'Superior double room.'
As a priority I base my reviews on 'comfort' as opposed to decor, tasteful curtains, choice of furniture etc etc.
Comfort is one thing that our room in Banf International hotel lacked. Well appointed, all looking nice, no question..but. over warm and stuffy 24 hours a day it certainly was. It was a relief to go out into the corridor where it was degrees cooler.
The room had no A/C to deal with the warm weather, just an inadequate fan to waft the warm air around. Couldnt open a window at night due to coaches and cars parking outside our window.
Despite getting lower rate previously this room was not worth the money, we left after our 3 night stay feeling tired and jaded. Very very disappointing.
In the Summer/Fall find a hotel or room with A/C
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
October 2, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.
Please accept our sincerest apologies that you experienced discomfort during your stay with us.
As you mentioned, we do not have A/C in our rooms. We do provide a table fan (located in the closet) and a ceiling fan for our guests to cool them down.
As you traveled with us in September, Banff temperatures often drop below zero at night and into the morning. Because of this, we turn the heating on throughout the hotel. There is a thermostat located in every guest room where the guest is able to control the temperature and turn the heating up, down, or off. Perhaps the thermostat was not adjusted during your stay.
The Banff International Hotel will be undergoing an extensive renovation this coming Winter and we are looking to address the issues you mentioned.
Thank you again for your review.
Hotel Sales Coordinator
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.