We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for downtown shopping.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 33 hotels in Banff
Deary, Id
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location for downtown shopping.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed one night here but were very pleased with the hotel and staff. Rooms are slightly dated, but were comfortable. Convenient for shopping downtown. There was a mixup with our room, but the staff handled it quickly and professionally. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Edward F,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel. It is such a pleasure to read that our guests thoroughly enjoyed their time with us.

We are glad our staff were able to sort out the room mix up in a timely and professional fashion. Brewster Hospitality prides itself on providing exceptional service to all of our guests.

We are in complete agreement with you that our rooms are slightly dated. As we want to provide our guests with a modern and comfortable property we will be undergoing extensive renovations this winter.

We would love to welcome you and your party back to the Banff International Hotel to show you our transformation.

Thank you for your business and for taking the time to write a review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    127
    81
    30
    15
See reviews for
84
115
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

First of all the location of this hotel is great. You are right downtown, which made it convenient for shopping, restaurants, etc. Also, liked the underground garage which made us feel comfortable about our car being secure. The rooms are spacious enough for 2 people. The rooms have no AC, but they do have great ceiling fans which made the temperature very comfortable. Our room faced the back of the hotel so we had some noise from the street, also the train, etc. Rooms could use some updating, bathrooms need a fan and also a microwave in the room would be nice. We wanted popcorn one night and had to have the front desk staff pop it for us, which was very inconvenient. Overall, I would definately stay here again and also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Cindy F,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel. We greatly appreciate the time you took to review our hotel as it helps us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to other areas.

One of the great things about the Banff International is our many room type options. The room that you and your party stayed in was perfect for a couple. We also have loft rooms that feature a pillow top double bed and 2 plush pillow top queen beds in the loft. Additionally, our premium deluxe rooms feature 1 king or 2 queens in a very spacious room with beautiful mountain views. There is something for every group.

As you mentioned, our rooms are not equipped with A/C, but do come with a ceiling fan as well as a table fan located in the closet. As Banff is generally only hot for a couple weeks out of the year, most hotels do not have A/C. We also provide heavy blackout blinds to help keep the sun out of the room. As we do not experience much humidity here, this really helps to create a cooler environment.

The train tracks run right beside the main street in Banff. Unfortunately the noise of the passing trains is unavoidable for most residents and visitors of Banff. As for the sound of passer-bys, please feel free to make a request on your reservation for a quiet room. We will do our best to find you a room where you will be least disturbed.

We are very excited to tell you that we will be undergoing an extensive renovation beginning this winter. We would love to welcome you back to show you what improvements Brewster Hospitality has made.

Thank you for your loyalty and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, Brazil
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have to admit that the location of this hotel is privileged. Other than that, the cost x benefit of staying at this hotel is not the best.

The room need to be renovated, the complimentary wifi only worked close to the room front door, and the carpet in front of the bathroom always got wet every time someone took a shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Artur R,

Thank you for your review of the Banff International Hotel.

Please accept our apologies that we did not live up to your expectations. Brewster Hospitality purchased the Banff International Hotel in March 2012 and since then we have been developing the plans for an extensive renovation. We are going forward with the renovation this winter and hope you will stay with us again when it is complete to see the incredible changes we will be making.

Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We had superior room two beds a fridge siting area , TV good size bath room close to downtown banff ,right across from hotel was Safeway grocery store. heaps of gift shops was a really location and Ricky restaurant inside hotel had good food at good prices not to expensive burger, fries cokes yummy dessert. All round great hotel in downtown banff:) loved our stay there didn't want to leave

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear sonnymustravel,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are so pleased to be the hotel that you enjoyed the most while on your tour.

As we are located in downtown Banff, we are minutes away from shopping, dining, and walking trails.

Should you find yourself back in Banff we would love to host you again.

Thank you for your feedback,

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston VA
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place has a beautiful lobby and is extremely well located (walking distance to what seems like hundreds of shops, etc, including Hudson's Bay and Roots.) The rooms are large and clean (bathroom is slightly dated). There is no air conditioning, but a ceiling fan kept the room cool. The biggest drawback may be that it is on Expedia's list for large tour groups. We did not find this to be a problem but some people do. It is not inexpensive, but it is a good price for Banff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear VAtraveller_11,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel conveniently located. As we are a minute's walk from restaurants, shopping, and a grocery store, it is great for those without a car. Our underground parking is complimentary as well meaning guest's with vehicles can park and not have to worry about finding parking in downtown Banff.

Our bathrooms are slightly dated but they will not remain that way for long. The Banff International Hotel will be undergoing extensive renovation this winter and all of our guestrooms will be completely renovated!

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights. The hotel is centrally located, but out enough to offer stunning views of the mountains. Covered parking is free.
The front desk person was efficient and friendly.
The two-queen-beds room was simply furnished, but spacious and clean (although carpet was little dirty) with fridge (very noisy...), coffee maker, microwave, free wi-fi (almost impossible to use: too weak for so many guests), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, nice size TV. There was no a/c -it was only in the hallway!- anyway the temperature of the room was fine. The beds were comfortable.
For the price I would pretend more accuracy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Rotemapi,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback so that we can celebrate our successes and make improvements in other areas.

We are pleased you enjoyed our convenient downtown location and the beautiful views of the mountains.

Thank you for your comments regarding your guestroom. The Banff International Hotel will be undergoing extensive renovations this winter that will modernize our hotel.

We hope to be able to welcome you back after the renovations to show you the improvements we have made!

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice friendly staff, quaint lounge and breakfast area and a great location in town. We asked to have our room changed upon check in as they assigned one right next to the lobby/entry/elevator that was VERY small, no closet and barely big enough for two people. Although it was a King room, they re-assigned us to a (2) double bed room. The room size was twice as large as the first one. Although the bedspreads/sheets have been upgraded, the carpet and bathrooms need a lot of attention. Our bathroom light did not always work and the florescent light bulb reading light fixtures above the beds were very dated and bright. Overall an OK stay. The location is GREAT and we used the outdoor bar both days. Very nice to have an afternoon drink outside. Short walk to all the restaurants/shops. Rented a bike for two days from a shop down the street and got to explore Banff in a whole new way. This property does NOT have a/c but do have both ceiling fans and floor fans in the room. If you happen to stay when Banff is having a hot spell you will be uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Check the weather BEFORE you go. If it will be warm/hot in the area - stay in a hotel that offers a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Dona1d,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our friendly staff, lounge, breakfast area, and location. We do apologize that the first room you were assigned did not live up to your expectations but we are glad our staff were able to relocate you to a room you were happy with.

As you mentioned, the bedding has been upgraded, along with the flat screen televisions, refrigerators, and Ipod docking stations. When Brewster Hospitality purchased this property in March 2012, our goal was to renovate and modernize it. I am happy to report that we will be undergoing extensive renovations this winter.

We hope to be able to welcome you back should you return to Banff.
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.