We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but they need to improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great location, but they need to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights. The hotel is centrally located, but out enough to offer stunning views of the mountains. Covered parking is free.
The front desk person was efficient and friendly.
The two-queen-beds room was simply furnished, but spacious and clean (although carpet was little dirty) with fridge (very noisy...), coffee maker, microwave, free wi-fi (almost impossible to use: too weak for so many guests), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, nice size TV. There was no a/c -it was only in the hallway!- anyway the temperature of the room was fine. The beds were comfortable.
For the price I would pretend more accuracy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Rotemapi,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback so that we can celebrate our successes and make improvements in other areas.

We are pleased you enjoyed our convenient downtown location and the beautiful views of the mountains.

Thank you for your comments regarding your guestroom. The Banff International Hotel will be undergoing extensive renovations this winter that will modernize our hotel.

We hope to be able to welcome you back after the renovations to show you the improvements we have made!

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    174
    115
    40
    21
See reviews for
105
160
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaffney, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice friendly staff, quaint lounge and breakfast area and a great location in town. We asked to have our room changed upon check in as they assigned one right next to the lobby/entry/elevator that was VERY small, no closet and barely big enough for two people. Although it was a King room, they re-assigned us to a (2) double bed room. The room size was twice as large as the first one. Although the bedspreads/sheets have been upgraded, the carpet and bathrooms need a lot of attention. Our bathroom light did not always work and the florescent light bulb reading light fixtures above the beds were very dated and bright. Overall an OK stay. The location is GREAT and we used the outdoor bar both days. Very nice to have an afternoon drink outside. Short walk to all the restaurants/shops. Rented a bike for two days from a shop down the street and got to explore Banff in a whole new way. This property does NOT have a/c but do have both ceiling fans and floor fans in the room. If you happen to stay when Banff is having a hot spell you will be uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Check the weather BEFORE you go. If it will be warm/hot in the area - stay in a hotel that offers a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Dona1d,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our friendly staff, lounge, breakfast area, and location. We do apologize that the first room you were assigned did not live up to your expectations but we are glad our staff were able to relocate you to a room you were happy with.

As you mentioned, the bedding has been upgraded, along with the flat screen televisions, refrigerators, and Ipod docking stations. When Brewster Hospitality purchased this property in March 2012, our goal was to renovate and modernize it. I am happy to report that we will be undergoing extensive renovations this winter.

We hope to be able to welcome you back should you return to Banff.
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale AZ
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our room was a good size and the hotel is well located in the center of town among all the other hotels. Our main problem with the hotel was the internet connection. We were there three days and found that it was nearly impossible to get on-line during the day/evening when others were trying. They appear to have one router for the entire building and busloads of tourists with devices to get on-line. When I mentioned it at the front desk, they said it was a "complimentary service", so I guess that means it doesn't have to work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Rochet,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Banff International Hotel. We appreciate when our guests take the time to give us feedback so that we can celebrate our success and make improvements in other areas.

We are very happy that you were able to enjoy your spacious room and the downtown location of our hotel. We will be undergoing extensive renovations this coming winter that will modernize the interior of the hotel.

Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the wifi connection. It is something our staff are working on improving. We do provide cable connections to high speed internet in our lobby in case the wifi is slow in your guest room.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stay at this hotel in aug 27 for two night, price is best for loft with three beds, my both adult kids sleep comfortably on bed, no a/c in the room just fan, bed was okay, carpet was little dirty, it worth of Money, we enjoy are two night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear ranchland,

Thank you for your review of the Banff International Hotel. We greatly appreciate receiving feedback from our guests.

As you mentioned, our loft rooms are great for guest with 3 or more adults as they feature two double beds downstairs and 1 queen bed in the loft.

You be glad to hear that we are about to undergo an extensive renovation that will modernize all of our guest rooms.

We hope to host you and your family again when the renovation is completed so that you can see the incredible changes we have made!

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a tour. The room had no air conditioning and it was incredibly hot inside, despite the weather outside being cool. The room only had one opening window meaning the air would not circulate. Our room looked out onto a flat roof and it was pretty grim to be honest. Bizarrely the hallways in leading to the rooms had air conditioning and were freezing.
When we arrived into our room, they had forgotten to refill the tea and coffee - I'd not normally mention something like this, but arriving late into a hotel and leaving at 7.00 am in the morning meant that we left without having a drink - so it's simply poor service really.

Overall, I would not waste your money on this place and suggest you go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Darwin1905,

Thank you for choosing the Banff International Hotel for your recent visit. Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate the time you took to write a review.

Please accept our sincerest apologies that we forgot to refill the beverages in your room. We have a front desk agent at the desk 24/7 and they are more than happy to provide you with the coffee and tea that was mistakenly not replenished.

I hope you had a great vacation and, once again, am very sorry that our service did not meet your expectations. I will be sure to report your complaint to the housekeeping manager.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Negatives
- smell in hallway (like body odor)
- smell in room (stale)
- outdated decor, could use an update
- double beds, not queens as advertised and they couldn't accommodate our King bed request
- no AC
- ceiling fan has one speed
- extra table fan works, but oscillating mechanism was broken
- beds were relatively comfortable, but too hard by my standards
- view of the Safeway parking lot from our room, noisy delivery trucks
- train was super loud at night
- busker on the corner with his drums was loud at night - would've closed the window but fresh air is nice in a stale room
- very difficult to change to the shower setting, husband had to really pull hard to switch from spout to shower head (the whole spout/head could use replacing and water had low pressure)
- not really a couple friendly hotel

Positives
- recommended for families with kids
- great location
- clean room
- offered a living social deal
- staff are polite
- had hot springs vouchers with the deal we purchased and a staff member delivered them to our room

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Monka29,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel.

We appreciate your comments and suggestions and are pleased to inform you that the hotel will soon be undergoing extensive renovation. Since purchasing the Banff International Hotel in March 2012, one of our primary goals has been listening to our guests and creating a plan to increase the overall comfort of our guests. While the plans are still being finalized, I can tell you that it is going to an incredible renovation!

Please accept our apologies in respects to the train. Unfortunately the Banff town site was built right beside the train tracks and trains can be heard from almost every hotel in Banff.

For a better view, opt for our Premium rooms or Loft Suites.

We are very pleased to hear that our staff members provided you with good service.

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you back once we have renovated!

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel is clean, comfortable beds. Service in Restaurant a bit slow but we managed to check in early which was a bonus. Located at end of the Main Street in Banff. Acces to lots of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Helenekiernan,

Thank you for choosing Banff International Hotel for your recent visit. Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate the time you took to write a review. We are happy to read that you found the beds comfortable, enjoyed our convenient downtown location, and received an early check-in.

Brewster Hospitality strives to exceed our guests expectations by providing the right services and guest experiences to make each and every stay relaxing, enjoyable and filled with great memories.

We truly appreciate knowing that our guests have been well served so we can celebrate our success and work towards even better service in the future. We apologize for the wait at Ricky's, our on site restaurant. Should you return to Banff we would love to host you again and show you our improvements.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.