We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 33 hotels in Banff
Parry Sound, Ontario. Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location to city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Parking and location was excellent. Although the signs to get to the spa where none existent. The reception staff where extremely busy and some of the distractions should not have been necessary. Like telling people how to get to the spa. Wireless internet was almost non existent in the rooms, only a tease really and i wasted hours trying to deal with the necessities of travel. Public internet at a fee in the lobby but with the high cost of the rooms, what was that?
The actual staff where very courteous. We got a room for four but still the house keeping only equipted the room for two, even after reminded for the second nights stay. This was a premium room too. Location to town, bars and restaurants and the parking where excellent.

Room Tip: Room given via Expedia was not the room we requested and it was a nightmare on the cell while travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    127
    81
    30
    15
See reviews for
84
115
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very friendly staff, very quick, no mucking about, all facilities you could ask for and lovely breakfast we had there, large roomy rooms, big beds the list goes on very happy with this place, i would stay there again on return trips

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Ozziebeanie:

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at The Banff International Hotel.

We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the hotel’s staff members, dining options and facilities. Our primary goal is to ensure that our guests have a memorable visit and the best possible experience and reviews, such as your own, indicate that we are achieving this objective.

We thank you again for sharing your comments and very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Banff.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was the perfect location within walking distance to downtown. Decent hotel. Clean room . Room heating was a bit on the hot side. Underground parking was great . The staff was friendly and accomodating. Great value . Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Decent hotel, in a good location. The furniture in the room I was in was quite old, with stains on all three of the chairs in here. Carpets are looking a bit tired, showing signs of use. It's definitely time for management to upgrade the rooms. Aside from my sitting situation, everything seems clean (I'm just going to avoid looking under the sheets! What I don't know can't hurt me ...)

For the price I paid, I probably couldn't expect much more, but I'd be shelling out a few extra dollars to stay in a fancier hotel in the future.

Staff was friendly, the halls are quiet - so overall, this hotel gets an average rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Eugene Wu:

The Banff International Hotel has a sincere desire to provide a quality experience for all of our guests. Feedback, such as your own, assists us in understanding our strengths, but, most importantly, our weaknesses. We are happy to inform you that the hotel will be undergoing large-scale renovations in the near future which will enable us to provide new and improved services and facilities for our customers.

Your business is important to us and we do appreciate your input. Thank you once again for your constructive comments.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

absolutely horrible hotel, the staff was so incredibly rude and unprofessional. to many yahoos in the halways at night, like seriously?? the security guard didn't do anything about it (the short one), mind you he even came inside and had a glass of wine with us (WHILE HE WAS ON SHIFT). i couldnt believe the service, and that kid who works at the front desk who was like 16, like hell-oooo there are tons of people in this world needing jobs yet you hire a unprofessional 16 year old? worst hotel in banff ever, DONT STAY THERE.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are alarmed to read about your profoundly negative experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you encountered and know that your remarks are taken very seriously. The relevant departments have been fully informed of the points you have raised and, rest assured, action will be taken.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. It is with these discerning comments that we will be able to better the standards of service that we provide to our customers.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

this is a great place right on the main strip in Banff, but not too close that its too noisy. It was the perfect walking distance to all the main shops. Beds were very comfortable and we had no issues at all. would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just back from 12 night stay at the Banff International, We had a great room (519) it overlooked Safeway but you also had the mountains behind as this room is on the top floor. Excellent location for shops and restaurants in Banff, especially as it was pretty cold so you didn't want to have to walk too far ! Staff all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.