We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy - poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very noisy - poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I don't recommend this hotel for visitors to Banff. It is situated near the bars and pubs of Banff and has a tonne of traffic noise and late night rowdy noise within the hotel. The staff if not at all helpful (esp. management) toward guest concerns or any requests. I wouldn't book here again if you paid me. Also needs renos badly. The 80's shtick no longer passes as tasteful decor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Surfshark:

We are very sorry that you did not find your stay with us satisfactory. We pride ourselves on offering wonderful guest service and responding to all requests. I regret that you did not experience this. Should you be disturbed by noise late at night, the night auditor and security staff are ready to respond, and if the noise is coming from the street, the front desk is always ready to offer an alternate room or provide earplugs.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    156
    102
    39
    21
See reviews for
98
146
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have travelled many countries and stayed in many hotels. This hotel was clean, staff were pleasant. We had a beautiful room and truly enjoyed that we could walk everywhere in town from our hotel. Happily recommend this hotel. Found the hot tub very disappointing, there was too much chlorine in it, it burned the eyes when you walked in the room and for the size of hotel it was undersized. But it is in a town with a natural hot spring, next time we'll do that instead.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, it was quiet and had a nice view. Room was nice and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear PGSilva2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost I would like to apologize for the discomfort you experienced during your recent stay with us in regards to the hot tub. We closed it after guests brought this issue to our attention on Sunday morning and have taken every step possible to rectify the situation.

We are glad to hear however that you had a largely positive experience and we thank you for your kind words about our rooms and our staff, we always do our best to provide the best customer service and facilities possible and are glad to have met those expectations barring the issue with the hot tub.

Should your travels around the globe once again bring you to Banff, we would love to welcome you back

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Located across from grocery store, beautiful oak trim, comfortable, handy restaurant on main floor. Friendly staff. Room was a bit too warm even with thermostat turned down. Clean and spacious. Safe underground parking. Awful internet--was not able to connect all weekend long; therefore not able to email family back home. Awful mess in hot tub--chlorine is automatically adjusted to sanitize the water but the water was so dirty that the chlorine burned our noses & eyes. Tub needs to be emptied, sanitized, then filled again. Was in for 30 seconds and out again.

Room Tip: Ask for a front corner room facing Banff Avenue. Beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear pumpkinsrock

Thank you for your recent of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost I would like to apologize for the discomfort you experienced during your recent stay with us in regards to the hot tub. We closed it after guests brought this issue to our attention on Sunday morning and have taken every step possible to rectify the situation.

We would also like to apologize for the issues you experienced with our Wi-Fi during your stay; we are currently exploring several options to upgrade our network.

We do thank you however for your kind words about our room and our staff and for pointing out our underground parking, which is definitely a bonus especially this winter which has at times been so bitterly cold.

Despite some of the issues you experienced during your stay which we have rectified or are working towards rectifying we hope you would consider staying with us again and we would love to welcome you back when your travels bring you to Banff once more.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel. The room was comfortable enough however when I went to open the window for fresh air I was disappointed to see that the screen was bent and obviously ill fitting and the window frame close to the glass was covered with what looked like mould. It was a little disconcerting and certainly looked like proper maintenance is lacking. Room towels smelled of bleach and were threadbare. I stayed here last year and was very disappointed at that time by lack of wifi throughout the facility. I was sure they would have fixed that issue by now however, it was again very poor. That is a major problem for most people in this day and age and the only hotel I have stayed at this year with that problem.
I understand that renovations are planned. I hope the wifi will be upgraded at the same time. Good location with great potential but not a place I would stay again at until then.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear JanetDarryl,

Thank you for taking the tine to review your recent stay. We greatly appreciate your comments as they help illuminate areas that we need to improve in. Our number one goals are impeccable guest service and customer satisfaction. We will bring the issues you have highlighted to our teams to solve them rigorously in pursuit of our goal. As you have mentioned we do have extensive renovations planned which include upgrading our wireless and an exciting, fresh look for our rooms and common spaces.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Everything about the hotel more than met our expectations of staying in a resort hotel. The staff were experienced in their jobs--friendly and professional. The room was on the small side but extremely comfortable with every convenience available. The restaurant provided good meals with a pleasant variety.The open areas and main floor hallways provided a relaxing air with the various art works placed about. A place we would recommend to friends and family (where the rubber meets the road)

Room Tip: rooms off the main road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear bendarwahl

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

Brewster Hospitality strives to exceed our guests' expectations by providing the right services and guest experiences to make each and every stay relaxing, enjoyable and filled with great memories. We strive to do the best job we can and reviews like yours make it worthwhile.

We thank you for your kind words about our staff and are really happy to have exceeded your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here and here are the pros and cons of our time there:
Cons:
- the fridge in our room was not working and the person who came to look at it said "I can't do anything about this"... The room booking stated they have a fridge in the room. This was inconvenient because we have brought food items that needed to be refrigerated
- around 1 am there were several people in the hallway banging on a door and yelling. We phoned the front desk and after 20 minutes the commotion stopped. The staff responded and dealt with the situation professionally.
- I knew this before booking, but I wish there was a continental breakfast.

Pros:
- location! The hotel is not right in the heart of downtown but it is right at the edge making this very convenient! There is a Safeway (grocery store) right next to the hotel and they have a small shop in the lobby.
- our room was clean. We didn't have any issues with our room as it served all our needs
- they have a jacuzzi, steam room and dry sauna. We took advantage of this after a long day of snowshoeing.
- they have free coffee and tea in the lobby until 11 pm each day.

Overall, the price was pretty decent for the location and the value of this hotel. I would probably opt for another hotel in the area that has continental breakfast next time, for me personally. Again, you can't beat the location!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear oak723,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property in Banff.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our location at the edge of downtown and that you were satisfied both with your room and our amenities, such as free coffee/tea in the lobby. On the other hand, I am equally appalled that your fridge was not taken care of as the staff have been coached to immediately replace fridges that are not working and to do everything above and beyond as the situation demands. I apologize profusely that this incident escaped my attention during your stay, but thank you for the feedback.

Should you visit Banff again, please try us with a la carte breakfast included.

Regards,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We always stay at the Banff International Hotel as it is very close to the town centre and is great value for money, wifi and parking are free, there is tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge in the room, beds are really comfortable and the hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

Rickies is not to our taste as it offers high carbohydrate high cholesterol food in huge quantities but there are many better alternatives for a healthier breakfast in Banff. Safeway is just across the road, which is really convenient. The hot tub is often empty around 5.00pm, as is the sauna and steam room. It is a pity that there are no changing facilities as well, or a water fountain, but I usually get changed out of my wet costume after using the hot tub in the ladies loo area which is also empty. The bedrooms are comfortably furnished, well decorated and a good size. We have tried other hotels, but will keep coming back to this one for all the above reasons.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms overlooking Safeway, as the noise of the recycling during the night can interrupt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Linda_from_Bucks

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We are very happy to learn that you had such a positive experience during your stay and I thank you for your kind words about our staff, for pointing out some of the many facilities we offer our guests and our prime location, which makes it extremely easy to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We do also thank you for your comments about our hot tub area, as we will be embarking on renovations for the property, these kinds of critiques give us an idea of what we could improve going into the future.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;