We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, very central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good hotel, very central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I always recommend this hotel to friends and family travelling through the area, it is in a great location very close to town and ski stop at hotel next door. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Wifi can be a bit intermittent but works well in the lobby area. The staff are always very helpful and friendly especially Tess and Ben!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Muimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Miumu

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost we want to extend our gratitude to you not only for leaving us this glowing review but for recommending us to your friends and family, we look forward to welcoming them in the future.

We also thank you for your kind words about our staff, particularly Ben and Tess, we’ve passed your comments on to them and they are very happy they were able to affect your stay in such a positive way.

However we do apologize for any issues you had with our Wi-Fi, we are in the process of completely upgrading our entire network to rectify the issue in totality.

We thank you once again for taking the time to leave us your review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Banff International Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We spent one night at the hotel, checked into room 331 on July 16 and checked out on July 17 morning 2014. The hotel doesn't have air conditioning, it was unbearable in July. We visited Banff with a tour so we didn't have the choice to change the hotel.
We were told there is wifi in the room but none of us could connect to wifi in the room. Only the lobby has the signal.
When we arrived to another hotel in the afternoon the next day and unpacked our bags, we found we left our iPad 2 in the hotel. Since my husband plays soccer game (FIFA) on the iPad every night, we are pretty sure we had it the night we stayed in the hotel but left it in the bed of room 331 before we checked out. But when we called back to the hotel later, the lady in charge of the cleaning service and her supervisor both told me they couldn't find it in the lost and found. I believe what they said but you know what happened in that room. My advise is DOUBLE or TRIPLE check before you leave the room, make sure you don't leave any valuable stuff. You won't get it back if you forget it in the room!!!
If I could give 0 star, I would!!! Stay away from this hotel!

Room Tip: Run away from this hotel, run fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyASeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear BettyASeattle,

First of all, I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay as our goal is 100% guest satisfaction. Regarding your claim about the loss of your iPad, our lost & found department have an excellent record of returning valuable items to guests including a number of iPads in recent months. In this case, you say you are "pretty sure" you left it in the hotel. Given this uncertainty of where you actually lost the item, perhaps you misplaced it someplace else and then it is unfair to lodge accusations against the staff. While I am sorry for the loss of your iPad, I am also disappointed that such unsubstantiated claims can be posted online in a review.

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Be warned this hotel has no a/c. The hotel also needs some up keep, broken window screens and noisy fans. For the price of this hotel, you can find a better maintained hotel with air. Two small noisy fans and one small window do not make up for no a/c.

I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Noise level is high due to open windows as there is no a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Leona M

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced, as you pointed out we do not have air conditioning in our rooms, a situation faced by the overwhelming majority of hotels in Banff, it is something we are working to rectify with the inclusion of air conditioning units as part of our extensive renovations planned for our property.

In regards to the maintenance of the room I can assure you this is not consistent with our standards and your comments have been passed on to our maintenance department in order to address these specific concerns you have brought up.

We thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments and once again apologize that we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory stay on this occasion.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A short stroll into town with all the restaurants etc so a great location. Has a Ricky's Grill on site (didn't use it). Secure underground parking (free) and Safeway just around the corner were good points. Room was well appointed but a tight for 2 Queen beds. No A/C only a ceiling fan which may have been OK but we could hear the trains (whistle blowing) so leaving a window open during the night was not an option.

WiFi was virtually non-existent in our room which prompted some guests to stand in the corridors by a window! Reception in the lobby was fine and there were plenty of places to sit.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VANDICARLTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear VANDICARLTON

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost I’d like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in regards to Wi-Fi and lack of A/C. The issues with our Wi-Fi are in the process of being fully rectified in the near future whilst the inclusion of Air Conditioning units is part of our extensive renovations planned for later this year.

We are however pleased to hear you enjoyed our location and that you found our staff so friendly and helpful.

We hope you will give us an opportunity to improve upon this experience and we hope to welcome you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The positives are that the location is great. Plenty of free parking. The staff is very nice and the rooms are a nice size. Unfortunately, there is zero A/C in the rooms. There is plenty in the lobby and hallway, but the rooms have a ceiling fan and oscillating fan which generally moves the hot air around. This won't be an issue in normal Banff weather, obviously. We were unfortunate enough to stay in the middle of summer. I probably would not have been as annoyed had there been zero A/C in the entire hotel. When the room you pay for is sweltering and the hallway is cool, it's really not acceptable in my book.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Beckitex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Beckitex1

Thank you for the recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay, on rare occasions temperatures in Banff do spike for short periods and as you pointed out we do not have air conditioning in any of our rooms and to quickly touch on your point about the hallways, because none of the interior sections of the hotel have windows, it is mainly there to regulate airflow throughout the building.

This is a problem faced by the overwhelming majority of properties in Banff (2/3rds do not feature air conditioning) and one we are looking to rectify with Air Conditioning units being installed as part of our major renovations going into the future.

But we are glad that our staff could be one of the high points of your visit and that you enjoyed our location, which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope that you would consider giving us another chance to improve on this experience and we’d also like to mention that our sister property, the Mount Royal Hotel does feature air conditioning, we would like to keep you within our group and would be very pleased to welcome you back to either property should your travels bring you to Banff again.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

For the night we stay in Banff international hotel, we were pleasant with its convenient location which was just a few minutes walk to gift shops and restaurants. The overall apperance of the hotel is nice. Room is clean with adequate equipments. Soudproof from the outside corridor is good. There are free coffee and tea offered at the lobby.The only comment is the cleaness in bathroom needs to improved. But for its location with a reasonable price, may be that's the reason why its so crowded in peak season!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear kk K

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for the issues you cited in regards to the bathroom; your comments have been passed on to our housekeeping department in order to avoid these shortfalls in the future.

However we are very happy you had an overall positive experience with us and that you enjoyed our location.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again at the Banff International Hotel when you travels bring you to the area once more.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is right on Banff Ave really close to all of the shops and restaurants. The parking garage was handy and the staff even let us stash our bikes behind the front desk for easy access. We didn't have problems with the wifi and the fridge was a great perk. The only complaint I have is that the service in the hotel Ricky's restaurant was horrific. They kept getting my order wrong and most of the servers didn't come around to refill coffee very often.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Christy W

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments about your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel

We are very happy to hear that you had an overall positive experience with us and that we could be so helpful to you with your bikes.

However we do apologize for the service quality you received in Ricky’s, your comments have been passed on to the restaurant management in order to address these issues.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again when your future travels bring you back to Banff.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#24 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Low Cost Holidays and Odigeo so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing