We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Rosetown, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

this hotel is as close as you can get without being downtown.There is no aircond in this hotel but you don't need it overhead fan keeps it cool.we have stayed at this property many times it doesn't have a pool but we don't need one as we go to the upper springs.Rooms are always clean and staff always helpful .N o need to look any further if your just there to relax and stroll around Banff we go to Banff about 6 times a year and have stayed at almost every hotel but usually stay here if room .

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Golferfarmer:

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience staying at the Banff International Hotel. We are pleased to read that you are so content with the facilities and services that we provide that you have stayed with us a number of times and will continue to do so. We very much value your loyalty and look forward to your return.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    174
    115
    40
    21
See reviews for
105
160
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had room 508 for two nights. It overlooks a busy street and out onto a supermarket car park. We quickly found that there was no air-conditioning and the window was jammed open. The noise of traffic and buskers on the busy corner was disturbing, but a call to reception resulted in a quick and full repair to the window which we could now open and close properly.

But then a dripping bath tap had to be silenced - no quick repair there, so a cloth on the bath to catch and silence the drips. No fix during the two days we were there.

Then to the internet. Wi fi was initially OK but soon became, and remained very poor, so much so that even emails became a major challenge. When you first log on there are all sorts of dire warnings about how they are going to restrict your access and speed if you over use the system. It never occurred to me that four or five emails would be regarded as over use. Anyway, the end result was no useable email/web.

Wall socket broken in two, kettle wouldn't work, replacement kettle would not turn itself off, hair dryer difficult to use ...... I could go on with minor niggles, but I'm sure you get the point.

Throughout, the staff were good, friendly and helpful, but only the window was fixed during our stay. The room was OK, but at the price we expect rather more of the facilities.

Perhaps we were unlucky with that room, but ten or eleven minor problems left us quite disappointed.

Bottom line? For us this place was over priced, not recommended in a town where there is plenty of alternative choice.

Room Tip: The floor number - we were on 5, does not indicate how far you are above ground level and therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Avery-Little:

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel! We are glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that our maintenance team were able to repair your window without delay when notified. Please accept our apologies for your other room issues. The dripping tap has been entered into the maintenance log and someone will attend to it promptly. We are also sorry about the wifi being unreliable in your room. We have found that the connection always seems to be better in the lobby area of the hotel. Please know that our front desk staff would have been more than happy to move to you a different room had they been aware of your ongoing dissatisfaction with elements of your visit.

Our top priority is to ensure that our guests have a happy, memorable stay and unfortunately it appears that, in your case, we missed the mark. We appreciate you taking the opportunity to share your experience and will use your insight to better our standards of service in future.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

It was on an awesome location that was an easy stroll unto the main streets of this little town. Plenty of food, shops, bars- and artist around to keep one entertained.

The hotel itself is like a country lodge with a Ricky's resto and gift shop located at the entrance lobby. Though it is only 3 floors the room itself is spacious with an upper floor with more bedspace in our case. The interiors are quite old fashioned and the elevators are small.

The receptionist forgot to ring our room for our wake up call so it was a bother. Other than that everything was ok. American styled breakfast buffet too! Fyi

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Lorbananacake:

Thank you for your review of the Banff International Hotel. We are glad that you liked our fantastic location, just steps away from all the action and that you enjoyed your spacious room. You will be interested to know that the hotel is due to undergo major renovations in the near future with a view to modernize the current facility. Please accept our apologies for missing your scheduled wakeup call also. Be assured that your experience is not common with our service standards and this is not something that happens regularly. The Front Office Manager is aware of the event and it is being addressed accordingly.

We appreciate you sharing your insight and look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 on a 25th Anniversary trip.

Checking in was very straightforward and carried out by a friendly, helpful young lady. We had a Superior Room towards the back of the hotel. I had been slightly worried about the reviews on here about the rooms being tired and dated but I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. The room itself was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was fine as far as size and usability. We had a problem with the bath not draining and after a call to reception a man was quickly dispatched to sort it out. A company shouldn't be judged on problems cropping up but on how they dealt with it and I have to say hats off to the maintenance staff who got it sorted for us without us having to re-pack and change rooms.

