We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Don't let the nice exterior fool you - the rooms are in need of an update. And half the rooms have no view!

We live in Alberta and have been to the Rocky Moutians countless time and stayed in Banff on many occasions. We like to try new Properties and see who has the best rate or value for our stay. This time we prepurchased our rooms with Expedia and regret that. This Hotel is in a great location at the start of the Hotels on Banff Ave. Great exterior. We checked in and went to our room only to look out the window at an interior walls at other interior windows and hotel vents. To top that off the decor was original!! Guessing it's upwords of 30 years old and not even quality prices to call antiques but cheap stuff. I will never stay here again!! The outdated cheap room and lack of any quality are amazing!

We did go to the front desk to say 'We would like to change rooms', they did give me the song and dance that the hotel is full and we had a prepaid room - but I commented that we didn't pay for the worst room on the Property. I was told to hold off on checking in and they would see what they could do so I complied. They did change our room location, which I truley appreciated but the old decor remained the same. We had our 4 nights there and that was enough. Never again. They have a high Tripadvisor rating displayed on the check-in counter - not sure how they got this given what we experienced!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Sandra C:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the great location and exterior of our hotel. It is also great to read that our front desk staff were able to facilitate a room change when advised of your dissatisfaction. You will be pleased to know that the hotel is due to undergo extensive renovations in the near future and all of the current furniture will be replaced with more modern fittings.

We appreciate your business and value your insight. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    174
    114
    40
    21
See reviews for
104
160
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We were stuck in Banff due to flooding and were saved by David and the other staff at the hotel! They were so helpful, kind, and made us feel comfortable and safe in this uncertain situation. David saved our trip! We would stay here again for the great service and prime location in Banff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear JLR12345:

Thank you for giving the Banff International Hotel a rating of 5 on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words about our staff members being helpful, kind and reassuring during the Bow Valley flooding. I have passed your praise on to both David and his manager so they are aware of the extra positive impact that he had on your visit with us.

We are pleased to read that, as a result of the great service that you received and our prime location, you will come back and stay at our hotel. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Banff.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel looks a lot better on line than it is. Stayed four nights recently. No air-conditioning - overhead fan - noisy outside. Room did get cool though, but don't expect to be comfortable if the weather warms up. The front desk staff was a joke - The WiFi was horrible, could hardly connect - had to go to the Second Cup to do some work. Skimpy on the towels etc.
Took forever to have the room serviced. The restaurant was overpriced. Good location. Good thing the scenery is so awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Marianne G:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Banff International Hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and Banff’s amazing scenery. It is disappointing to read that you were so dissatisfied with other elements of your stay. Unfortunately the hotel rooms do not have air conditioning but this fact is listed on the website and fans are located in each of the rooms. With regard to the rest of your complaints, I have taken the liberty of passing them on to the various departments to address.

Your insight is important to us and we value your feedback. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a value for accommodations in Banff. If you are expecting the Springs or the Rimrock then by all means pay for it. If you want a clean and quiet room with mildly dated decor for great value than stay right here. Banff is and always has been expensive so it was nice to stay somewhere at "bargain" rates with a good breakfast restaurant on site. The staff were very nice and helpful and our stay was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Brent R:

Thank you for giving the Banff International Hotel a 4/5 rating on Trip Advisor. We are excited to read that your stay with us met your expectations and you were happy with your overall experience at our hotel, including our friendly, helpful staff, clean, quiet rooms and the onsite dining facility. You will be pleased to know that the hotel is due to undergo renovations in the near future and the current décor will be modernized.

We appreciate your recommendation and value your loyalty. Thank you for sharing your insight and we look forward to hosting you again when you are next in Banff.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight because the front was beautifully decorated. However, when we got into our room we were disappointed. No fridge, toaster, a kettle, microwave, air conditioning (just a fan) "very noisy." A price of 169 for queen bed isn't worth it. Also, no complimentary breakfast. Above all, super dirty and old. Yuck!
Customer service very poor! rude receptionist. "Caucasian"

Room Tip: ptarmigan is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Gwaping:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad to read that you found the front of our hotel beautifully decorated. Please accept our apologies for your disappointment with our facilities. We do have kettles available at the front desk and your room should have had a refrigerator. Our maintenance department will follow up on this. Unfortunately, in-room toasters, microwaves and air conditioning and complimentary breakfasts are not amenities/services that we currently offer, nor are they advertised as being offered. This should have been made clear to you upon check in and I will follow up with our Front Office Manager to ensure that our future guests understand this also.

We appreciate your comments and suggestions and thank you once again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The front desk and Lobby where average, at least cordial and fast. But the carpets overall where old, dusty and smelly. We had a room with dated decor and just to simple bedding, and I am not usually picky about this, the room was overall dirty, we could see where they took the mini-fridge out and did not even bother to wipe all the dust underneath. Good thing we where in there just to sleep and check out first thing in the morning.

Room Tip: Just go to an other place, is not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Kathacruz:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel. We are pleased to read that you found our lobby and front desk area cordial. Please accept our apologies for the lapse in our housekeeping service standards. I have passed on your complaints and these will be addressed. We are, however, happy to inform you that the hotel is due to undergo major renovations in the near future to better cater to our modern travelers. Perhaps you will come back and see for yourself.

We appreciate your business and will use your comments and suggestions to improve in the future.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The entrance is OK and the staff are pleasant. There is no extra charge for parking. The beds were a bit soft but not too bad. But the decor in the room had not been updated since the 1970s---cheap furniture, stained rug, a silly little sitting area that faces...a blank wall. No desk, wifi that is so slow you can fall asleep waiting for the connection to work, a big-screen TV hidden away in a cabinet that requires massive neck-craning to view from the beds. More annoying was the poor quality of housekeeping. I used a packet of coffee my first morning, and it was not replaced by the maid. The phone in the room didn't work, so I could not call for a replacement; instead I ended up walking down to the front desk in my PJs to get more coffee. The second day the maid didn't even bother picking up the bathmat; she just left it rumpled on the bathroom floor. The hand towel was dumped on the back of the toilet, leaving the bathroom looking like someone had broken into the room and rifled through things. Are the maids here on drugs? Or just incompetent? The sad thing is that most Banff hotels seem to be stuck in a similar 1970s time warp. It almost seems like all the cool people moved to Whistler 20 years ago and Banff hasn't bothered to make any changes since then. The scenery in Banff is unbeatable, but the Banff International Hotel...an overpriced Motel 6.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Tom L:

Thank you for sharing your recent experience staying at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad to read that you found our staff pleasant and enjoyed the free parking. You will be pleased to know that the hotel is scheduled to undergo major renovations in the near future with a view to better cater to the desires of our guests. I have also passed on your complaints to our Executive Housekeeper who will aim to improve the standards of service going forward. Our main goal is to ensure that our guests have a memorable, happy experience and we use customer feedback, such as your own, to understand our strengths and weaknesses.

Your business is important to us and we thank you for sharing your insight.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.