We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Banff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 33 hotels in Banff
Shipley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Love Banff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Used this has a base for a 2 week stay June 2013. Furniture & decor in rooms a bit dated & stains on carpet & some of the furniture.
Reception staff helpful & helped us book some golf. Although beware of prices for a round at Banff Springs course & Silvertip.
Bar service ok but tended to close early if no customers.
Restaurant ok for breakfast but evening meals leave a lot to be desired.
The jacuzzi really good but the steam room & the sauna not working the whole 2 weeks we were there.
The coffee shop within the gift shop was just starting up so was not fully operational when we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear bron317,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are thankful that you stayed for a long time with us. Your comments have been passed to each individual department for their review and we appreciate the insight.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    141
    89
    34
    18
See reviews for
89
129
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our first time to Canada and our first stop Banff. Hotel in good location, grill good food although only one waitress on doing everything ! Apart from cooking. Rooms are a little dated but overall still good , would stay here again.cannot comment on the sauna as we did not have time to use the facility.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear jan j

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We are very happy to have been your hotel of choice on your first trip to Canada, we thank you for your comments and since you do mention our rooms being a little dated, we would be proud to welcome you back to one of our renovated rooms in the future as we will be embarking on extensive renovations for our property.

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Potential guests need to be aware that this property is 'dated', does not have air conditioning and two rooms we were offered included soiled furniture.

The desk staff is very well trained to give customers lip service, and tell the customer in a nice way that the guest doesn't know what they are talking about.

It turned out that our room was exceptionally warm and the hotel solution was to deliver a small pedestal fan that did not work. Finally a man came to the room and shut off the heat by removing panels from the registers to turn them off, i.e. the thermostat did not work.

The front desk staff promotes their on site restaurant. Unfortunately, we arrived for breakfast and were told 'too bad, we don't have the staff so the restaurant is not open.' No one even cared that guests were forced to go somewhere else in the pouring rain. It seems they might have offered a shuttle or at least an umbrella to help the guests get to another restaurant.

The location is great, but the property leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear rfinkle,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not comfortable. We take all our guest reviews seriously and are committed to act upon them to improve our level of service.

Unfortunately, at this time, we do not have A/C in the rooms. Occasionally, the heat in individual rooms may malfunction and staff are trained to respond to such situations immediately. I apologize if this was not the case for you. During the extensive room renovation our property will begin to undergo in Fall 2014, we will be putting A/C in the rooms.

Again, I appreciate your comments. Recently, we purchased a number of umbrellas for guest use for those occasions where there is a sudden downpour. We sincerely wish our guests to have an enjoyable stay but I am sorry that you were let down in that regard.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel on June 14, 2014. I went with a few ladies for a short getaway. We paid $185 for the room which I find pricey but the hotel is in an excellent location so I didn't mind. Safeway is across the street and it is very close to Earls restaurant and many bars and nightclubs. The rooms are a little dated but they are clean and comfortable. The bathroom is quite large with decent lighting. Ricki's grill is in the hotel so it's nice to go for a quick breakfast after checkout. Also they serve alcohol in the lobby at night which we took full advantage of! Overall my stay was great and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear sunkissed23_11

We are very happy that you were able to enjoy so much of what the hotel has to offer. Thank you for posting a glowing review and we look forward to hosting you again. Feel free to book directly with me at preferred rates via 403-762-5666.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Got a real surprise - booked on booking.com at the last minute. It was cheap for Banff so I wasn't expecting much and I was pleasantly surprised. It was so nice and comfortable, beds were soo comfortable. Location was awesome! I would highly recommend this hotel for value, service and location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Ding123,

We are glad that we pleasantly surprised you and exceeded your expectations. We do aim for great service, value, and comfort and it is gratifying that we hit the mark with you. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel's position on the main road is probably the best thing it has going for it. My room was adequate for me at least and certainly clean enough. Most of the staff do their best but others do not. Some don't have a clue. I had breakfast twice and dinner once. I have never in my life had a waitress take my knife, fork and napkin away while I was getting my food from the buffet before. I have also never stayed in an hotel where they think it is perfectly ok to have a plastic knife and a metal fork or vice versa to eat my food with. The orange juice was watery too but it was improved, after some pushing.on the second morning. Two of the male staff "worked their socks off" to put things right at breakfast and dinner so clearly somebody cares. Note to management: Please support your staff better than this. I must say they were all very nice to me.

For any customers wishing to try a local restaurant for dinner may I recommend The Bison at 211 Bear Street.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear EricBournemouth

Thank you for reviewing our property in Banff. I am glad that you found the room clean and enjoyed the location. Regarding your dining experiences, we have undergone some recent staff and management turnover in the F&B department and are looking to improve the consistency of very good service. I apologize for the way in which your vacation ended but we do appreciate your comments moving forward.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I chose this hotel for its location four blocks from the Banff Rocky Mountaineer station. Location couldn't have been better as the train station, restaurants, shopping, etc were within easy walking distance. The Front Desk personnel were very nice and helpful as well. Our king premium room was comfortable and clean. My husband found a fan in the closet and the ceiling fan switch was on the outside wall behind the entertainment center. We also opened the windows which helped the room temperature. The bathroom was also a nice size compared to some of the other hotels we reserved. On the negative side, we wanted to eat at Ricky's Grill when it opened for breakfast, but we were told one cook hadn't come to work, and the other one was busy with a large tour group. We were told we could wait or eat next door at the Ptarmigan Inn which was what we did. Also, the fire alarm went off our second evening there. No fire, but it was a very different experience for us and no one told us what had happened. The Banff International is an okay place to stay because it is clean & comfortable, but I may choose to stay somewhere else if I ever return to Banff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear TxTripper

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at the Banff International Hotel. We appreciate your positive comments about our location, the Front Desk staff, and the comfort and size of our rooms. We are sorry that your experience with the on-site restaurant was not better and we are seeking to make sure such experiences do not occur. Please do consider us again when in town and feel free to book directly with me.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.