We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget hotel, though not without its annoyances.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent budget hotel, though not without its annoyances.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed at the Banff International Hotel for the first time on Nov. 29 to Dec. 1.

It's a nice enough place. Great location, close to the centre of town with the Safeway right across the street. You can even walk 4 minutes to the overpriced liquor store (at least 25% more expensive than the liquor store in The Voyager). Room amenities are standard, but rather new. The TVs are all 37 inch flatscreens.

The room attendants folded our clothes that we had left on the bed. A very nice touch.

However, there are no balconies; not good for smokers (though technically, you're not supposed to smoke on any balconies). But you don't have to worry about keeping your beers cold outside because they have chilly mini-fridges.

During our stay, the wireless internet didn't work at all. That was rather annoying.

They have a Ricky's All Day Grill in the hotel, so that's nice.

All in all, it's a nice budget stay, though for my Banff requirements, The Voyager and Inns of Banff usually do the trick, and for about $20 per night cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Neesh1010,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are so pleased you enjoyed our location and the convenience of the fridge in your room.

Thank you again for your review.

Happy Holidays,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    213
    130
    48
    22
See reviews for
123
188
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a great Hotel in a great location...walking distance to so many attractions.
We were upgraded (53rd. Wedding Anniversary) to a wonderful room that looked out on Banff Avenue.
Front Desk staff friendly and helpful. Hotel Lobby/elevators well maintained which is amazing considering the heavy (boot) traffic and weather conditions...... in the Winter.
Going again this year for year 54!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! they will accommodate you if they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear nakiska_11,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are so pleased that you celebrated your 53rd wedding anniversary and we are excited to host you again for your 54th!

Happy Anniversary and we will see you both soon!

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located just on the end of the main street, Very convenient to the main town with lots of shops and places to eat . We had some picnics so across the street is a Safeway supermarket which was handy. The hotel staff were friendly, rooms were a good size and clean. WiFi was very poor in the room but was much better in the lobby. Free parking is a great bonus!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear SMonty45,

Thank you for your review of the Banff International Hotel. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed our convenient location, friendly staff, and guest rooms. Our underground parking is a nice bonus for our guests (especially guests in house now as it is -32 degrees celius outside!).

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back should you return to Banff.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetaskiwin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was comfortable, the staff excellent as we had asked for a room with a nice view and a fridge. We got exactly what we asked for and were settled into our room in five minutes. We would definitely stay here again. It is so conveniently located right in the heart if downtown with many attractions within walking distance. Never moved the car while we were there. A wonderful experience. Our compliments to management and staff.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Darlene C,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful overall experience.

Our complimentary underground parking is great in the Winter as our guests do not have to worry about cars not starting in the cold, cleaning off the ice and snow, or sitting in a freezing vehicle trying to warm up.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel October 27th to the 29th and found it to be a great hotel in a great location. Check-in was quick and easy with the Australian girl (sorry did not get her name) and she had us in our room 5 minutes after we walked into the hotel. She is a lovely friendly girl who made us feel at home and set the tone for the rest of our stay. First impressions are always important to us so this was a great indicator that our stay was going to be good. Our room was 205 which was clean and spacious but the view was not great as we looked onto a brick wall and roof tiles. We did not plan to stay in our room much so didn't ask for a change. We were leaving our room to go down for breakfast on the 28th when we smelled smoke so we reported it to Ancy at the front desk, she was on the radio immediately and that started their evacuation fire drill, we were asked to go to the hotel next door where we were given coffee or tea to warm us up as it was a chilly morning.. The manager took control of the situation and the emergency was over in 10 minutes. He had us back in the hotel making sure we were all ok. Very professional and safe way of handling what could have been a bad situation so kudos to the management and staff.

We asked Ancy at the front desk if it was possible to move rooms, she had the bellboy show us another room and help me move to the new room 202. It was a very large room with a good view of the main street and the mountains. Great service from Ancy ! she was always smiling and was really helpful any time we needed anything. She is a great asset to the hotel.

Breakfast in Ricky's was excellent both days and the service was really good, Criselda was our really good waitress and looked after us while we were there, nothing was too much trouble and she was always a happy and cheerful person. All the restaurant staff were really friendly and helpful.

We had a glass of wine in the bar and again service was good and the waitress was really nice.

We used the steam room and hot tub and found that it took a bit time for the steam to reach the right temperature so we suggest hit the button the minute you get there and enjoy the wait time in the hot tub. There is also a dry sauna that we did not use but we looked into it and it was nice and hot.The area was really clean and had plenty of clean towels available. The hotel may want to have more signage giving directions on how to find the spa area as we had a bit trouble. finding it.

We have stayed in Banff on many occasions and found this stay to be one of our best. Great job guys and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear SteveTracy_10,

Thank you for your incredible review of the Banff International Hotel.

I have forwarded your comments regarding our staff to Management and the staff members involved. We strive to provide the excellent service our guests deserve and I am so glad we were were able to do that for you.

I have made note of your comments regarding aquatic facility signage and forwarded that to our Operating Directors for their review. We are constantly looking to change our services to meet the needs of our guests.

We hope to welcome you again this Winter. The snow is here, all 3 ski hills are open, and the weather is wonderful!

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is located just on the end of the main street, Banff is a 'tourist' with lots of shops, places to eat etc when people aren't skiing. Across the street is a Safeway supermarket which was handy. The hotel staff were friendly, rooms were a good size and clean. WiFi struggled in the room but was good in the lobby. Just to note I stayed in Jasper and Banff and had to pay for a National parks permit to do so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Rikmak,

Thank you for your review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am so glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, friendly staff, and spacious rooms. We strive to provide our guests with the services they deserve and it seems we were able to do just that.

Thank you for mentioning the National Parks Pass. As we are located in a Canadian National Park, all visitors must purchase a pass to enter the park. New this year, Park Passes can be purchased online and printed online, saving you from waiting in line at the Park Gates.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had 2 nights in this large but very comfortable hotel. We were given an upgrade to a Loft Suite which was fantastic. It was a very large studio with lounge area, one double bed and bathroom with stairs to a mezzanine floor with 2 king beds with loads of cupboard and drawer space. Plenty of room to open up our 2 shell suitcases. Excellent position for walking to all restaurants, shops etc. Staff were friendly and helpful. We dined out and did not have breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment on this. There is no charge for the underground carparking, which is a bonus. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear ser45,

Thank you for your review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to one of our loft suites. They are great for those traveling with families, multiple night stays, and guests who enjoy lots of space!

We hope to welcome you back again soon and hopefully get you to try our in house restaurant, Ricky's All Day Grill. They have a large menu and serve breakfast until 4PM.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#24 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 942 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.