We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'lofty' experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 6 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 33 hotels in Banff
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A 'lofty' experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had 2 nights in this large but very comfortable hotel. We were given an upgrade to a Loft Suite which was fantastic. It was a very large studio with lounge area, one double bed and bathroom with stairs to a mezzanine floor with 2 king beds with loads of cupboard and drawer space. Plenty of room to open up our 2 shell suitcases. Excellent position for walking to all restaurants, shops etc. Staff were friendly and helpful. We dined out and did not have breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment on this. There is no charge for the underground carparking, which is a bonus. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear ser45,

Thank you for your review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to one of our loft suites. They are great for those traveling with families, multiple night stays, and guests who enjoy lots of space!

We hope to welcome you back again soon and hopefully get you to try our in house restaurant, Ricky's All Day Grill. They have a large menu and serve breakfast until 4PM.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    127
    81
    30
    15
See reviews for
84
115
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrack Heights
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable, staff are very informative and friendly.
Local attractions are known to all staff and advice is excellent.
Good position in the centre of town, you can walk everywhere. Great restaurants everywhere and good gift shops.
Prices at the end of the season are very steep but comparable with other places available.
Free undercover parking.
Mountain views are a surprise if you get there late and decide to walk around the next morning.
The tourist information place just across the street and a short walk is excellent.
Don't forget to get your national park pass as this is needed here.
Lake Louise is just a short drive through beautiful vistas, you must go there.

Room Tip: Make sure the room is away from ice and vending machines, the place is very quiet mostly anyway. Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Oxleigh,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am so happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. You offer some great tips for our future guests that will help them get the most out of their stay.

We hope to be able to welcome you back if you find yourself back in Canada.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located close to the main shops and restaurants on Banff Ave. The price is fair and the hotel has free underground parking if your vehicle is no taller than 6 ft 6in. Many nice restaurants, within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: For quietness, ask for premium rooms on 3rd floor facing away from Banff Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear SierraGuy 6,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location that is within walking distance of most shops and restaurants.

Thank you for pointing out that we offer complimentary underground parking, however our height restrictions are 6ft 1in. We also offer complimentary wifi and a complimentary coffee and tea station in the lobby.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

On the 6th of October my wife and I joined a party of 43 people at Manchester Air Port on a trip never to be forgotten,we flew into Calgary were met by our tour guide Mary and driver Colin and from that first meeting we all new we were in for a great time,our first hotel and two day stop was The Banff International our room was 225 poor out look but we only slept in it the hotel is located on Banff Avenue with views you would die for snow capped mountains and lovely little shops with loads of restaurants to choose from we only used the resteraunt for breakfast and this was very good as was the staff while in Banff we dined out for evening meals 1st night we dined at Karouzo,s Italian excellent food and wine at reasonable price starter of mixed olives bread oil and vinegar two mains to share steak in pasta sauce and chicken in butter sauce both with pasta and two glasses of wine (house) total bill $80.00 the2nd we did the steak night at Kegs what a choice no starters just two great steaks one New York Strip one Fillet two beers two wines$70.00 while we were in Banff we did a trip to the Banff Gondola up Sulpher Mountain this was fantastic with views over the vally and golf course with hot chocolate up at the top what a experience,the next day we went on to Jasper where we stopped at the Whistlers Inn in room 217 ,While in jasper we visited Lake Louise with its Glacier and toured their national park area ,the next morning we started to go through the Rockies on route to Edmonton for a out and back stop at The SuttonPlace Hotel the out ward room was 814 and the return room was 815 the hotel is in the process of complete refurbishment but it did not bother us.we used the Chop Steak Bar here both nights spiced chicken wing starters to share with you guessed it big steaks to follow beer and wine for two $110.00 1st night $125.00 second but what the heck we are on holiday it was then the long ride to Fort Mc MURRAY for the big event for two night stay with a hope of a sight to see The Northern Lights we stopped at The Sawbridge Inn and dined in their steak bar but never had it we had good old Fish and chips the first night delish and rack of lamb the last night with buffet breakfast both morning'sbreakfasts for two $33.00 and evening dinners $80.00 -$90.00 great value and service on both nights we left the hotel to travell out onto a shooting clubs area away from any light to hope fully get a view the temp had dropped to -7 at 10pm and at around 11pm we started to see the first glimer of green stripes appear in the sky only for a short time then it went away we thought thats it so we went inside the hut for a cup of hot coffee the a shout was heard here it comes again so we all went out and we were treated to a bigger dissplay of green ,pink and pale blue scarf like clouds this time about 20 minutes better through a digital slr camera than with the naked eye then that was ti for the night it was now 01.30 and -9 so we all went back to the hotel tired cold but bery excited we did the same the next night but was warned that we were not expected to see it again as there was a cloud bank but just like magic at around 0i.15 out it came again not so good as last night but still good so our magic trip was over and every one came home fully exhausted but full of gret memorie3s thanks to mary and colin and the organizers Newmarket Holidays till we meet again thanks to all of you on this triptour codeNF3NLB14

