We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel we were in Banff for our wedding the check in and out were very easy the rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable we sat in the lounge until it closed and the bartender to great car of us we will for sure be staying here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Howard T,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials!

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms clean and beds comfortable.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our lounge area and experienced great service.

We hope to welcome the happy couple back to our hotel soon.

Thank you for your business.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    141
    89
    34
    18
See reviews for
89
129
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Previous reviews appear to be accurate about the conditions of the rooms. We stayed at this hotel when it was raining and the outside temperature about 3C. The room was very warm but with the ceiling fan and being able to open the window, we were able to be comfortable. It would have been nice to be able to control the inside temperature with a thermostat/air conditioning. The hotel staff was pleasant and this property is very convenient to the shops/restaurants on Banff Avenue. It may be an idea to lower the room rates until the renovations are completed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Susan C,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am very pleased to read that you were comfortable in your room, found our staff pleasant, and our location convenient.

Our rates for the Winter season will be taking effect soon and there will be a noticeable difference from our Summer rates.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

'Superior double room.'
As a priority I base my reviews on 'comfort' as opposed to decor, tasteful curtains, choice of furniture etc etc.
Comfort is one thing that our room in Banf International hotel lacked. Well appointed, all looking nice, no question..but. over warm and stuffy 24 hours a day it certainly was. It was a relief to go out into the corridor where it was degrees cooler.
The room had no A/C to deal with the warm weather, just an inadequate fan to waft the warm air around. Couldnt open a window at night due to coaches and cars parking outside our window.
Despite getting lower rate previously this room was not worth the money, we left after our 3 night stay feeling tired and jaded. Very very disappointing.

Room Tip: In the Summer/Fall find a hotel or room with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear rnrman,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

Please accept our sincerest apologies that you experienced discomfort during your stay with us.

As you mentioned, we do not have A/C in our rooms. We do provide a table fan (located in the closet) and a ceiling fan for our guests to cool them down.

As you traveled with us in September, Banff temperatures often drop below zero at night and into the morning. Because of this, we turn the heating on throughout the hotel. There is a thermostat located in every guest room where the guest is able to control the temperature and turn the heating up, down, or off. Perhaps the thermostat was not adjusted during your stay.

The Banff International Hotel will be undergoing an extensive renovation this coming Winter and we are looking to address the issues you mentioned.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was the first stop on a five day road trip for us to explore. The location is marvelous and allows easy exploration of downtown. The hotel is actually two buildings which have been combined and the floor numbering can be a little confusing, with two elevators not closely linked. Room was quite small for the kingsize bed, but comfortable overall, once we rearranged some furniture. Wifi was free and good during the night and very early morning - otherwise it was almost pathetic. Staff very friendly and accomodating. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Dianeroy1950,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests as it allows us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to serve you better in the future.

We are very proud of our location and glad that all of our guests find it convenient to explore Banff.

As you mentioned, our floor numbering can be confusing. We have floors 1-3 in the original part of the hotel and floors 4-6 in the newer addition. However, this is all about to change. We will be undergoing extensive renovation this coming winter and with that we will be renumbering the rooms to make it easier for our guests to find the location of their room.

Our Wifi will also be replaced with newer technology to better serve our guests.

I am very pleased to read that our staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Thank you very much for your business and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The room whilst being adequate was a little dated. Wi-Fi in the rooms was pathetic and the carpet could do with a good clean and the temperature in our room was difficult to control.
The location is great with many good restaurants near by, however noise from the railway was a bit of a nuisance during the night.
We used the restaurant for breakfast on the day of our departure and the service was slow to say the least which was an aggravation as we were under a time constraint and the food was only average.
Car parking was a dream and free a real bonus compared to other places we have visited in British Columbia and Alberta.
Overall if we returned to the area I think we would use the hotel again.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear MSPChesterfielduk,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

We completely agree with you when you say the hotel is 'a little dated'. Since Brewster Hospitality purchased the property in 2012 we have been planning for an extensive renovation. Our renovation will begin this winter and will happen in stages so that the hotel and facilities are still open for guests. When you return to Banff we hope you will let us know what you think of our renovations. I cannot disclose too much information but I can say that it will be worth seeing!

As you mentioned, we are in an excellent location minutes away from shopping and dining. Unfortunately for hotels in Banff, the train tracks run right through the town. The sound of the train can be heard from almost every residence and hotel.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the slow service during your breakfast. I will inform the manager so that he can constructively use your comments to improve the service in the future.

Thank you very much for your business and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singhampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Slept like babies in very comfortable beds! Clean room.
We were in room 105 very close to hot tub, sauna, steam room and lobby.
Perfect location! Walk to everything from this hotel (starbucks, grocery store etc. under 5min walk).
Free under ground parking and WIFI
Would stay again. Nice helpful staff :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear BrendaB333,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am very pleased to read that you were able to enjoy every aspect of your stay. When Brewster Hospitality purchased the Banff International Hotel in March 2012, we replaced all the mattresses and refrigerators and purchased Ipod docks and flat screen televisions for each room. Additionally, we will be undergoing an extensive renovation this coming winter as we want to maximize the comfort and services for each of our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We came here as an emergency stopover for the night and the room was pretty cheap. The room was a good size with two very comfortable queen beds. The room's decor was very, very outdated but it it beginning to look a bit outdated and could maybe do with some new furniture. The free parking and wifi are an added bonus. We ate in the restaurant inside the hotel (which I think is a chain restaurant) and it was pretty good food. To be honest when you're in Banff it's very unlikely that you are there for a stunning 5 star hotel, you are there to explore the beautiful country and the location of the hotel is also ideal for getting into downtown where the restaurants are and also nearby to many of the walks such as the Bow River Valley Trail and the Tunnel Mountain Trail.

One downside to our overnight stay was that my dad needed to fax some important documents. The people at the desk took his documents and then told him theyd post the copies under our door when they were finished. In the morning there were no such documents under our door and when he enquired at the front desk, the lady told him that they'd lost our documents which was not very useful at all and pretty annoying to be honest. They were confidential documents which they somehow managed to lose and could do nothing about it.

We also stayed in the Banff Aspen Lodge whilst on this trip and to be honest I'd definitely suggest looking at the Aspen Lodge before booking here. The Aspen Lodge includes free parking, breakfast and wifi and has two outdoor hot tubs which is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear ForYourEntertainment,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel. I am very glad you enjoyed your spacious guestroom and our newly-replaced mattresses.

Thank you for mentioning the decor of the hotel. Brewster Hospitality purchased this property in March 2012 and since then we have been planning a full renovation of the property. We will begin our renovations this winter and we are very excited for our guests to see our new look!

As you mentioned we do provide complimentary underground parking which is great for those who want to park and not have to attempt finding parking in downtown Banff. As we are located in the downtown core, we are a short walk to restaurants, shopping, and scenic walks.

Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the incident with your father's documents. While this has not happened before, I would very much like to discuss with you the details of what happened. I have sent you a private message so that we can talk further if you would like to.

Thank you again for your feedback and we appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.