We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located just on the end of the main street, Very convenient to the main town with lots of shops and places to eat . We had some picnics so across the street is a Safeway supermarket which was handy. The hotel staff were friendly, rooms were a good size and clean. WiFi was very poor in the room but was much better in the lobby. Free parking is a great bonus!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear SMonty45,

Thank you for your review of the Banff International Hotel. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed our convenient location, friendly staff, and guest rooms. Our underground parking is a nice bonus for our guests (especially guests in house now as it is -32 degrees celius outside!).

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back should you return to Banff.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    227
    137
    52
    22
See reviews for
137
197
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wetaskiwin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was comfortable, the staff excellent as we had asked for a room with a nice view and a fridge. We got exactly what we asked for and were settled into our room in five minutes. We would definitely stay here again. It is so conveniently located right in the heart if downtown with many attractions within walking distance. Never moved the car while we were there. A wonderful experience. Our compliments to management and staff.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Darlene C,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful overall experience.

Our complimentary underground parking is great in the Winter as our guests do not have to worry about cars not starting in the cold, cleaning off the ice and snow, or sitting in a freezing vehicle trying to warm up.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel October 27th to the 29th and found it to be a great hotel in a great location. Check-in was quick and easy with the Australian girl (sorry did not get her name) and she had us in our room 5 minutes after we walked into the hotel. She is a lovely friendly girl who made us feel at home and set the tone for the rest of our stay. First impressions are always important to us so this was a great indicator that our stay was going to be good. Our room was 205 which was clean and spacious but the view was not great as we looked onto a brick wall and roof tiles. We did not plan to stay in our room much so didn't ask for a change. We were leaving our room to go down for breakfast on the 28th when we smelled smoke so we reported it to Ancy at the front desk, she was on the radio immediately and that started their evacuation fire drill, we were asked to go to the hotel next door where we were given coffee or tea to warm us up as it was a chilly morning.. The manager took control of the situation and the emergency was over in 10 minutes. He had us back in the hotel making sure we were all ok. Very professional and safe way of handling what could have been a bad situation so kudos to the management and staff.

We asked Ancy at the front desk if it was possible to move rooms, she had the bellboy show us another room and help me move to the new room 202. It was a very large room with a good view of the main street and the mountains. Great service from Ancy ! she was always smiling and was really helpful any time we needed anything. She is a great asset to the hotel.

Breakfast in Ricky's was excellent both days and the service was really good, Criselda was our really good waitress and looked after us while we were there, nothing was too much trouble and she was always a happy and cheerful person. All the restaurant staff were really friendly and helpful.

We had a glass of wine in the bar and again service was good and the waitress was really nice.

We used the steam room and hot tub and found that it took a bit time for the steam to reach the right temperature so we suggest hit the button the minute you get there and enjoy the wait time in the hot tub. There is also a dry sauna that we did not use but we looked into it and it was nice and hot.The area was really clean and had plenty of clean towels available. The hotel may want to have more signage giving directions on how to find the spa area as we had a bit trouble. finding it.

We have stayed in Banff on many occasions and found this stay to be one of our best. Great job guys and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear SteveTracy_10,

Thank you for your incredible review of the Banff International Hotel.

I have forwarded your comments regarding our staff to Management and the staff members involved. We strive to provide the excellent service our guests deserve and I am so glad we were were able to do that for you.

I have made note of your comments regarding aquatic facility signage and forwarded that to our Operating Directors for their review. We are constantly looking to change our services to meet the needs of our guests.

We hope to welcome you again this Winter. The snow is here, all 3 ski hills are open, and the weather is wonderful!

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is located just on the end of the main street, Banff is a 'tourist' with lots of shops, places to eat etc when people aren't skiing. Across the street is a Safeway supermarket which was handy. The hotel staff were friendly, rooms were a good size and clean. WiFi struggled in the room but was good in the lobby. Just to note I stayed in Jasper and Banff and had to pay for a National parks permit to do so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Rikmak,

Thank you for your review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am so glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, friendly staff, and spacious rooms. We strive to provide our guests with the services they deserve and it seems we were able to do just that.

Thank you for mentioning the National Parks Pass. As we are located in a Canadian National Park, all visitors must purchase a pass to enter the park. New this year, Park Passes can be purchased online and printed online, saving you from waiting in line at the Park Gates.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had 2 nights in this large but very comfortable hotel. We were given an upgrade to a Loft Suite which was fantastic. It was a very large studio with lounge area, one double bed and bathroom with stairs to a mezzanine floor with 2 king beds with loads of cupboard and drawer space. Plenty of room to open up our 2 shell suitcases. Excellent position for walking to all restaurants, shops etc. Staff were friendly and helpful. We dined out and did not have breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment on this. There is no charge for the underground carparking, which is a bonus. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear ser45,

Thank you for your review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to one of our loft suites. They are great for those traveling with families, multiple night stays, and guests who enjoy lots of space!

We hope to welcome you back again soon and hopefully get you to try our in house restaurant, Ricky's All Day Grill. They have a large menu and serve breakfast until 4PM.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrack Heights
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable, staff are very informative and friendly.
Local attractions are known to all staff and advice is excellent.
Good position in the centre of town, you can walk everywhere. Great restaurants everywhere and good gift shops.
Prices at the end of the season are very steep but comparable with other places available.
Free undercover parking.
Mountain views are a surprise if you get there late and decide to walk around the next morning.
The tourist information place just across the street and a short walk is excellent.
Don't forget to get your national park pass as this is needed here.
Lake Louise is just a short drive through beautiful vistas, you must go there.

Room Tip: Make sure the room is away from ice and vending machines, the place is very quiet mostly anyway. Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Oxleigh,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am so happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. You offer some great tips for our future guests that will help them get the most out of their stay.

We hope to be able to welcome you back if you find yourself back in Canada.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located close to the main shops and restaurants on Banff Ave. The price is fair and the hotel has free underground parking if your vehicle is no taller than 6 ft 6in. Many nice restaurants, within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: For quietness, ask for premium rooms on 3rd floor facing away from Banff Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear SierraGuy 6,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location that is within walking distance of most shops and restaurants.

Thank you for pointing out that we offer complimentary underground parking, however our height restrictions are 6ft 1in. We also offer complimentary wifi and a complimentary coffee and tea station in the lobby.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#23 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.