We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 33 hotels in Banff
Llanberis, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel is in a very central location, close to restaurants and shops. There was free underground parking and free internet but the speed and reliability of connection was pathetic.
The rooms were clean and spacious with nice decor, ample hot water for the bath and shower.
There is a coffee machine and refrigerator in the room.
My biggest complaint was the noisy guests next door but the hotel can't be held responsible this. They did put a stop to it when we complained

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Iwan P

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International hotel

First of all we would like to apologize for any noise you might have experienced during your stay, indeed Banff has its fair share of unruly visitors and within our property we always try our best to keep a lid on them.

We also apologize for any issues with our Wi-Fi, we are currently exploring options to upgrade it.

But we thank you for pointing out the facilities we offer our guests and our prime location which is extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    147
    95
    39
    19
See reviews for
95
136
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Was not expecting much from this hotel as its in a small mountain town. Me and some friends stayed one night here while spending a weekend in Banff for skiing. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel.
Highlights:
Underground parking - note that it is more convenient if you drive a car, as parking is limited and guests aren't the best at parking.
Great price - $100/night booked through Travelocity
Free wifi - although slow, it is nice to have.
Friendly staff
Clean room, lobby, parking garage, elevators, etc.
Quick check in and check out
Great location - walking distance to many great restaurants, shops, etc. Tim Hortons is near as well.

Lowlights:
Our room was so hot to sleep in. Thermostat was set to 17, and the window was open with the ceiling fan on. Couldn't sleep under a sheet it was so warm

All in all, it was a great hotel with a great price and location. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Banff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Emily M

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

Here at Brewster Hospitality we always strive to provide the best customer service and facilities possible and it’s fantastic to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we thank you for pointing out many of our facilities to fellow travellers and for your kind words about our staff.

We would also like to take this opportunity to apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced due to temperature issues in your room.

We hope you back to the hotel in the near future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the Banff International for a work-related offsite on March 13th. The staff was very helpful in arranging the rooms (we had 56 people attend). It is in a fantastic location - within walking distance to everything downtown (shopping, restaurants, bars). I live in Calgary but have never stayed at this particular hotel when in Banff on business. The rooms are clean. The hallways and rooms are a bit dated, but for the money value, we all enjoyed our stay. I never ate in the restaurant or went to the bar in the hotel, but was told the food was good. We would stay here again instead of spending the big bucks on the Rimrock, Banff Springs, etc. (as we have in the past). Why - when you can walk everywhere you want to go (no taxi fares), and how often are you in your room? I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Banff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Cheryl M

Thank your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

It is fantastic to hear that we could be of such help to you and your colleagues during your work retreat.

We thank you very much for your kind words about our facilities, our staff and our prime location which makes it extremely convenient for our guests to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you return to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Pros
Excellent location. This is probably the closest hotel to all the shopping and restaurants on the main street.
All shuttles and buses go by this hotel
Lobby is nice and has a shop and a restaurant/bar
It is a hotel so the rooms and halls and lobby are all sheltered and warm

Cons
Rooms are not updated
No wifi in rooms
Hotel only as a tiny hot tub

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear relaxinvernon

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

As with any hotel we certainly have our pros and cons and we thank you for your comments so that we can know our strengths, recognize our weaknesses and address them to provide our guests with the best experience possible.

We certainly recognize that are rooms need some updating and will be embarking on major renovations in the near future to address that particular concern.

We are happy to hear you had an overall positive experience during your stay and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was in Banff for a conference for a full week, I Booked the Banff International since the hotel where my conference was, was booked up, and the International was not a far walk to the conference.

I checked in and they assigned me to a room on the lower level which was just fine, as I walked into my room it looked more like a storage room that got converted into a hotel room.
The room was dark and not much natural light, there was a huge pillar in front of the window, They called it the "executive room" To me there was nothing "executive" about it. It looked more like a storage room.
The room was dated, but it was clean and the king bed was nice so that is a plus.
I had to unplug the fridge as it was noisy and rattled inside the TV cabinet.

If you just need a room to crash , I guess than that room is fine.

If you have some work to do on your computer and you rely on the Internet, you will be out of luck, The dial up I had 15 years ago was faster then what you get at the International hotel.

This was a big negative for me, In this day and age there should be no slow internet anymore.

All in all for $125.00 a night it was not worth it. I come to the same conference every year, but I wont come to this hotel.

But the Breakfast at Ricky's all day grill was awesome which is also in the same hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear rotjong,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us during the AAWOL conference.

We take all guest feedback seriously and we aplogize that you did not find your stay satisfactory. Regarding our rooms, we have extensive renovations planned and the new look of the rooms is very exciting and modern.

We hope that you will try us again with our renovated rooms for next year's conference.

Regards,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here one night passing through Banff. Great location, great value.
Everything was clean and the bed was super comfortable. Underground parking was nice. It was a nice hotel.
It was a great choice for how expensive Banff can be.
The only thing negative I can think of is there is no clear signs to the spa.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Alison T

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us at the Banff International Hotel

We always strive to provide excellent service and facilities for our guests and are happy to learn we met those expectations.

We also thank you for your feedback regarding our signage; we will definitely look into ways to improve it.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is located right in the heart of Banff, you can walk to most parts of the town. It has under ground parking but no parking for over height vehicles including trucks. It's an older hotel but well kept. The internet speed is really slow, but overall nice place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Keith T

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review after your recent stay with us at the Banff International Hotel

We are extremely glad to hear you had an overall positive experience during your stay, I am glad you enjoyed our convenient location and we do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced in regards to our underground parking as it can be low for large trucks and SUV’s at a limit of 6ft 1in, our staff are always happy to assist with alternatives.

We hope to welcome you back when you return to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.