We were in Banff when the temperatures hit the mid 30's and the lack of air conditioning wasn't a major issue. Our bedroom curtains had been left shut during the day and the ceiling fan and desk fan did the job at cooling the room down for us. I was told that most hotels in Banff don't have air con due to not requiring it for most of the year, I knew about the lack of air con before we arrived so the lack of it was no surprise if you have done your homework.

A mini fridge would have been nice but it wasn't a major issue to us. The wifi is ok for viewing things like facebook/twitter although it is very slow but forget trying to upload any pictures for the folks back home. It is much better down in Ricki's bar or you can buy 15 minutes of high speed internet for a few dollars down in reception.

We ate in Ricki's for breakfast one day and had an evening meal there. The waiting staff were all great as was the food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Sue D:

Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad that your check in experience was straightforward and seamless and that you were satisfied with your room allocation. I will pass on your compliments to the maintenance staff for their quick, efficient service in fixing your non-draining bath tub. It is also pleasing to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner dining at Ricky’s Restaurant. Our number one priority is guest satisfaction and a huge part of that is how our employees interact with our guests. It is absolutely fantastic to read your kind words about our staff members across various different departments and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the department managers.

We very much appreciate you sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and we look forward to hosting you again on your next trip Banff.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I spent the last few days of our vacation in Canada at the Banff International. We got a room on the first floor, and the receptionist seemed pleasant. My few complaints about the Banff International would be that the bathroom was very small (clean, however) and that there was no air conditioning, only a fan attached to the ceiling. Also, the parking lot, which was underground, had a special access code, so someone had to get out of the car and type it in every time we wanted to enter the garage. Inconvenient, but safe. It was overall a pleasant stay-- I would stay here again if I visited Banff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and that if you ever visited Banff again, that you would stay with us again. Our hotel is scheduled to undergo renovations later this year, so next time you come you will be able to experience a revamped version of the current offering. You are exactly right in your comment about the parking lot having an access code to ensure security and safety for our guests. In a town like Banff where parking is very limited, if we didn’t have a security code, the lot would be full with the general public and there might not be space for our guests.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Luke warm reception. Rooms were very dated and needed updating. No fridge, appalling wifi (could not connect), only 1 teabag and sugar provided in room per person, no air conditioning.

Breakfast options very limited, no buffet available and only really cooked food options. "Large bowl of fruit" entailed 2 segments of orange, 2 cubes of melon and a blackberry!!

Would absolutely not recommend to anyone. Stay any where else in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Fuzzy_pig:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel. Please accept our apologies for your less than ideal experience. Our front desk staff are available to assist you should any element of your stay be less than satisfactory, whether it be your room allocation, wifi connection or in room coffee/tea facility. Unfortunately we do not offer a complimentary breakfast buffet for guests, however, Ricky’s Restaurant has an extensive breakfast menu and should you not be happy with any of their choices, there are numerous other options around town.

You might be interested to know that the hotel is due to undergo major renovations in the near future and all of the rooms will be updated at that time.

We appreciate your insight and thank you again.

Sincerely,
Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedale
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Reading a lot of the other reviews we must have stayed at a different hotel. Overall the hotel is good, our room was lovely, yes it didn't have a fridge which would have been nice but that's not the end of the world. The staff we met were friendly and helpful and the hot tub was lovely after a day canoeing and trail riding. We had breakfast the last morning and felt it was good value. The location is excellent as are the car parking facilities. The only downside was there was a noisy group in the second night who should have been sorted out, as you have to sign a form when you check in to say you will keep the noise down, good idea as long as the night staff monitor it. We are hoping to go back to Banff next year and will certainly consider this hotel in future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Jeff F:

Thank you for the positive review of your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad that you liked your lovely room, found our staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed the hot tub. It is also pleasing to read that you found the breakfast to be good value and that you appreciated our excellent location with onsite underground parking. Our main priority is guest satisfaction and it is great to read that, in your case, we succeeded in reaching this goal.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Banff and thank you again for sharing your insight.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.