We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 33 hotels in Banff
Vernon, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went in January, and got a fantastic rate. Check in was quick and easy, the bell hop ran down and helped us with the parking, and the rooms were great. A few tips: go to the bar and ask to be seated in the restaurant; wandering around in the restaurant looking for a server is not going to work; beware of the 6 foot 1 inch height restriction on the underground parking. That's not very high. My Honda van made it with a half inch to spare above the racks. Go for the commuter breakfast. It's half the price and big enough. The other breakfasts are big enough for the whole family, for the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Senklip

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was glad to read about the exceptional experience you received while you were staying with us. We strive to ensure our guests are happy and during their stay and our team are humbled and found it a joy to have hosted you.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your specific comments with the appropriate departments. Thank you for your constructive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    127
    81
    30
    15
See reviews for
84
115
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It was a great experience staying at the Banff International Hotel. Above par service and nice facilities. Luckily we got a beautiful room with exquisite shots from nature. Definitely worth another stay!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Arun,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to hear of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We strive to ensure that our guests are happy, and we are humbled that we made an extra positive impact on your stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked one night on January 19, 2013. The person over the phone was very polite when we made the reservation. One day before arriving, they called us to make sure that everything is ok and asked us if we still comming. When we arrived, everyone was very friendly, explained us how to use the code for underground parking and how to get to our room. The room was very clean, with an amaizing view. I definitely would recomend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Jenny,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us, and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look truly forward to serving you and your family again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just got back from staying at the international hotel. Great location as its right at the start of the shopping on banff ave. rooms are a bit outdated but comfy beds and clean rooms. We were only here for a night for skiing, and had no issues. I would stay again, if you are looking for a modern, luxury hotel this isn't the place, but if you want a good nice sleep, and don't really care about the 80's feel along with a great value then I would stay here.
Downside if you have an oversized vehicle 6'1, can't use the underground parking, have to park on the street. We had to find parking 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Katemar12

Thank you for sharing your Banff International Hotel experience! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team is humbled and found it a joy to have you in-house.

We are grateful for your constructive comments which will help us improve and maintain our standards. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments.

We look forward to serving you again on your next Banff getaway.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We just recently stayed here. We were disappointed with the rooms. We had a living social coupon and we called and booked we got the last few rooms available. We were told we could only get a double bed. After we booked and looked online we assumed it would be the Superior Room with 2 double beds, less 1 bed and perhaps the living area, love seat or something. Nope, our room barely fit the double bed we got. This wasn't the end of the world for us, but we didn't even know this room existed. We never seen it online and I doubled checked when we got home, its not listed.

Positives: The location is great. You are right by the safeway, on the main street, walking distance too all the pubs, restaurants and shopping.

Negatives: The room. Make sure you know the room you are getting. The beds were very firm and the room was hot - I think because we were over the parking garage. We had the heat turned off the whole time we were there and slept with the window open at night, with -15C weather.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear KikiMira

We are very sorry and deeply regret that our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in offering only the best to our guests and assure this experience is not common with that of our standards.

We are grateful for your constructive comments. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments.

This will help us improve and maintain our standards.

Thank you for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The positives:

-This hotel seriously probably has the best location in the town of Banff. It is across the street from Safeway to pick up groceries or toiletries, walking distance to all the shops/restaurants of downtown one direction, and walking distance to many other hotels and their restaurants going the other way.
- The staff was very friendly
-Lobby and front of hotel looks very nice
-Good restaurant for breakfast before heading out for the day. Similar to a Denny's in the USA or a diner type place. Big servings and could probably share some of the entrees.
-Free underground parking

Ok, now for the Bad
- The rooms are incredibly dated, worn and tired. This was probably the most trivial of our complaints as we were in Banff to see the Rockies and did not plan on sitting in our room all day. Just overall, know what you are getting into and the rooms could use a major makeover/facelift. The bathroom was also pretty cramped and small.
-No air conditioning; this probably is not a factor the bulk of the year in Banff, but if you are going in the summer months the rooms were very hot and uncomfortable. We went in August and it was in the 80s during the day and only got down to the 70s-60s at night and the room just never cooled down. Sleep was not very good because of the heat in the rooms at night. Being in the mountains, this shouldn't be an issue once again most of the year, but if coming in the summer take note.
-A big issue for us- the hotel also advertises free internet. We were relying on this feature and it was part of the reason we chose this hotel. We wanted to be able to Skype family back home as well as access Tripadvisor and maps to help plan the details of what we were going to do the next day. We could never get online accept in the middle of the night or very early morning as too many people were on the server and it couldn't handle it. So if you in need of wifi for work or on your trip for whatever reason, note that you will get very frustrated and will hardly be able to get on.
-Cleanliness/beg bugs. So I saved the best, or should I say worst for last. The first room we were given upon our arrival had not been cleaned after the previous guests and had bed bugs. We unpacked and I began to examine my bed before climbing in it for the night. I noticed there were long black hairs all over the comforter and pillow. We were tired after traveling all day and I figured I'd address it the next day. I sat on the bed watching the news and noticed things moving. Little red bugs! I pulled the mattress cover up and sure enough in the seams of the mattress there were more of them! I've never been so grossed out in my life. At this point it's 11pm and we had to repack all of our belongings, make sure we didn't get any stowaways, and had to switch rooms. No bugs in the other room that we saw, but def. not how you want to start your vacation! So once again, no bug/sanitary issues in our second room, but one of them def. had a bed bug infestation going on.

Overall, if you can afford somewhere else nearby, I'd say it would be worth it to spend the extra money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Travelinteacher,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We have taken good note of your comments during your recent stay with us and I was deeply concerned to learn of the unfortunate experience you encountered with our services and facilities. We pride ourselves in offering only the best to our guests and the hotel can absolutely say that it has not received any further reports or concerns with regard to possible bed bug incidents or any other insect type occurrence.

With regards to the rooms as a whole please be assured the carpets are vacuumed daily, and steamed cleaned regularly, and the rooms and bathrooms are cleaned from top to bottom daily as well. Your comments are being reviewed with the Executive Housekeeper to ensure a better service in the future.

I certainly hope its one step closer to reinstating your confidence in how much we care about your experience.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went there for only one night, it was nice hotel. We asked for mountain view but didn't got one....service was good and location was perfect. there are many cheap eats, but basically pizzas and sandwiches...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.