We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Location location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

On our first trip to Banff in September we stumbled upon this hotel with a great package which was a night rate ($200) that included the gondola ticket and a lake cruise. Great value for money and we enjoyed it a lot. You cannot beat the location of this hotel, it's right in the centre of it all. The hotel itself can do with a revamp but who needs to stay in the room for long when there is so much to see outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Helenseaborne

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

It was a pleasure to host your visit to both Banff and the Banff International Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s location and all the different activities our company has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have hosted you in house.

Thank you for sharing with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    143
    90
    34
    19
See reviews for
92
130
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We got a two nights for one rate so was well worth the price. The location (2 blocks from the centre of town) was excellent. Parked the truck on Friday and didn't have to drive till we left Sunday. Garage was a tight fit to get in 6'1" clearance) but roomy inside. Room was very clean and smelled nice. Was a great size with a comfy bed. I read that there may be issues with noise but was nice and quiet. Our view was non-existent (roof view) but with the price we paid for the weekend ($183 all in) that was no big deal. Room was hot though so needed to crack the window and run the overhead fan at night. All in all I will definitely stay again for that price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Snarley

We were pleased to hear of your pleasant experience while staying with us.

We strive to ensure that our guests are happy during their stay. It is fantastic to hear that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s facilities, and all our town has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have hosted you in house.

It is my pleasure to share your comments with the rest of our team, we thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days during the skiing season. The Hotel location is ideal for easy access to shopping and eating establishments. We were unlucky to have very noisy neighbours for 3 nights but these were sorted out by hotel staff. The hot tub was great after a hard days skiing but the clean towels were sometimes in short supply. The staff were always polite and helpful. Overall, a hotel that I would choose again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Skid


Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

It was a pleasure to host your visit to both Banff and the Banff International Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s central location and all our town has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have had you and you in house.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and look forward to serving you in Banff again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked the Premium Deluxe King Room (best room in the hotel) which their web site boasted that every one of these rooms have a magnificent mountain view. We phoned ahead to confirm and we were told they were on the second and third floors at the rear of the hotel. After recently being diagnosed with a serious medical condition, we needed a weekend away and thought this suited us.

On arrival we were given a main floor room with a "wonderful" view of the Safeway across the road (see attached photo). When we went to discuss this with the front desk, we were told it was "first come first served" and we got the ground floor version of the advertised room. This was contrary to the information given by the web site and the reservation call. We asked to speak with the manager and were told he was off site at another location. When he returned at least an hour later, he said there were no other king rooms available but offered to give us the room at no cost and would move us the next day (he did honor the free night). However the room we though we had booked would still not be available for the second night. Our relaxing weekend became such a nightmare that we barely slept at all that night and decided just to check out the next day.

The manager said he would address the "false advertising" on the web site and speak to staff about the location of rooms. Our advice is that once booked, we get confirmation of room and location by email and would appreciate that this room would be ours for the allotted stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear David

We are very sorry and deeply regret that our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in offering only the best to our guests and assure this experience is not common with that of our standards.

I have taken the liberty to share your comments with the appropriate departments. Your feedback will be reviewed and used as a tool to help us improve and maintain our standards.

Thank you for sharing with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to share with you the true Banff International Hotel experience.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Booked through Hotel.com: fantastic price, great value for what you get, clean and well attended services. Right on the main thoroughfare Banff Avenue. Great restaurants are near by, Food store Safeway is across from it. Very convenient location. Would stay agin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Wutn

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received while you were with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, close to all the shops and restaurants.

We are happy to have had a positive impact on your stay, as we do take great pride in offering the best services possible to our guests.

Thank you for sharing with us, and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Initially booking this hotel by accident, I have no regrets, and ended up extending my stay! Hotel is in a fantastic central location, with shops and restaurants right on the doorstep. Ricky's restaurant is the in-house restaurant and there is also a shop that organises tours inside the hotel which I found really handy.
I stayed at this hotel for a week, staff Ben and Alyse were really excellent and accommodating. I initially stayed in a room at the back of the hotel which was quiet (109), and then upgraded to a room overlooking the street (301) that had awesome views, but was a little noisy on weekends but I loved it. This hotel is comfortable and has everything that you need for a great stay. Can do own laundry using coin operated machines which is really great! If you are fussy individual or a light sleeper, then this may not be the place for you, but whatever this hotel may lack is made up by the fantastic location and the great staff! Buses leave from right next door to the ski fields which is great, and tour companies do door to door service. I am definitely staying here when I return at the end of the year:)

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back of hotel, which wont have a view. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Leese,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am very happy to hear we succeeded in making your stay an enjoyable one and that you were able to make good use of our guest facilities and enjoy our excellent location.

We do take pride in offering the best possible service to our guests. I have taken the liberty to pass your comments on to the team members who made an extra positive impact during your stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.


Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I was in town for a conference and stayed here. It was in a great location. The hotel itself was fairly dated and the wifi was terribly slow. The treadmill was good and the beds were comfortable. The shower had lots of pressure although it definitely looked well used

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Ryan

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

It was a pleasure for us to host your visit to Banff.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We found it a joy to have hosted you in house.

Thank you again for sharing your constructive comments with us, we do take take and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.