We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a value for accommodations in Banff. If you are expecting the Springs or the Rimrock then by all means pay for it. If you want a clean and quiet room with mildly dated decor for great value than stay right here. Banff is and always has been expensive so it was nice to stay somewhere at "bargain" rates with a good breakfast restaurant on site. The staff were very nice and helpful and our stay was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Brent R:

Thank you for giving the Banff International Hotel a 4/5 rating on Trip Advisor. We are excited to read that your stay with us met your expectations and you were happy with your overall experience at our hotel, including our friendly, helpful staff, clean, quiet rooms and the onsite dining facility. You will be pleased to know that the hotel is due to undergo renovations in the near future and the current décor will be modernized.

We appreciate your recommendation and value your loyalty. Thank you for sharing your insight and we look forward to hosting you again when you are next in Banff.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    143
    90
    34
    19
See reviews for
92
130
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight because the front was beautifully decorated. However, when we got into our room we were disappointed. No fridge, toaster, a kettle, microwave, air conditioning (just a fan) "very noisy." A price of 169 for queen bed isn't worth it. Also, no complimentary breakfast. Above all, super dirty and old. Yuck!
Customer service very poor! rude receptionist. "Caucasian"

Room Tip: ptarmigan is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Gwaping:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad to read that you found the front of our hotel beautifully decorated. Please accept our apologies for your disappointment with our facilities. We do have kettles available at the front desk and your room should have had a refrigerator. Our maintenance department will follow up on this. Unfortunately, in-room toasters, microwaves and air conditioning and complimentary breakfasts are not amenities/services that we currently offer, nor are they advertised as being offered. This should have been made clear to you upon check in and I will follow up with our Front Office Manager to ensure that our future guests understand this also.

We appreciate your comments and suggestions and thank you once again.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The front desk and Lobby where average, at least cordial and fast. But the carpets overall where old, dusty and smelly. We had a room with dated decor and just to simple bedding, and I am not usually picky about this, the room was overall dirty, we could see where they took the mini-fridge out and did not even bother to wipe all the dust underneath. Good thing we where in there just to sleep and check out first thing in the morning.

Room Tip: Just go to an other place, is not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Kathacruz:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel. We are pleased to read that you found our lobby and front desk area cordial. Please accept our apologies for the lapse in our housekeeping service standards. I have passed on your complaints and these will be addressed. We are, however, happy to inform you that the hotel is due to undergo major renovations in the near future to better cater to our modern travelers. Perhaps you will come back and see for yourself.

We appreciate your business and will use your comments and suggestions to improve in the future.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The entrance is OK and the staff are pleasant. There is no extra charge for parking. The beds were a bit soft but not too bad. But the decor in the room had not been updated since the 1970s---cheap furniture, stained rug, a silly little sitting area that faces...a blank wall. No desk, wifi that is so slow you can fall asleep waiting for the connection to work, a big-screen TV hidden away in a cabinet that requires massive neck-craning to view from the beds. More annoying was the poor quality of housekeeping. I used a packet of coffee my first morning, and it was not replaced by the maid. The phone in the room didn't work, so I could not call for a replacement; instead I ended up walking down to the front desk in my PJs to get more coffee. The second day the maid didn't even bother picking up the bathmat; she just left it rumpled on the bathroom floor. The hand towel was dumped on the back of the toilet, leaving the bathroom looking like someone had broken into the room and rifled through things. Are the maids here on drugs? Or just incompetent? The sad thing is that most Banff hotels seem to be stuck in a similar 1970s time warp. It almost seems like all the cool people moved to Whistler 20 years ago and Banff hasn't bothered to make any changes since then. The scenery in Banff is unbeatable, but the Banff International Hotel...an overpriced Motel 6.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Tom L:

Thank you for sharing your recent experience staying at the Banff International Hotel. We are glad to read that you found our staff pleasant and enjoyed the free parking. You will be pleased to know that the hotel is scheduled to undergo major renovations in the near future with a view to better cater to the desires of our guests. I have also passed on your complaints to our Executive Housekeeper who will aim to improve the standards of service going forward. Our main goal is to ensure that our guests have a memorable, happy experience and we use customer feedback, such as your own, to understand our strengths and weaknesses.

Your business is important to us and we thank you for sharing your insight.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairland, Oklahoma, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is located in a very nice location and offers a very comfortable stay. The room cleanliness was a little less that it should have been but I believe they had just had a bad day. It was a little overpriced in the restaurant but the staff did their best to accommodate our needs. The housekeeping staff should pay a little better attention in the rooms before they open the rooms for business. We would stay again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Kelly B:

Thank you so much for giving the Banff International Hotel a 4/5 rating on Trip Advisor!

We are glad that you enjoyed our very nice location and that your stay was comfortable. I have passed your comments on to our housekeeping department in an effort to better our service standards in the future.

Your business is important to us and we appreciate your kind words and suggestions. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Banff.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our 2 night stay with friends in the next room was slightly spoiled by very poor housekeeping. The large tv cabinet was extremely dusty, both on top and inside. Shower curtain had yellow stain along the bottom and the bath had grime in the corner where it met the floor. Our friends room was not cleaned on the first full day. On the plus side the staff were polite and the food very good. It's central location makes it ideal for discovering this beautiful town.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Stephen D:

Thank you for taking the time to review the Banff International Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you found our staff to be polite, our dining options above satisfactory and our location ideal for exploring Banff.

I have passed on your comments regarding room cleanliness to our Housekeeping department and apologize for the issues that you encountered. Please know that your experience is not common with our standards and we will use this feedback to improve in the future.

Your business is important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Canadian Rockies.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed for a few days in March and booked a Premium room solely for the mountain view. However, on arriving we found the view from the room to be somewhat lacking (see attached picture of car park)!

The room was pretty spacious, but also quite dated, and the wifi was so slow to render it completely useless.

The real benefit to this hotel was its location, you really can't be any more central. This is why I would stay here again if there was a good price for a room, but I would only go for a standard room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear CG_London45:

Guest feedback is a key tool that we use to improve our services here at the Banff International Hotel and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you were impressed with our central location and spacious rooms. You will be pleased to know that our hotel will soon be undergoing major renovations to provide more modern amenities for our guests.

Regarding your complaint about the view from your Premium room, please accept our apologies. The Town of Banff has a bylaw that states that buildings cannot be more than three storeys above ground level. Given this fact, it is common for downtown businesses to have elements of surrounding buildings/parking lots incorporated into their mountain views. Regardless, our front desk staff are always accommodating and if they are aware of your dissatisfaction, they will do their best to relocate you should a comparable room, with a better view, be available.

Thank you again for sharing your insight and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to the Canadian Rockies.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Hotel Sales Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;