We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I could not seem to find a hotel in Banff that had a separate living quarter for my 3 kids until I found this hotel. It was a good place to stay during the winter for a family with little ones like ours. Hotel has ample parking underground. The room that I booked was a LOFT. My kids were amazed at the place that I booked. They were really excited. The price was a little pricey because it was a loft. The hotel is conveniently located near all shops of main business district. The rooms were a little bit older, but decent. We only needed a place to sleep after a day of skiing. Hotel's front desk staff were courteous and helpful. In my opinion, it would be just fine to stay at this hotel over the winter but might not be as good during the summer, since I noticed there was no air conditioning. It only had fans.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Ken

We were pleased to learn of the great experience you received during your recent stay with us at the Banff International Hotel.

We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you and your family in-house.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    207
    127
    44
    22
See reviews for
119
179
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I had a special 2 day escape to Banff. The hotel exceeded our expectations and the staff should all be congratulated for their friendliness, professionalism and doing the job right.
Our room had a great view of Banff Avenue and the mountains, the suana, steam room and Hot tub was very relaxing.
I have booked another visit to this hotel in February.

Thanks

Bill & Katherine Meyer

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Bill and Katherine,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was glad to read about the exceptional experience you received while you were staying with us. We strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team found it a joy to have you in house.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your specific comments with the appropriate departments. Thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went in January, and got a fantastic rate. Check in was quick and easy, the bell hop ran down and helped us with the parking, and the rooms were great. A few tips: go to the bar and ask to be seated in the restaurant; wandering around in the restaurant looking for a server is not going to work; beware of the 6 foot 1 inch height restriction on the underground parking. That's not very high. My Honda van made it with a half inch to spare above the racks. Go for the commuter breakfast. It's half the price and big enough. The other breakfasts are big enough for the whole family, for the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Senklip

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was glad to read about the exceptional experience you received while you were staying with us. We strive to ensure our guests are happy and during their stay and our team are humbled and found it a joy to have hosted you.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your specific comments with the appropriate departments. Thank you for your constructive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It was a great experience staying at the Banff International Hotel. Above par service and nice facilities. Luckily we got a beautiful room with exquisite shots from nature. Definitely worth another stay!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Arun,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to hear of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We strive to ensure that our guests are happy, and we are humbled that we made an extra positive impact on your stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked one night on January 19, 2013. The person over the phone was very polite when we made the reservation. One day before arriving, they called us to make sure that everything is ok and asked us if we still comming. When we arrived, everyone was very friendly, explained us how to use the code for underground parking and how to get to our room. The room was very clean, with an amaizing view. I definitely would recomend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Jenny,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us, and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look truly forward to serving you and your family again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern alberta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just got back from staying at the international hotel. Great location as its right at the start of the shopping on banff ave. rooms are a bit outdated but comfy beds and clean rooms. We were only here for a night for skiing, and had no issues. I would stay again, if you are looking for a modern, luxury hotel this isn't the place, but if you want a good nice sleep, and don't really care about the 80's feel along with a great value then I would stay here.
Downside if you have an oversized vehicle 6'1, can't use the underground parking, have to park on the street. We had to find parking 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Katemar12

Thank you for sharing your Banff International Hotel experience! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team is humbled and found it a joy to have you in-house.

We are grateful for your constructive comments which will help us improve and maintain our standards. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments.

We look forward to serving you again on your next Banff getaway.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We just recently stayed here. We were disappointed with the rooms. We had a living social coupon and we called and booked we got the last few rooms available. We were told we could only get a double bed. After we booked and looked online we assumed it would be the Superior Room with 2 double beds, less 1 bed and perhaps the living area, love seat or something. Nope, our room barely fit the double bed we got. This wasn't the end of the world for us, but we didn't even know this room existed. We never seen it online and I doubled checked when we got home, its not listed.

Positives: The location is great. You are right by the safeway, on the main street, walking distance too all the pubs, restaurants and shopping.

Negatives: The room. Make sure you know the room you are getting. The beds were very firm and the room was hot - I think because we were over the parking garage. We had the heat turned off the whole time we were there and slept with the window open at night, with -15C weather.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear KikiMira

We are very sorry and deeply regret that our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in offering only the best to our guests and assure this experience is not common with that of our standards.

We are grateful for your constructive comments. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments.

This will help us improve and maintain our standards.

Thank you for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.