We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job, but nothing more...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Does the job, but nothing more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is the second time we stayed here.

Pros- free underground parking, close to the heart of Banff, clean and safe, a very good price/good value.

Cons- After a day out, a nice hot tub is a must. The hot tub situation here is weak. Its just a tub in a small room. Its out of date and not very aesthetically pleasing. No view, just pure utility. If the tub/pool is important to you, this is the wrong place.

The ceilings are low and it creates a dark and crowded feeling in the halls.

We got a loft suite. There were 3 beds, when there should have been an option to have a sitting area instead. I would have hoped there was a fireplace in the loft suites. That being said, there is a fridge. The downstairs of the loft has a flat screen TV, but the upstairs has a big tube TV. I don't really watch TV, but for the price of a loft, one would expect better.

Overall - The hotel is showing its age, but there is great value in staying here. I would go back. I can't rank it higher than 3 because I am a return guest for value only. The hotel is a value place, not a fancy high end place. Please don't mistake my use of word value - The place is clean, well located, and well priced. Just nothing fancy.

Room Tip: Loft suites are quite small with no sitting area or fireplace. Not as nice as you would expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear MCC

Thank you for sharing your Banff International Hotel experience! We are happy to have been a part of your Banff holiday.

We always strive to ensure that our guests are happy during their stay. We thank you for your
Constructive comments which will help us to improve and maintain our standards. I have taken the liberty of sharing them with the appropriate departments.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    174
    114
    40
    21
See reviews for
104
160
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for a night during reading week. We booked a loft room. When we arrived there, our room was not ready for us yet (we arrived before the 4 pm check in time) but they told us that we could have a non-loft room if we wanted to have a room right then. We decided that we would come back later, and keep our loft room, but appreciated that they offered us an alternative.
The room was very nice. It was nice and clean and open. The beds were very comfortable. We had a great view of the mountains. We had plenty of towels which was nice, especially since a lot of places don't give you enough.
We went to the hot tub, steam room and sauna in the hotel. Our only complaint was that the hot tub wasn't hot enough. The sauna was really nice though, and we spend plenty of time in there.
Overall, the hotel was very nice. It was in the perfect location for shopping or going anywhere else in Banff. We definitely would stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Lyss90

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was glad to read that you and your friends had a good experience while you were staying with us.
We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent first time stay here over the Family Day weekend. Best location of all Banff hotels right on Banff Ave. at the edge of the main shop/restaurants - everything was within a few minutes walk. Secure underground parking was appreciated, and the staff here are friendly and helpful. Our room was a premier queen which had a great corner view up Banff Avenue. Nice large room at great rate at the hotel's website - Explore the Rockies package which was lowest rate (better than AMA or Expedia) and included passes for gondola and hot springs. Very comfy beds, nice linens, bathroom was updated and spotlessly clean. Only issue was no air conditioning, so was a bit warm, but easily solved with opening one of the many windows.

No hotel food service, but nice modern Ricky's restaurant in the lobby. Our breakfasts there were very nice - good food and service and very reasonable prices.

Hotel and rooms are a bit dated in decor, but location, cleanliness, price and staff more than compensate. We will be back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Premier two queen rooms - large corner room with curved wall with 6 large windows with views up Banf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear CanTravel

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you in-house.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.


Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2013 for 3 nights. Booking.com and Expedia had the best rates, and the front desk staff were happy to match those for me when adding a night at reception. The room was large with a good bathroom, nice beds and large TV. The hotel restaurant was ok, but service was a bit slow at the bar. Nice place to hang out if you are not in a rush.

Underground parking could fit cars up to 6'1". There is also an internal Jacuzzi room, and ski/snowboard waxing iron in the basement available. The location is fantastic, and you can rent skates from reception for the rink across the road, or walk up to the river.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

With Banff on our doorstep we like go for a mini getaway. The price point was excellent compared to other dated properties I've stayed at in Banff. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. Facecloths and a plastic bag for the ice bucket were missing, and it would have been nice to see a bin for recycling. The sofa and chairs were very worn. The restaurant is hardly what I would call upscale family. The hotel is just a block from the beginning of the shops and restaurants of main street. It was lovely to explore the street at night and then again during daylight after check out (the hotel let us continue to park into the afternoon).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear cdar

Thank you for sharing your Banff International Hotel experience! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team is humbled and found it a joy to have you in-house.

We are grateful for your constructive comments which will help us improve and maintain our standards. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments.

Thank you again, we truly look forward to seeing you in Banff again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This is your standard large hotel, however it's a two minute walk to the bars and restaurants in Banff. The bus to the Ski resorts stops outside the hotel. The rooms are clean and tidy. The one thing that makes a big difference is the staff are always friendly, generally smiling and go out there way to help you. It was good value for money

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Lee

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

Thank you for sharing your experience! We were glad to hear about the high level of service you received during your stay. Our team found it a joy to host you in house.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you again on your next Banff getaway.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I could not seem to find a hotel in Banff that had a separate living quarter for my 3 kids until I found this hotel. It was a good place to stay during the winter for a family with little ones like ours. Hotel has ample parking underground. The room that I booked was a LOFT. My kids were amazed at the place that I booked. They were really excited. The price was a little pricey because it was a loft. The hotel is conveniently located near all shops of main business district. The rooms were a little bit older, but decent. We only needed a place to sleep after a day of skiing. Hotel's front desk staff were courteous and helpful. In my opinion, it would be just fine to stay at this hotel over the winter but might not be as good during the summer, since I noticed there was no air conditioning. It only had fans.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Ken

We were pleased to learn of the great experience you received during your recent stay with us at the Banff International Hotel.

We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you and your family in-house.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.