalf of all of us at Brewster Hospitality I would like to sincerely thank you for your kind words about our property and we are very glad you had such a fantastic stay.

We do however apologize and regret any issues you may have had with our Wi-Fi, we are currently in the process of upgrading our entire network to deal with this concern.

We once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Banff International Hotel in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.