We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOTEL IN BANFF!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 6 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 33 hotels in Banff
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WORST HOTEL IN BANFF!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

absolutely horrible hotel, the staff was so incredibly rude and unprofessional. to many yahoos in the halways at night, like seriously?? the security guard didn't do anything about it (the short one), mind you he even came inside and had a glass of wine with us (WHILE HE WAS ON SHIFT). i couldnt believe the service, and that kid who works at the front desk who was like 16, like hell-oooo there are tons of people in this world needing jobs yet you hire a unprofessional 16 year old? worst hotel in banff ever, DONT STAY THERE.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Executive Coordinator at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are alarmed to read about your profoundly negative experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you encountered and know that your remarks are taken very seriously. The relevant departments have been fully informed of the points you have raised and, rest assured, action will be taken.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. It is with these discerning comments that we will be able to better the standards of service that we provide to our customers.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    127
    81
    30
    15
See reviews for
84
115
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

this is a great place right on the main strip in Banff, but not too close that its too noisy. It was the perfect walking distance to all the main shops. Beds were very comfortable and we had no issues at all. would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just back from 12 night stay at the Banff International, We had a great room (519) it overlooked Safeway but you also had the mountains behind as this room is on the top floor. Excellent location for shops and restaurants in Banff, especially as it was pretty cold so you didn't want to have to walk too far ! Staff all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed in this hotel when i travelled to banff to see the real Canada. The glaziers to the Rocky Mountains what a beautiful country Canada is. This hotel was perfect for evrything we wanted to do and located centrally to everything. Overall good hotel and perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We got a special, working out to almost nothing per night in Banff, we had nothing to lose as the location was perfect - across the street from the Safeway, right at the start of the shops and restaurants on Banff Ave (none of the noise from the clubs/restaurants but only a couple of blocks away to get there). We thought there would be something wrong with it for sure, but, there wasn't. Clean, comfy beds, noise policy after 11pm, Ricky's for breakfast downstairs, nice entrance/etc. The rooms were basic, but clean/comfy/quiet/location made for a perfect vacation.

Room Tip: We didn't get a view, we were just happy it was a quiet room but it overlooked the roof/heater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Joanne

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!


We were pleased to hear of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We strive to ensure that our guests are happy, and we are humbled that we made an extra positive impact on your stay.


Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.


Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

On our first trip to Banff in September we stumbled upon this hotel with a great package which was a night rate ($200) that included the gondola ticket and a lake cruise. Great value for money and we enjoyed it a lot. You cannot beat the location of this hotel, it's right in the centre of it all. The hotel itself can do with a revamp but who needs to stay in the room for long when there is so much to see outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Helenseaborne

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

It was a pleasure to host your visit to both Banff and the Banff International Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s location and all the different activities our company has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have hosted you in house.

Thank you for sharing with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We got a two nights for one rate so was well worth the price. The location (2 blocks from the centre of town) was excellent. Parked the truck on Friday and didn't have to drive till we left Sunday. Garage was a tight fit to get in 6'1" clearance) but roomy inside. Room was very clean and smelled nice. Was a great size with a comfy bed. I read that there may be issues with noise but was nice and quiet. Our view was non-existent (roof view) but with the price we paid for the weekend ($183 all in) that was no big deal. Room was hot though so needed to crack the window and run the overhead fan at night. All in all I will definitely stay again for that price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Snarley

We were pleased to hear of your pleasant experience while staying with us.

We strive to ensure that our guests are happy during their stay. It is fantastic to hear that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s facilities, and all our town has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have hosted you in house.

It is my pleasure to share your comments with the rest of our team, we thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list