We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodations and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent first time stay here over the Family Day weekend. Best location of all Banff hotels right on Banff Ave. at the edge of the main shop/restaurants - everything was within a few minutes walk. Secure underground parking was appreciated, and the staff here are friendly and helpful. Our room was a premier queen which had a great corner view up Banff Avenue. Nice large room at great rate at the hotel's website - Explore the Rockies package which was lowest rate (better than AMA or Expedia) and included passes for gondola and hot springs. Very comfy beds, nice linens, bathroom was updated and spotlessly clean. Only issue was no air conditioning, so was a bit warm, but easily solved with opening one of the many windows.

No hotel food service, but nice modern Ricky's restaurant in the lobby. Our breakfasts there were very nice - good food and service and very reasonable prices.

Hotel and rooms are a bit dated in decor, but location, cleanliness, price and staff more than compensate. We will be back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Premier two queen rooms - large corner room with curved wall with 6 large windows with views up Banf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear CanTravel

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you in-house.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.


Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    127
    81
    30
    15
See reviews for
84
115
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2013 for 3 nights. Booking.com and Expedia had the best rates, and the front desk staff were happy to match those for me when adding a night at reception. The room was large with a good bathroom, nice beds and large TV. The hotel restaurant was ok, but service was a bit slow at the bar. Nice place to hang out if you are not in a rush.

Underground parking could fit cars up to 6'1". There is also an internal Jacuzzi room, and ski/snowboard waxing iron in the basement available. The location is fantastic, and you can rent skates from reception for the rink across the road, or walk up to the river.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

With Banff on our doorstep we like go for a mini getaway. The price point was excellent compared to other dated properties I've stayed at in Banff. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. Facecloths and a plastic bag for the ice bucket were missing, and it would have been nice to see a bin for recycling. The sofa and chairs were very worn. The restaurant is hardly what I would call upscale family. The hotel is just a block from the beginning of the shops and restaurants of main street. It was lovely to explore the street at night and then again during daylight after check out (the hotel let us continue to park into the afternoon).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear cdar

Thank you for sharing your Banff International Hotel experience! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team is humbled and found it a joy to have you in-house.

We are grateful for your constructive comments which will help us improve and maintain our standards. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments.

Thank you again, we truly look forward to seeing you in Banff again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This is your standard large hotel, however it's a two minute walk to the bars and restaurants in Banff. The bus to the Ski resorts stops outside the hotel. The rooms are clean and tidy. The one thing that makes a big difference is the staff are always friendly, generally smiling and go out there way to help you. It was good value for money

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Lee

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

Thank you for sharing your experience! We were glad to hear about the high level of service you received during your stay. Our team found it a joy to host you in house.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you again on your next Banff getaway.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I could not seem to find a hotel in Banff that had a separate living quarter for my 3 kids until I found this hotel. It was a good place to stay during the winter for a family with little ones like ours. Hotel has ample parking underground. The room that I booked was a LOFT. My kids were amazed at the place that I booked. They were really excited. The price was a little pricey because it was a loft. The hotel is conveniently located near all shops of main business district. The rooms were a little bit older, but decent. We only needed a place to sleep after a day of skiing. Hotel's front desk staff were courteous and helpful. In my opinion, it would be just fine to stay at this hotel over the winter but might not be as good during the summer, since I noticed there was no air conditioning. It only had fans.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Ken

We were pleased to learn of the great experience you received during your recent stay with us at the Banff International Hotel.

We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you and your family in-house.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I had a special 2 day escape to Banff. The hotel exceeded our expectations and the staff should all be congratulated for their friendliness, professionalism and doing the job right.
Our room had a great view of Banff Avenue and the mountains, the suana, steam room and Hot tub was very relaxing.
I have booked another visit to this hotel in February.

Thanks

Bill & Katherine Meyer

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Bill and Katherine,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was glad to read about the exceptional experience you received while you were staying with us. We strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team found it a joy to have you in house.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your specific comments with the appropriate departments. Thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went in January, and got a fantastic rate. Check in was quick and easy, the bell hop ran down and helped us with the parking, and the rooms were great. A few tips: go to the bar and ask to be seated in the restaurant; wandering around in the restaurant looking for a server is not going to work; beware of the 6 foot 1 inch height restriction on the underground parking. That's not very high. My Honda van made it with a half inch to spare above the racks. Go for the commuter breakfast. It's half the price and big enough. The other breakfasts are big enough for the whole family, for the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Senklip

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was glad to read about the exceptional experience you received while you were staying with us. We strive to ensure our guests are happy and during their stay and our team are humbled and found it a joy to have hosted you.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your specific comments with the appropriate departments. Thank you for your constructive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.