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Colin R,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

It sounds like you and your wife had an incredible holiday exploring the Canadian Rockies. We hope you are able to make it back to Canada sometime in the future.

Thank you again for the review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mulgrave, nova scotia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our one night stay at Banff International Hotel. It is located on Banff Avenue which is a great spot in the heart of Banff. The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfy. We walked the avenue and explored many of the shops. The view of the mountains was spectacular. We even saw an elk across the street on the lawn of the local high school. The staff at reception were very helpful. He gave us a great suggestion that resulted in seeing a grizzly bear on the way to Lake Louise. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear tigger60,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location, comfy beds, and helpful staff. Our staff are full of local knowledge and can help all our guests with restaurant recommendations, activities, and popular areas to see wildlife.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the Banff International on the 6th October 2013 and we had room 106 which was on the ground floor. The room was dark and gloomy because the window looked out onto a stone wall with no view, just the wall and a small tree. So check into a room on the first floor that way you will get a view and some natural day light.

The restaurant can only cope with a few guests who may require breakfast. We arrived at 7.30am for breakfast only to be told the two kitchen staff could not cope! Not the kind of service you expect from a hotel who must have been aware that 40 guests who had booked in the previous day would be requiring breakfast the following day?

Be aware that this hotel stopped the bar service at 10pm!!

The only good thing to say is that the room was clean and the hotel is well placed for the centre of Banff.

Room Tip: Do not go in room 106 and those adjacent to it because they are dark and gloomy with no view, get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Arfandmarg,

Thank you for your review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed our clean rooms and the location of the hotel.

As we are located in the downtown area, we are unable to offer mountain views from all of our rooms. Please feel free to request a mountain view room on your next reservation and our front desk staff will do their very best to accommodate you.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the delay in food at Ricky's. I have passed your comments regarding the long wait times and hours of operation to the General Manager for his review.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in early September when the weather was quite warm. The room was quite well appointed with very comfortable bed which we appreciated after a long flight. We did find the room warm and a bit airless and the overhead fan was definitely needed as the small window did not allow very much fresh air in - no air con. In colder weather it would probably be absolutely fine. It certainly wasn't bad enough for us to ask for another room. Price was very reasonable, so that was the offset.
Great location with an easy walk to most town sights, restaurants, shops etc. Staff were very pleasant at reception and also in the restaurant where we ate once - food in Ricky's was fine and reasonably priced.
Overall, I think we got what we paid for in such a busy tourist destination and we were happy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large, opening window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear elanora16,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

It is great to read that you enjoyed the comfortable bed, our pleasant staff, and convenient location. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the room temperature. We do supply an overhead fan as well as a table fan (located in the closet in most rooms) in case the room is warm. Our rooms also come equipped with blackout curtains to keep the sun from warming up the room. As you mentioned, the colder weather cools down the rooms. Each room has a thermostat to adjust the heating.

Just last week we put a complimentary coffee and tea station in our lobby for our guests. Our guests can now help themselves and our to-go cups makes it possible to take your hot beverage with you on a stroll around Banff or on the bus up to a ski hill!

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to host you and your partner should you visit the Canadian Rockies again.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list