We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed at while on our tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 33 hotels in Banff
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best place we stayed at while on our tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We had superior room two beds a fridge siting area , TV good size bath room close to downtown banff ,right across from hotel was Safeway grocery store. heaps of gift shops was a really location and Ricky restaurant inside hotel had good food at good prices not to expensive burger, fries cokes yummy dessert. All round great hotel in downtown banff:) loved our stay there didn't want to leave

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear sonnymustravel,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are so pleased to be the hotel that you enjoyed the most while on your tour.

As we are located in downtown Banff, we are minutes away from shopping, dining, and walking trails.

Should you find yourself back in Banff we would love to host you again.

Thank you for your feedback,

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    127
    81
    30
    15
See reviews for
84
115
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston VA
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place has a beautiful lobby and is extremely well located (walking distance to what seems like hundreds of shops, etc, including Hudson's Bay and Roots.) The rooms are large and clean (bathroom is slightly dated). There is no air conditioning, but a ceiling fan kept the room cool. The biggest drawback may be that it is on Expedia's list for large tour groups. We did not find this to be a problem but some people do. It is not inexpensive, but it is a good price for Banff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear VAtraveller_11,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel conveniently located. As we are a minute's walk from restaurants, shopping, and a grocery store, it is great for those without a car. Our underground parking is complimentary as well meaning guest's with vehicles can park and not have to worry about finding parking in downtown Banff.

Our bathrooms are slightly dated but they will not remain that way for long. The Banff International Hotel will be undergoing extensive renovation this winter and all of our guestrooms will be completely renovated!

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights. The hotel is centrally located, but out enough to offer stunning views of the mountains. Covered parking is free.
The front desk person was efficient and friendly.
The two-queen-beds room was simply furnished, but spacious and clean (although carpet was little dirty) with fridge (very noisy...), coffee maker, microwave, free wi-fi (almost impossible to use: too weak for so many guests), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, nice size TV. There was no a/c -it was only in the hallway!- anyway the temperature of the room was fine. The beds were comfortable.
For the price I would pretend more accuracy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Rotemapi,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback so that we can celebrate our successes and make improvements in other areas.

We are pleased you enjoyed our convenient downtown location and the beautiful views of the mountains.

Thank you for your comments regarding your guestroom. The Banff International Hotel will be undergoing extensive renovations this winter that will modernize our hotel.

We hope to be able to welcome you back after the renovations to show you the improvements we have made!

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice friendly staff, quaint lounge and breakfast area and a great location in town. We asked to have our room changed upon check in as they assigned one right next to the lobby/entry/elevator that was VERY small, no closet and barely big enough for two people. Although it was a King room, they re-assigned us to a (2) double bed room. The room size was twice as large as the first one. Although the bedspreads/sheets have been upgraded, the carpet and bathrooms need a lot of attention. Our bathroom light did not always work and the florescent light bulb reading light fixtures above the beds were very dated and bright. Overall an OK stay. The location is GREAT and we used the outdoor bar both days. Very nice to have an afternoon drink outside. Short walk to all the restaurants/shops. Rented a bike for two days from a shop down the street and got to explore Banff in a whole new way. This property does NOT have a/c but do have both ceiling fans and floor fans in the room. If you happen to stay when Banff is having a hot spell you will be uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Check the weather BEFORE you go. If it will be warm/hot in the area - stay in a hotel that offers a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Dona1d,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our friendly staff, lounge, breakfast area, and location. We do apologize that the first room you were assigned did not live up to your expectations but we are glad our staff were able to relocate you to a room you were happy with.

As you mentioned, the bedding has been upgraded, along with the flat screen televisions, refrigerators, and Ipod docking stations. When Brewster Hospitality purchased this property in March 2012, our goal was to renovate and modernize it. I am happy to report that we will be undergoing extensive renovations this winter.

We hope to be able to welcome you back should you return to Banff.
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale AZ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our room was a good size and the hotel is well located in the center of town among all the other hotels. Our main problem with the hotel was the internet connection. We were there three days and found that it was nearly impossible to get on-line during the day/evening when others were trying. They appear to have one router for the entire building and busloads of tourists with devices to get on-line. When I mentioned it at the front desk, they said it was a "complimentary service", so I guess that means it doesn't have to work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Rochet,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Banff International Hotel. We appreciate when our guests take the time to give us feedback so that we can celebrate our success and make improvements in other areas.

We are very happy that you were able to enjoy your spacious room and the downtown location of our hotel. We will be undergoing extensive renovations this coming winter that will modernize the interior of the hotel.

Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the wifi connection. It is something our staff are working on improving. We do provide cable connections to high speed internet in our lobby in case the wifi is slow in your guest room.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stay at this hotel in aug 27 for two night, price is best for loft with three beds, my both adult kids sleep comfortably on bed, no a/c in the room just fan, bed was okay, carpet was little dirty, it worth of Money, we enjoy are two night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear ranchland,

Thank you for your review of the Banff International Hotel. We greatly appreciate receiving feedback from our guests.

As you mentioned, our loft rooms are great for guest with 3 or more adults as they feature two double beds downstairs and 1 queen bed in the loft.

You be glad to hear that we are about to undergo an extensive renovation that will modernize all of our guest rooms.

We hope to host you and your family again when the renovation is completed so that you can see the incredible changes we have made!

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a tour. The room had no air conditioning and it was incredibly hot inside, despite the weather outside being cool. The room only had one opening window meaning the air would not circulate. Our room looked out onto a flat roof and it was pretty grim to be honest. Bizarrely the hallways in leading to the rooms had air conditioning and were freezing.
When we arrived into our room, they had forgotten to refill the tea and coffee - I'd not normally mention something like this, but arriving late into a hotel and leaving at 7.00 am in the morning meant that we left without having a drink - so it's simply poor service really.

Overall, I would not waste your money on this place and suggest you go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Darwin1905,

Thank you for choosing the Banff International Hotel for your recent visit. Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate the time you took to write a review.

Please accept our sincerest apologies that we forgot to refill the beverages in your room. We have a front desk agent at the desk 24/7 and they are more than happy to provide you with the coffee and tea that was mistakenly not replenished.

I hope you had a great vacation and, once again, am very sorry that our service did not meet your expectations. I will be sure to report your complaint to the housekeeping manager.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.