We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK location in Banff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“OK location in Banff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hotel located relatively central in Banff. We had a large, clean but somewhat uncharitable room towards the main road. No air condition, and window would open just a tiny bit so that air could not circulate. It was an ok experience, not more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear TJMichel

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay with us, as you did point out we do not have air conditioning, but it is something we will be adding during our extensive renovations scheduled for this year.

We do regret that your stay was only satisfactory, our goal is to exceed guest expectations and we clearly have not done so on this occasion.

We hope you will give us another chance to improve upon this experience especially after our rooms have been renovated should your journeys bring you back to Banff.

David Crossland
Front desk supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    200
    122
    40
    21
See reviews for
113
174
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rosetown, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Just finished staying here July 31while we have stayed at this property many times this might be our last .because we have stayed many times were always givin a discount not this time they did upgrade us to there newest restored room not sure about it to modern of a look for banff new showers let water out all over the floor you step out and step into 4inches of water no air in new rooms either have to leave the blinds wide open or they bang all night in breeze time to rethink this new room design no room in bathroom for any make up or shaving kits we wanted to stay one more night the price went up 80 dollars a night we went to another place for lot less thought as valued return customers we would be looked after but not the case and yes we have booked over 50 nights at this hotel thanks international but prob not stay again have always gave you a great rating but not this time and I have to say the staff are some of the best there is no complaints there just seems the almighty dollar has came to this hotel since brewsters have taken over

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear golferfarmer:

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your stay. With our upcoming renovations of our rooms, we learn a great deal from guests staying in the first “concept” room and you have provided us with new insights.

Brewster Hospitality does tremendously value return customers and seeks to offer them an advantage on rates such as those offered by the Alberta Explorer card. Unfortunately, the night for which you wished to extend was the Saturday of the busiest long weekend of the summer and we were sold out days in advance. When a couple of rooms came available at the last minute through cancellations, the rates were naturally high for a peak summer weekend. However, as a frequent return guest, I agree that you should have received a preferred rate to extend and as you say been “looked after”. I am sorry that you were not so accommodated in this instance and would like to send you a preferred offer for future stays.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I always recommend this hotel to friends and family travelling through the area, it is in a great location very close to town and ski stop at hotel next door. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Wifi can be a bit intermittent but works well in the lobby area. The staff are always very helpful and friendly especially Tess and Ben!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Miumu

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost we want to extend our gratitude to you not only for leaving us this glowing review but for recommending us to your friends and family, we look forward to welcoming them in the future.

We also thank you for your kind words about our staff, particularly Ben and Tess, we’ve passed your comments on to them and they are very happy they were able to affect your stay in such a positive way.

However we do apologize for any issues you had with our Wi-Fi, we are in the process of completely upgrading our entire network to rectify the issue in totality.

We thank you once again for taking the time to leave us your review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Banff International Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We spent one night at the hotel, checked into room 331 on July 16 and checked out on July 17 morning 2014. The hotel doesn't have air conditioning, it was unbearable in July. We visited Banff with a tour so we didn't have the choice to change the hotel.
We were told there is wifi in the room but none of us could connect to wifi in the room. Only the lobby has the signal.
When we arrived to another hotel in the afternoon the next day and unpacked our bags, we found we left our iPad 2 in the hotel. Since my husband plays soccer game (FIFA) on the iPad every night, we are pretty sure we had it the night we stayed in the hotel but left it in the bed of room 331 before we checked out. But when we called back to the hotel later, the lady in charge of the cleaning service and her supervisor both told me they couldn't find it in the lost and found. I believe what they said but you know what happened in that room. My advise is DOUBLE or TRIPLE check before you leave the room, make sure you don't leave any valuable stuff. You won't get it back if you forget it in the room!!!
If I could give 0 star, I would!!! Stay away from this hotel!

Room Tip: Run away from this hotel, run fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear BettyASeattle,

First of all, I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay as our goal is 100% guest satisfaction. Regarding your claim about the loss of your iPad, our lost & found department have an excellent record of returning valuable items to guests including a number of iPads in recent months. In this case, you say you are "pretty sure" you left it in the hotel. Given this uncertainty of where you actually lost the item, perhaps you misplaced it someplace else and then it is unfair to lodge accusations against the staff. While I am sorry for the loss of your iPad, I am also disappointed that such unsubstantiated claims can be posted online in a review.

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Be warned this hotel has no a/c. The hotel also needs some up keep, broken window screens and noisy fans. For the price of this hotel, you can find a better maintained hotel with air. Two small noisy fans and one small window do not make up for no a/c.

I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Noise level is high due to open windows as there is no a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Leona M

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced, as you pointed out we do not have air conditioning in our rooms, a situation faced by the overwhelming majority of hotels in Banff, it is something we are working to rectify with the inclusion of air conditioning units as part of our extensive renovations planned for our property.

In regards to the maintenance of the room I can assure you this is not consistent with our standards and your comments have been passed on to our maintenance department in order to address these specific concerns you have brought up.

We thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments and once again apologize that we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory stay on this occasion.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A short stroll into town with all the restaurants etc so a great location. Has a Ricky's Grill on site (didn't use it). Secure underground parking (free) and Safeway just around the corner were good points. Room was well appointed but a tight for 2 Queen beds. No A/C only a ceiling fan which may have been OK but we could hear the trains (whistle blowing) so leaving a window open during the night was not an option.

WiFi was virtually non-existent in our room which prompted some guests to stand in the corridors by a window! Reception in the lobby was fine and there were plenty of places to sit.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear VANDICARLTON

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost I’d like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in regards to Wi-Fi and lack of A/C. The issues with our Wi-Fi are in the process of being fully rectified in the near future whilst the inclusion of Air Conditioning units is part of our extensive renovations planned for later this year.

We are however pleased to hear you enjoyed our location and that you found our staff so friendly and helpful.

We hope you will give us an opportunity to improve upon this experience and we hope to welcome you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The positives are that the location is great. Plenty of free parking. The staff is very nice and the rooms are a nice size. Unfortunately, there is zero A/C in the rooms. There is plenty in the lobby and hallway, but the rooms have a ceiling fan and oscillating fan which generally moves the hot air around. This won't be an issue in normal Banff weather, obviously. We were unfortunate enough to stay in the middle of summer. I probably would not have been as annoyed had there been zero A/C in the entire hotel. When the room you pay for is sweltering and the hallway is cool, it's really not acceptable in my book.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Beckitex1

Thank you for the recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay, on rare occasions temperatures in Banff do spike for short periods and as you pointed out we do not have air conditioning in any of our rooms and to quickly touch on your point about the hallways, because none of the interior sections of the hotel have windows, it is mainly there to regulate airflow throughout the building.

This is a problem faced by the overwhelming majority of properties in Banff (2/3rds do not feature air conditioning) and one we are looking to rectify with Air Conditioning units being installed as part of our major renovations going into the future.

But we are glad that our staff could be one of the high points of your visit and that you enjoyed our location, which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope that you would consider giving us another chance to improve on this experience and we’d also like to mention that our sister property, the Mount Royal Hotel does feature air conditioning, we would like to keep you within our group and would be very pleased to welcome you back to either property should your travels bring you to Banff again.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.