We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Winter holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We always stay at the Banff International Hotel as it is very close to the town centre and is great value for money, wifi and parking are free, there is tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge in the room, beds are really comfortable and the hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

Rickies is not to our taste as it offers high carbohydrate high cholesterol food in huge quantities but there are many better alternatives for a healthier breakfast in Banff. Safeway is just across the road, which is really convenient. The hot tub is often empty around 5.00pm, as is the sauna and steam room. It is a pity that there are no changing facilities as well, or a water fountain, but I usually get changed out of my wet costume after using the hot tub in the ladies loo area which is also empty. The bedrooms are comfortably furnished, well decorated and a good size. We have tried other hotels, but will keep coming back to this one for all the above reasons.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms overlooking Safeway, as the noise of the recycling during the night can interrupt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Linda_from_Bucks

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We are very happy to learn that you had such a positive experience during your stay and I thank you for your kind words about our staff, for pointing out some of the many facilities we offer our guests and our prime location, which makes it extremely easy to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We do also thank you for your comments about our hot tub area, as we will be embarking on renovations for the property, these kinds of critiques give us an idea of what we could improve going into the future.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    227
    136
    52
    22
See reviews for
137
196
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night while skiing at Norquay. Location is good. Our room was ok but not great, the room smelt very musty, opened the windows as soon as we arrived, the fridge was full of food left over from the previous guest, the guest questionnaire was filled in by the previous guest I assume, so all in all the cleanliness of the room was poor. Would I stay here again? Probably not, there are much better hotels in Banff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Sarah D,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We apprecaite your feedback.

We strive to uphold the highest standards of cleanliness and I am very sorry that you found your room to be below par in this regard. Please know that the front desk staff are always ready to assist in providing an alternate room should you find anything disagreeable. I will review with the housekeeping supervisory staff about the need to double-check inside the fridge after their housekeeping team has cleaned the room.

While I understand your reluctance to stay with us again, I do hope you change your mind should you be back in Banff and I would be happy to facilitate your booking directly.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanberis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel is in a very central location, close to restaurants and shops. There was free underground parking and free internet but the speed and reliability of connection was pathetic.
The rooms were clean and spacious with nice decor, ample hot water for the bath and shower.
There is a coffee machine and refrigerator in the room.
My biggest complaint was the noisy guests next door but the hotel can't be held responsible this. They did put a stop to it when we complained

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Iwan P

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International hotel

First of all we would like to apologize for any noise you might have experienced during your stay, indeed Banff has its fair share of unruly visitors and within our property we always try our best to keep a lid on them.

We also apologize for any issues with our Wi-Fi, we are currently exploring options to upgrade it.

But we thank you for pointing out the facilities we offer our guests and our prime location which is extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Was not expecting much from this hotel as its in a small mountain town. Me and some friends stayed one night here while spending a weekend in Banff for skiing. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel.
Highlights:
Underground parking - note that it is more convenient if you drive a car, as parking is limited and guests aren't the best at parking.
Great price - $100/night booked through Travelocity
Free wifi - although slow, it is nice to have.
Friendly staff
Clean room, lobby, parking garage, elevators, etc.
Quick check in and check out
Great location - walking distance to many great restaurants, shops, etc. Tim Hortons is near as well.

Lowlights:
Our room was so hot to sleep in. Thermostat was set to 17, and the window was open with the ceiling fan on. Couldn't sleep under a sheet it was so warm

All in all, it was a great hotel with a great price and location. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Banff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Emily M

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

Here at Brewster Hospitality we always strive to provide the best customer service and facilities possible and it’s fantastic to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we thank you for pointing out many of our facilities to fellow travellers and for your kind words about our staff.

We would also like to take this opportunity to apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced due to temperature issues in your room.

We hope you back to the hotel in the near future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the Banff International for a work-related offsite on March 13th. The staff was very helpful in arranging the rooms (we had 56 people attend). It is in a fantastic location - within walking distance to everything downtown (shopping, restaurants, bars). I live in Calgary but have never stayed at this particular hotel when in Banff on business. The rooms are clean. The hallways and rooms are a bit dated, but for the money value, we all enjoyed our stay. I never ate in the restaurant or went to the bar in the hotel, but was told the food was good. We would stay here again instead of spending the big bucks on the Rimrock, Banff Springs, etc. (as we have in the past). Why - when you can walk everywhere you want to go (no taxi fares), and how often are you in your room? I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Banff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Cheryl M

Thank your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

It is fantastic to hear that we could be of such help to you and your colleagues during your work retreat.

We thank you very much for your kind words about our facilities, our staff and our prime location which makes it extremely convenient for our guests to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you return to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Pros
Excellent location. This is probably the closest hotel to all the shopping and restaurants on the main street.
All shuttles and buses go by this hotel
Lobby is nice and has a shop and a restaurant/bar
It is a hotel so the rooms and halls and lobby are all sheltered and warm

Cons
Rooms are not updated
No wifi in rooms
Hotel only as a tiny hot tub

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear relaxinvernon

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

As with any hotel we certainly have our pros and cons and we thank you for your comments so that we can know our strengths, recognize our weaknesses and address them to provide our guests with the best experience possible.

We certainly recognize that are rooms need some updating and will be embarking on major renovations in the near future to address that particular concern.

We are happy to hear you had an overall positive experience during your stay and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was in Banff for a conference for a full week, I Booked the Banff International since the hotel where my conference was, was booked up, and the International was not a far walk to the conference.

I checked in and they assigned me to a room on the lower level which was just fine, as I walked into my room it looked more like a storage room that got converted into a hotel room.
The room was dark and not much natural light, there was a huge pillar in front of the window, They called it the "executive room" To me there was nothing "executive" about it. It looked more like a storage room.
The room was dated, but it was clean and the king bed was nice so that is a plus.
I had to unplug the fridge as it was noisy and rattled inside the TV cabinet.

If you just need a room to crash , I guess than that room is fine.

If you have some work to do on your computer and you rely on the Internet, you will be out of luck, The dial up I had 15 years ago was faster then what you get at the International hotel.

This was a big negative for me, In this day and age there should be no slow internet anymore.

All in all for $125.00 a night it was not worth it. I come to the same conference every year, but I wont come to this hotel.

But the Breakfast at Ricky's all day grill was awesome which is also in the same hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear rotjong,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us during the AAWOL conference.

We take all guest feedback seriously and we aplogize that you did not find your stay satisfactory. Regarding our rooms, we have extensive renovations planned and the new look of the rooms is very exciting and modern.

We hope that you will try us again with our renovated rooms for next year's conference.

Regards,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#23 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.