We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant couple of days in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Vernon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant couple of days in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was the first stop on a five day road trip for us to explore. The location is marvelous and allows easy exploration of downtown. The hotel is actually two buildings which have been combined and the floor numbering can be a little confusing, with two elevators not closely linked. Room was quite small for the kingsize bed, but comfortable overall, once we rearranged some furniture. Wifi was free and good during the night and very early morning - otherwise it was almost pathetic. Staff very friendly and accomodating. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Dianeroy1950,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests as it allows us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to serve you better in the future.

We are very proud of our location and glad that all of our guests find it convenient to explore Banff.

As you mentioned, our floor numbering can be confusing. We have floors 1-3 in the original part of the hotel and floors 4-6 in the newer addition. However, this is all about to change. We will be undergoing extensive renovation this coming winter and with that we will be renumbering the rooms to make it easier for our guests to find the location of their room.

Our Wifi will also be replaced with newer technology to better serve our guests.

I am very pleased to read that our staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Thank you very much for your business and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    156
    101
    39
    21
See reviews for
97
145
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The room whilst being adequate was a little dated. Wi-Fi in the rooms was pathetic and the carpet could do with a good clean and the temperature in our room was difficult to control.
The location is great with many good restaurants near by, however noise from the railway was a bit of a nuisance during the night.
We used the restaurant for breakfast on the day of our departure and the service was slow to say the least which was an aggravation as we were under a time constraint and the food was only average.
Car parking was a dream and free a real bonus compared to other places we have visited in British Columbia and Alberta.
Overall if we returned to the area I think we would use the hotel again.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear MSPChesterfielduk,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

We completely agree with you when you say the hotel is 'a little dated'. Since Brewster Hospitality purchased the property in 2012 we have been planning for an extensive renovation. Our renovation will begin this winter and will happen in stages so that the hotel and facilities are still open for guests. When you return to Banff we hope you will let us know what you think of our renovations. I cannot disclose too much information but I can say that it will be worth seeing!

As you mentioned, we are in an excellent location minutes away from shopping and dining. Unfortunately for hotels in Banff, the train tracks run right through the town. The sound of the train can be heard from almost every residence and hotel.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the slow service during your breakfast. I will inform the manager so that he can constructively use your comments to improve the service in the future.

Thank you very much for your business and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singhampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Slept like babies in very comfortable beds! Clean room.
We were in room 105 very close to hot tub, sauna, steam room and lobby.
Perfect location! Walk to everything from this hotel (starbucks, grocery store etc. under 5min walk).
Free under ground parking and WIFI
Would stay again. Nice helpful staff :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear BrendaB333,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

I am very pleased to read that you were able to enjoy every aspect of your stay. When Brewster Hospitality purchased the Banff International Hotel in March 2012, we replaced all the mattresses and refrigerators and purchased Ipod docks and flat screen televisions for each room. Additionally, we will be undergoing an extensive renovation this coming winter as we want to maximize the comfort and services for each of our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We came here as an emergency stopover for the night and the room was pretty cheap. The room was a good size with two very comfortable queen beds. The room's decor was very, very outdated but it it beginning to look a bit outdated and could maybe do with some new furniture. The free parking and wifi are an added bonus. We ate in the restaurant inside the hotel (which I think is a chain restaurant) and it was pretty good food. To be honest when you're in Banff it's very unlikely that you are there for a stunning 5 star hotel, you are there to explore the beautiful country and the location of the hotel is also ideal for getting into downtown where the restaurants are and also nearby to many of the walks such as the Bow River Valley Trail and the Tunnel Mountain Trail.

One downside to our overnight stay was that my dad needed to fax some important documents. The people at the desk took his documents and then told him theyd post the copies under our door when they were finished. In the morning there were no such documents under our door and when he enquired at the front desk, the lady told him that they'd lost our documents which was not very useful at all and pretty annoying to be honest. They were confidential documents which they somehow managed to lose and could do nothing about it.

