We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced for what is provided” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 33 hotels in Banff
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over priced for what is provided”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Luke warm reception. Rooms were very dated and needed updating. No fridge, appalling wifi (could not connect), only 1 teabag and sugar provided in room per person, no air conditioning.

Breakfast options very limited, no buffet available and only really cooked food options. "Large bowl of fruit" entailed 2 segments of orange, 2 cubes of melon and a blackberry!!

Would absolutely not recommend to anyone. Stay any where else in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Fuzzy_pig:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel. Please accept our apologies for your less than ideal experience. Our front desk staff are available to assist you should any element of your stay be less than satisfactory, whether it be your room allocation, wifi connection or in room coffee/tea facility. Unfortunately we do not offer a complimentary breakfast buffet for guests, however, Ricky’s Restaurant has an extensive breakfast menu and should you not be happy with any of their choices, there are numerous other options around town.

You might be interested to know that the hotel is due to undergo major renovations in the near future and all of the rooms will be updated at that time.

We appreciate your insight and thank you again.

Sincerely,
Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    145
    94
    39
    20
See reviews for
94
134
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bedale
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Reading a lot of the other reviews we must have stayed at a different hotel. Overall the hotel is good, our room was lovely, yes it didn't have a fridge which would have been nice but that's not the end of the world. The staff we met were friendly and helpful and the hot tub was lovely after a day canoeing and trail riding. We had breakfast the last morning and felt it was good value. The location is excellent as are the car parking facilities. The only downside was there was a noisy group in the second night who should have been sorted out, as you have to sign a form when you check in to say you will keep the noise down, good idea as long as the night staff monitor it. We are hoping to go back to Banff next year and will certainly consider this hotel in future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Jeff F:

Thank you for the positive review of your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad that you liked your lovely room, found our staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed the hot tub. It is also pleasing to read that you found the breakfast to be good value and that you appreciated our excellent location with onsite underground parking. Our main priority is guest satisfaction and it is great to read that, in your case, we succeeded in reaching this goal.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Banff and thank you again for sharing your insight.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Banff was the last destination in our coach tour of the Rockies and we spent two nights here. The hotel is well located near the centre of Banff. Our room and bed were comfortable although the bathroom was rather small and tired and we had no view whatsoever. Service in Ricky's restaurant was good and food was tasty but not really hot enough for us. OK hotel for exploring Banff and the area but better is available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear VAR1948:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad that you found our hotel well located, both room and bed comfortable and that enjoyed your dining experience at Ricky’s Restaurant. The hotel is scheduled to undergo major renovations in the coming months with a view to better provide the modern luxuries that our guests desire. We hope that you will come back and see for yourself if you return to Banff at some stage in the future.

We appreciate your comments and thank you again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel has a great location and that's about the only positive.
The bar closes at 10.00 pm because it belongs to the restaurant franchise which also closes at 10.00 pm.
Our room had "cleaners" daily but all they did was make the bed, there was no effort to clean floors or dust furniture, in fact the television cabinet had a mountain of dust on it. The staff failed to replace soaps etc and tea/coffee facilities.
Not best experience we've had on our trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Graham A:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our great location. I have passed your cleaning comments on to our Housekeeping Department with a view to better our service standards in the future. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused by our onsite bar closing at 10:00pm. Luckily, our hotel is situated in downtown Banff so, if you want to continue on, there are a
number of bars and pubs just a few minutes walk away.

We appreciate your insight and thank you again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Don't let the nice exterior fool you - the rooms are in need of an update. And half the rooms have no view!

We live in Alberta and have been to the Rocky Moutians countless time and stayed in Banff on many occasions. We like to try new Properties and see who has the best rate or value for our stay. This time we prepurchased our rooms with Expedia and regret that. This Hotel is in a great location at the start of the Hotels on Banff Ave. Great exterior. We checked in and went to our room only to look out the window at an interior walls at other interior windows and hotel vents. To top that off the decor was original!! Guessing it's upwords of 30 years old and not even quality prices to call antiques but cheap stuff. I will never stay here again!! The outdated cheap room and lack of any quality are amazing!

We did go to the front desk to say 'We would like to change rooms', they did give me the song and dance that the hotel is full and we had a prepaid room - but I commented that we didn't pay for the worst room on the Property. I was told to hold off on checking in and they would see what they could do so I complied. They did change our room location, which I truley appreciated but the old decor remained the same. We had our 4 nights there and that was enough. Never again. They have a high Tripadvisor rating displayed on the check-in counter - not sure how they got this given what we experienced!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Sandra C:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the great location and exterior of our hotel. It is also great to read that our front desk staff were able to facilitate a room change when advised of your dissatisfaction. You will be pleased to know that the hotel is due to undergo extensive renovations in the near future and all of the current furniture will be replaced with more modern fittings.

We appreciate your business and value your insight. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We were stuck in Banff due to flooding and were saved by David and the other staff at the hotel! They were so helpful, kind, and made us feel comfortable and safe in this uncertain situation. David saved our trip! We would stay here again for the great service and prime location in Banff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear JLR12345:

Thank you for giving the Banff International Hotel a rating of 5 on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words about our staff members being helpful, kind and reassuring during the Bow Valley flooding. I have passed your praise on to both David and his manager so they are aware of the extra positive impact that he had on your visit with us.

We are pleased to read that, as a result of the great service that you received and our prime location, you will come back and stay at our hotel. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Banff.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel looks a lot better on line than it is. Stayed four nights recently. No air-conditioning - overhead fan - noisy outside. Room did get cool though, but don't expect to be comfortable if the weather warms up. The front desk staff was a joke - The WiFi was horrible, could hardly connect - had to go to the Second Cup to do some work. Skimpy on the towels etc.
Took forever to have the room serviced. The restaurant was overpriced. Good location. Good thing the scenery is so awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Marianne G:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Banff International Hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and Banff’s amazing scenery. It is disappointing to read that you were so dissatisfied with other elements of your stay. Unfortunately the hotel rooms do not have air conditioning but this fact is listed on the website and fans are located in each of the rooms. With regard to the rest of your complaints, I have taken the liberty of passing them on to the various departments to address.

Your insight is important to us and we value your feedback. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.