We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably OK hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Reasonably OK hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Banff was the last destination in our coach tour of the Rockies and we spent two nights here. The hotel is well located near the centre of Banff. Our room and bed were comfortable although the bathroom was rather small and tired and we had no view whatsoever. Service in Ricky's restaurant was good and food was tasty but not really hot enough for us. OK hotel for exploring Banff and the area but better is available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear VAR1948:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad that you found our hotel well located, both room and bed comfortable and that enjoyed your dining experience at Ricky’s Restaurant. The hotel is scheduled to undergo major renovations in the coming months with a view to better provide the modern luxuries that our guests desire. We hope that you will come back and see for yourself if you return to Banff at some stage in the future.

We appreciate your comments and thank you again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    156
    103
    39
    21
See reviews for
98
147
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel has a great location and that's about the only positive.
The bar closes at 10.00 pm because it belongs to the restaurant franchise which also closes at 10.00 pm.
Our room had "cleaners" daily but all they did was make the bed, there was no effort to clean floors or dust furniture, in fact the television cabinet had a mountain of dust on it. The staff failed to replace soaps etc and tea/coffee facilities.
Not best experience we've had on our trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Graham A:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our great location. I have passed your cleaning comments on to our Housekeeping Department with a view to better our service standards in the future. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused by our onsite bar closing at 10:00pm. Luckily, our hotel is situated in downtown Banff so, if you want to continue on, there are a
number of bars and pubs just a few minutes walk away.

We appreciate your insight and thank you again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Don't let the nice exterior fool you - the rooms are in need of an update. And half the rooms have no view!

We live in Alberta and have been to the Rocky Moutians countless time and stayed in Banff on many occasions. We like to try new Properties and see who has the best rate or value for our stay. This time we prepurchased our rooms with Expedia and regret that. This Hotel is in a great location at the start of the Hotels on Banff Ave. Great exterior. We checked in and went to our room only to look out the window at an interior walls at other interior windows and hotel vents. To top that off the decor was original!! Guessing it's upwords of 30 years old and not even quality prices to call antiques but cheap stuff. I will never stay here again!! The outdated cheap room and lack of any quality are amazing!

We did go to the front desk to say 'We would like to change rooms', they did give me the song and dance that the hotel is full and we had a prepaid room - but I commented that we didn't pay for the worst room on the Property. I was told to hold off on checking in and they would see what they could do so I complied. They did change our room location, which I truley appreciated but the old decor remained the same. We had our 4 nights there and that was enough. Never again. They have a high Tripadvisor rating displayed on the check-in counter - not sure how they got this given what we experienced!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Sandra C:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the great location and exterior of our hotel. It is also great to read that our front desk staff were able to facilitate a room change when advised of your dissatisfaction. You will be pleased to know that the hotel is due to undergo extensive renovations in the near future and all of the current furniture will be replaced with more modern fittings.

We appreciate your business and value your insight. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We were stuck in Banff due to flooding and were saved by David and the other staff at the hotel! They were so helpful, kind, and made us feel comfortable and safe in this uncertain situation. David saved our trip! We would stay here again for the great service and prime location in Banff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear JLR12345:

Thank you for giving the Banff International Hotel a rating of 5 on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words about our staff members being helpful, kind and reassuring during the Bow Valley flooding. I have passed your praise on to both David and his manager so they are aware of the extra positive impact that he had on your visit with us.

We are pleased to read that, as a result of the great service that you received and our prime location, you will come back and stay at our hotel. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Banff.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel looks a lot better on line than it is. Stayed four nights recently. No air-conditioning - overhead fan - noisy outside. Room did get cool though, but don't expect to be comfortable if the weather warms up. The front desk staff was a joke - The WiFi was horrible, could hardly connect - had to go to the Second Cup to do some work. Skimpy on the towels etc.
Took forever to have the room serviced. The restaurant was overpriced. Good location. Good thing the scenery is so awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Marianne G:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Banff International Hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and Banff’s amazing scenery. It is disappointing to read that you were so dissatisfied with other elements of your stay. Unfortunately the hotel rooms do not have air conditioning but this fact is listed on the website and fans are located in each of the rooms. With regard to the rest of your complaints, I have taken the liberty of passing them on to the various departments to address.

Your insight is important to us and we value your feedback. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a value for accommodations in Banff. If you are expecting the Springs or the Rimrock then by all means pay for it. If you want a clean and quiet room with mildly dated decor for great value than stay right here. Banff is and always has been expensive so it was nice to stay somewhere at "bargain" rates with a good breakfast restaurant on site. The staff were very nice and helpful and our stay was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Brent R:

Thank you for giving the Banff International Hotel a 4/5 rating on Trip Advisor. We are excited to read that your stay with us met your expectations and you were happy with your overall experience at our hotel, including our friendly, helpful staff, clean, quiet rooms and the onsite dining facility. You will be pleased to know that the hotel is due to undergo renovations in the near future and the current décor will be modernized.

We appreciate your recommendation and value your loyalty. Thank you for sharing your insight and we look forward to hosting you again when you are next in Banff.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight because the front was beautifully decorated. However, when we got into our room we were disappointed. No fridge, toaster, a kettle, microwave, air conditioning (just a fan) "very noisy." A price of 169 for queen bed isn't worth it. Also, no complimentary breakfast. Above all, super dirty and old. Yuck!
Customer service very poor! rude receptionist. "Caucasian"

Room Tip: ptarmigan is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Gwaping:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad to read that you found the front of our hotel beautifully decorated. Please accept our apologies for your disappointment with our facilities. We do have kettles available at the front desk and your room should have had a refrigerator. Our maintenance department will follow up on this. Unfortunately, in-room toasters, microwaves and air conditioning and complimentary breakfasts are not amenities/services that we currently offer, nor are they advertised as being offered. This should have been made clear to you upon check in and I will follow up with our Front Office Manager to ensure that our future guests understand this also.

We appreciate your comments and suggestions and thank you once again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.