We also stayed in the Banff Aspen Lodge whilst on this trip and to be honest I'd definitely suggest looking at the Aspen Lodge before booking here. The Aspen Lodge includes free parking, breakfast and wifi and has two outdoor hot tubs which is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear ForYourEntertainment,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel. I am very glad you enjoyed your spacious guestroom and our newly-replaced mattresses.

Thank you for mentioning the decor of the hotel. Brewster Hospitality purchased this property in March 2012 and since then we have been planning a full renovation of the property. We will begin our renovations this winter and we are very excited for our guests to see our new look!

As you mentioned we do provide complimentary underground parking which is great for those who want to park and not have to attempt finding parking in downtown Banff. As we are located in the downtown core, we are a short walk to restaurants, shopping, and scenic walks.

Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the incident with your father's documents. While this has not happened before, I would very much like to discuss with you the details of what happened. I have sent you a private message so that we can talk further if you would like to.

Thank you again for your feedback and we appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deary, Id
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed one night here but were very pleased with the hotel and staff. Rooms are slightly dated, but were comfortable. Convenient for shopping downtown. There was a mixup with our room, but the staff handled it quickly and professionally. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Edward F,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel. It is such a pleasure to read that our guests thoroughly enjoyed their time with us.

We are glad our staff were able to sort out the room mix up in a timely and professional fashion. Brewster Hospitality prides itself on providing exceptional service to all of our guests.

We are in complete agreement with you that our rooms are slightly dated. As we want to provide our guests with a modern and comfortable property we will be undergoing extensive renovations this winter.

We would love to welcome you and your party back to the Banff International Hotel to show you our transformation.

Thank you for your business and for taking the time to write a review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

First of all the location of this hotel is great. You are right downtown, which made it convenient for shopping, restaurants, etc. Also, liked the underground garage which made us feel comfortable about our car being secure. The rooms are spacious enough for 2 people. The rooms have no AC, but they do have great ceiling fans which made the temperature very comfortable. Our room faced the back of the hotel so we had some noise from the street, also the train, etc. Rooms could use some updating, bathrooms need a fan and also a microwave in the room would be nice. We wanted popcorn one night and had to have the front desk staff pop it for us, which was very inconvenient. Overall, I would definately stay here again and also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Cindy F,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel. We greatly appreciate the time you took to review our hotel as it helps us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to other areas.

One of the great things about the Banff International is our many room type options. The room that you and your party stayed in was perfect for a couple. We also have loft rooms that feature a pillow top double bed and 2 plush pillow top queen beds in the loft. Additionally, our premium deluxe rooms feature 1 king or 2 queens in a very spacious room with beautiful mountain views. There is something for every group.

As you mentioned, our rooms are not equipped with A/C, but do come with a ceiling fan as well as a table fan located in the closet. As Banff is generally only hot for a couple weeks out of the year, most hotels do not have A/C. We also provide heavy blackout blinds to help keep the sun out of the room. As we do not experience much humidity here, this really helps to create a cooler environment.

The train tracks run right beside the main street in Banff. Unfortunately the noise of the passing trains is unavoidable for most residents and visitors of Banff. As for the sound of passer-bys, please feel free to make a request on your reservation for a quiet room. We will do our best to find you a room where you will be least disturbed.

We are very excited to tell you that we will be undergoing an extensive renovation beginning this winter. We would love to welcome you back to show you what improvements Brewster Hospitality has made.

Thank you for your loyalty and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have to admit that the location of this hotel is privileged. Other than that, the cost x benefit of staying at this hotel is not the best.

The room need to be renovated, the complimentary wifi only worked close to the room front door, and the carpet in front of the bathroom always got wet every time someone took a shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Artur R,

Thank you for your review of the Banff International Hotel.

Please accept our apologies that we did not live up to your expectations. Brewster Hospitality purchased the Banff International Hotel in March 2012 and since then we have been developing the plans for an extensive renovation. We are going forward with the renovation this winter and hope you will stay with us again when it is complete to see the incredible changes we will be making.

Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.