We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here one night passing through Banff. Great location, great value.
Everything was clean and the bed was super comfortable. Underground parking was nice. It was a nice hotel.
It was a great choice for how expensive Banff can be.
The only thing negative I can think of is there is no clear signs to the spa.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Alison T

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us at the Banff International Hotel

We always strive to provide excellent service and facilities for our guests and are happy to learn we met those expectations.

We also thank you for your feedback regarding our signage; we will definitely look into ways to improve it.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    227
    137
    52
    22
See reviews for
137
197
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is located right in the heart of Banff, you can walk to most parts of the town. It has under ground parking but no parking for over height vehicles including trucks. It's an older hotel but well kept. The internet speed is really slow, but overall nice place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Keith T

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review after your recent stay with us at the Banff International Hotel

We are extremely glad to hear you had an overall positive experience during your stay, I am glad you enjoyed our convenient location and we do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced in regards to our underground parking as it can be low for large trucks and SUV’s at a limit of 6ft 1in, our staff are always happy to assist with alternatives.

We hope to welcome you back when you return to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Simple clean hotel in the heart of Banff, right accross the road from a big grocery shop. Walking distance to everywhere. There's a lovely bridge nearby with spectacular views. The hotel was very quiet for us, the room was a good size. A little dated, however, it was clean and we were happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Linisa2

Thank you for your very kind words about our property after your recent stay with us.

Indeed we are in a prime location in the heart of downtown Banff which certainly makes things convenient for our guests.

We are always happy to know our guests enjoyed themselves and we definitely agree that our rooms are a bit dated and are planning extensive renovations for the property going into the future.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is my 3rd stay at the Banff International hotel. It remains a very comfortable and well located place and very convenient for the ski bus. The main issue is the broadband connection. It is worse than an old modem dial up speed and made staying in touch very challenging. Whilst provided free, for a modern hotel, it was dreadful.

Still, the rooms are large, the beds are comfortable and it is the closet hotel to the main shops, bars and restaurants where the ski bus stops outside. Fix the broadband/wi-fi and it would be a 5* rating.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Annexe seemed a little cooler than the main building. Rooms near the spa will have a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear karlkent

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We are always happy to receive constructive criticism so we can better serve our guests in the future and to that end we do apologize for your experience with our Wi-Fi during your stay, we are looking into ways in which to upgrade it.

We also thank you for your very positive comments about our rooms and for pointing out our very good location.

We thank you for choosing us so many times in the past and hope to welcome you back many times in the future

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just spent two nights at this hotel because I had a two for one coupon as part of the Alberta Travel Card sold by Brewsters. It was a great deal so I could not resist. Unfortunately I was kept up a bit the first night and non-stop the second night by people who were partying. We were on the first floor and not far from the front desk so the hotel staff were very aware of what was happening but did nothing about it. Even after complaining to them the noise persisted for a few hours. It is not a fancy hotel but it is really the experience I had that will make it impossible for me to recommend the hotel. Also there are not enough parking stalls underground for the number of guests so you may want to grab a spot and walk as much as you can.

Room Tip: I am not sure if it was less noisy on floors other than the main floor but if you insist on staying...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear LaraA511

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We want to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise for your experience during your recent stay with us.

We have taken your comments on board for both the Front Desk and our security team to stop these kinds of incidents from occurring in the future.

We also apologize for any inconvenience you may have had with our underground parking, while it does have considerable space, there are occasions where difficulties can occur with volume.

We thank you again for taking the time to leave us this feedback so we can work to better serve our guests in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a weekend in ski season. Our stay coincided with reading week at universities in Alberta. During our stay we slept very little due to the volume of noise coming from neighboring rooms. Open liquor was common in all areas of the hotel and was not concealed from the hotel staff regardless of the time of day. At one point there was a young man passed out outside our hotel room door. He was eventually roused after his companions spent 30 minutes calling for him down the halls. The hotel staff were polite but were neither diligent enough nor competent enough to handle their customers. If you want to party freely without interference or regard for others then this hotel is for you. All others should stay away.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for providing valuable feedback on your recent stay.

We are very sorry and deeply regret that our services were not satisfactory. We pride ourselves in offering only the best to our guests and assure this experience is not common with that of our standards.

We have a sincere desire to provide all of our guests with a restful and quiet sleep. I have spoken to our security team with regard to the lapses that occurred during your weekend stay and we are working together to enforce our policy that anyone who is disturbing the rest of others is rightfully evicted. We are not tolerant of partying that interferes with other guests but do apologize that we were unable to uphold this standard with regard to your stay.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient with nothing being too much trouble, a credit to the hotel.

Ski lockers are provided, the ski bus stops next door at the Ptarmigan and the hotel is close to shops and restaurants making it an ideal location for skiers.

The bedroom was warm and clean with a huge flat screen tv, coffee making equipment and an iron. The hairdryer died but was replaced immediately on request. The wifi service in the room however, was frustratingly poor and I suggest it is removed or improved. We also unplugged the fridge during our stay as it was inside a cupboard and the noice was excessive.

We had a drink in the bar most nights and found the service to be excellent regardless of how busy it was.

We had breakfast twice with the food being good but it took 45 mins and 25 mins respectively from being ordered to arriving on the table. We were told that a kitchen staff member was unable to come to work on the first occasion.

Thanks to all the staff who made our stay really enjoyable. We will see you next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear bilbo57:

Thank you for choosing the Banff International Hotel for your recent visit. Your feedback is very important to us and I appreciate the time you took to review our property.

Brewster Hospitality strives to exceed our guests' expectations by providing the right services and guest experiences to make each and every stay relaxing, enjoyable and filled with great memories. We strive to do the best job we can and reviews like yours make it worthwhile. I am so pleased that you found our staff and service to be excellent. I have passed on your thanks to them.

See you next year!

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#23 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#27 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.