We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was great! I wish the service was as great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Location was great! I wish the service was as great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We spent two nights here and here are the pros and cons of our time there:
Cons:
- the fridge in our room was not working and the person who came to look at it said "I can't do anything about this"... The room booking stated they have a fridge in the room. This was inconvenient because we have brought food items that needed to be refrigerated
- around 1 am there were several people in the hallway banging on a door and yelling. We phoned the front desk and after 20 minutes the commotion stopped. The staff responded and dealt with the situation professionally.
- I knew this before booking, but I wish there was a continental breakfast.

Pros:
- location! The hotel is not right in the heart of downtown but it is right at the edge making this very convenient! There is a Safeway (grocery store) right next to the hotel and they have a small shop in the lobby.
- our room was clean. We didn't have any issues with our room as it served all our needs
- they have a jacuzzi, steam room and dry sauna. We took advantage of this after a long day of snowshoeing.
- they have free coffee and tea in the lobby until 11 pm each day.

Overall, the price was pretty decent for the location and the value of this hotel. I would probably opt for another hotel in the area that has continental breakfast next time, for me personally. Again, you can't beat the location!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear oak723,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property in Banff.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our location at the edge of downtown and that you were satisfied both with your room and our amenities, such as free coffee/tea in the lobby. On the other hand, I am equally appalled that your fridge was not taken care of as the staff have been coached to immediately replace fridges that are not working and to do everything above and beyond as the situation demands. I apologize profusely that this incident escaped my attention during your stay, but thank you for the feedback.

Should you visit Banff again, please try us with a la carte breakfast included.

Regards,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    195
    120
    40
    21
See reviews for
112
170
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We always stay at the Banff International Hotel as it is very close to the town centre and is great value for money, wifi and parking are free, there is tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge in the room, beds are really comfortable and the hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

Rickies is not to our taste as it offers high carbohydrate high cholesterol food in huge quantities but there are many better alternatives for a healthier breakfast in Banff. Safeway is just across the road, which is really convenient. The hot tub is often empty around 5.00pm, as is the sauna and steam room. It is a pity that there are no changing facilities as well, or a water fountain, but I usually get changed out of my wet costume after using the hot tub in the ladies loo area which is also empty. The bedrooms are comfortably furnished, well decorated and a good size. We have tried other hotels, but will keep coming back to this one for all the above reasons.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms overlooking Safeway, as the noise of the recycling during the night can interrupt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Linda_from_Bucks

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We are very happy to learn that you had such a positive experience during your stay and I thank you for your kind words about our staff, for pointing out some of the many facilities we offer our guests and our prime location, which makes it extremely easy to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We do also thank you for your comments about our hot tub area, as we will be embarking on renovations for the property, these kinds of critiques give us an idea of what we could improve going into the future.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night while skiing at Norquay. Location is good. Our room was ok but not great, the room smelt very musty, opened the windows as soon as we arrived, the fridge was full of food left over from the previous guest, the guest questionnaire was filled in by the previous guest I assume, so all in all the cleanliness of the room was poor. Would I stay here again? Probably not, there are much better hotels in Banff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Sarah D,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We apprecaite your feedback.

We strive to uphold the highest standards of cleanliness and I am very sorry that you found your room to be below par in this regard. Please know that the front desk staff are always ready to assist in providing an alternate room should you find anything disagreeable. I will review with the housekeeping supervisory staff about the need to double-check inside the fridge after their housekeeping team has cleaned the room.

While I understand your reluctance to stay with us again, I do hope you change your mind should you be back in Banff and I would be happy to facilitate your booking directly.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanberis, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel is in a very central location, close to restaurants and shops. There was free underground parking and free internet but the speed and reliability of connection was pathetic.
The rooms were clean and spacious with nice decor, ample hot water for the bath and shower.
There is a coffee machine and refrigerator in the room.
My biggest complaint was the noisy guests next door but the hotel can't be held responsible this. They did put a stop to it when we complained

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Iwan P

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International hotel

First of all we would like to apologize for any noise you might have experienced during your stay, indeed Banff has its fair share of unruly visitors and within our property we always try our best to keep a lid on them.

We also apologize for any issues with our Wi-Fi, we are currently exploring options to upgrade it.

But we thank you for pointing out the facilities we offer our guests and our prime location which is extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Was not expecting much from this hotel as its in a small mountain town. Me and some friends stayed one night here while spending a weekend in Banff for skiing. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel.
Highlights:
Underground parking - note that it is more convenient if you drive a car, as parking is limited and guests aren't the best at parking.
Great price - $100/night booked through Travelocity
Free wifi - although slow, it is nice to have.
Friendly staff
Clean room, lobby, parking garage, elevators, etc.
Quick check in and check out
Great location - walking distance to many great restaurants, shops, etc. Tim Hortons is near as well.

Lowlights:
Our room was so hot to sleep in. Thermostat was set to 17, and the window was open with the ceiling fan on. Couldn't sleep under a sheet it was so warm

All in all, it was a great hotel with a great price and location. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Banff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Emily M

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

Here at Brewster Hospitality we always strive to provide the best customer service and facilities possible and it’s fantastic to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we thank you for pointing out many of our facilities to fellow travellers and for your kind words about our staff.

We would also like to take this opportunity to apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced due to temperature issues in your room.

We hope you back to the hotel in the near future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the Banff International for a work-related offsite on March 13th. The staff was very helpful in arranging the rooms (we had 56 people attend). It is in a fantastic location - within walking distance to everything downtown (shopping, restaurants, bars). I live in Calgary but have never stayed at this particular hotel when in Banff on business. The rooms are clean. The hallways and rooms are a bit dated, but for the money value, we all enjoyed our stay. I never ate in the restaurant or went to the bar in the hotel, but was told the food was good. We would stay here again instead of spending the big bucks on the Rimrock, Banff Springs, etc. (as we have in the past). Why - when you can walk everywhere you want to go (no taxi fares), and how often are you in your room? I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Banff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Cheryl M

Thank your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

It is fantastic to hear that we could be of such help to you and your colleagues during your work retreat.

We thank you very much for your kind words about our facilities, our staff and our prime location which makes it extremely convenient for our guests to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you return to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Pros
Excellent location. This is probably the closest hotel to all the shopping and restaurants on the main street.
All shuttles and buses go by this hotel
Lobby is nice and has a shop and a restaurant/bar
It is a hotel so the rooms and halls and lobby are all sheltered and warm

Cons
Rooms are not updated
No wifi in rooms
Hotel only as a tiny hot tub

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear relaxinvernon

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

As with any hotel we certainly have our pros and cons and we thank you for your comments so that we can know our strengths, recognize our weaknesses and address them to provide our guests with the best experience possible.

We certainly recognize that are rooms need some updating and will be embarking on major renovations in the near future to address that particular concern.

We are happy to hear you had an overall positive experience during your stay and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.