We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We just recently stayed here. We were disappointed with the rooms. We had a living social coupon and we called and booked we got the last few rooms available. We were told we could only get a double bed. After we booked and looked online we assumed it would be the Superior Room with 2 double beds, less 1 bed and perhaps the living area, love seat or something. Nope, our room barely fit the double bed we got. This wasn't the end of the world for us, but we didn't even know this room existed. We never seen it online and I doubled checked when we got home, its not listed.

Positives: The location is great. You are right by the safeway, on the main street, walking distance too all the pubs, restaurants and shopping.

Negatives: The room. Make sure you know the room you are getting. The beds were very firm and the room was hot - I think because we were over the parking garage. We had the heat turned off the whole time we were there and slept with the window open at night, with -15C weather.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear KikiMira

We are very sorry and deeply regret that our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in offering only the best to our guests and assure this experience is not common with that of our standards.

We are grateful for your constructive comments. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments.

This will help us improve and maintain our standards.

Thank you for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    170
    113
    40
    21
See reviews for
103
158
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The positives:

-This hotel seriously probably has the best location in the town of Banff. It is across the street from Safeway to pick up groceries or toiletries, walking distance to all the shops/restaurants of downtown one direction, and walking distance to many other hotels and their restaurants going the other way.
- The staff was very friendly
-Lobby and front of hotel looks very nice
-Good restaurant for breakfast before heading out for the day. Similar to a Denny's in the USA or a diner type place. Big servings and could probably share some of the entrees.
-Free underground parking

Ok, now for the Bad
- The rooms are incredibly dated, worn and tired. This was probably the most trivial of our complaints as we were in Banff to see the Rockies and did not plan on sitting in our room all day. Just overall, know what you are getting into and the rooms could use a major makeover/facelift. The bathroom was also pretty cramped and small.
-No air conditioning; this probably is not a factor the bulk of the year in Banff, but if you are going in the summer months the rooms were very hot and uncomfortable. We went in August and it was in the 80s during the day and only got down to the 70s-60s at night and the room just never cooled down. Sleep was not very good because of the heat in the rooms at night. Being in the mountains, this shouldn't be an issue once again most of the year, but if coming in the summer take note.
-A big issue for us- the hotel also advertises free internet. We were relying on this feature and it was part of the reason we chose this hotel. We wanted to be able to Skype family back home as well as access Tripadvisor and maps to help plan the details of what we were going to do the next day. We could never get online accept in the middle of the night or very early morning as too many people were on the server and it couldn't handle it. So if you in need of wifi for work or on your trip for whatever reason, note that you will get very frustrated and will hardly be able to get on.
-Cleanliness/beg bugs. So I saved the best, or should I say worst for last. The first room we were given upon our arrival had not been cleaned after the previous guests and had bed bugs. We unpacked and I began to examine my bed before climbing in it for the night. I noticed there were long black hairs all over the comforter and pillow. We were tired after traveling all day and I figured I'd address it the next day. I sat on the bed watching the news and noticed things moving. Little red bugs! I pulled the mattress cover up and sure enough in the seams of the mattress there were more of them! I've never been so grossed out in my life. At this point it's 11pm and we had to repack all of our belongings, make sure we didn't get any stowaways, and had to switch rooms. No bugs in the other room that we saw, but def. not how you want to start your vacation! So once again, no bug/sanitary issues in our second room, but one of them def. had a bed bug infestation going on.

Overall, if you can afford somewhere else nearby, I'd say it would be worth it to spend the extra money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Travelinteacher,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We have taken good note of your comments during your recent stay with us and I was deeply concerned to learn of the unfortunate experience you encountered with our services and facilities. We pride ourselves in offering only the best to our guests and the hotel can absolutely say that it has not received any further reports or concerns with regard to possible bed bug incidents or any other insect type occurrence.

With regards to the rooms as a whole please be assured the carpets are vacuumed daily, and steamed cleaned regularly, and the rooms and bathrooms are cleaned from top to bottom daily as well. Your comments are being reviewed with the Executive Housekeeper to ensure a better service in the future.

I certainly hope its one step closer to reinstating your confidence in how much we care about your experience.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went there for only one night, it was nice hotel. We asked for mountain view but didn't got one....service was good and location was perfect. there are many cheap eats, but basically pizzas and sandwiches...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Property seems to have gone downhill,since my last visit a few years ago
Spa could use a good cleaning
Trash in the parking lot
Staff really busy
Just didn't seem to be as nice or friendly as before
Lots of small details not looked after properly

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Lisa

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We are very sorry and deeply regret that our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in offering only the best to our guests and assure this experience is not common with that of our standards.

We are grateful for your constructive comments. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments which will help us improve and maintain our standards.

Thank you for sharing with us and we truly look forward to welcoming you back to Banff again.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend family getaway in Dec 2012 and despite the kids disappointment that there was no pool, we found the hot tub, steam room and sauna a nice relaxing break from our room. Service was good and underground parking was nice. It's nicely located in the heart of downtown Banff and easy stroll to all the shops, restaurants and outdoor skating across the street. Thanks for a nice stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Love2Eatz

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was glad to read that you had a good experience during your recent stay with us. We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to welcoming you and your family upon your return to Banff.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I arrived from Vancouver on 20th December hoping for a white Xmas. We were greeted by Alyce at reception and immediately felt welcomed. She was so helpful. The hotel is a little dated however, it felt very cosy. The bedroom had a view of the surrounding snow capped mountains and was quiet roomy. The bed was very comfortable. Their restaurant (Ricky's) was probably our only disappointment. Whilst we didn't eat their often, a couple of the meals were average, however, I wouldn't let that stop me from staying there as the town is full of great restaurants and cafes. Overall, our stay from the 20th to Boxing Day (6 nights) was very enjoyable. I would certainly recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Michael

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you in-house. I have also taken the liberty of sharing your specific comments with our team member who made an extra positive impact during your stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 9 nights and had a lovely time. Check in was fast and efficient and the member of staff on the desk friendly and welcoming.

The room was very clean, a very good size, well maintained, warm and cozy. The room had two queen size beds which were very comfortable. Bathroom was spotlessly clean and well maintained.

Staff throughout our stay were always friendly and happy to help, from bus timings to various attractions, to Safeway opening times. This hotel is in a superb location, very close to Banff town centre, shops, and a large number of bars and restaurants.

We had breakfast at Ricky's All Day Grill which is located within the hotel. Food was excellent and the service quick and friendly. We frequented the bar on many occasions and always received great service.

The one and only minor criticism I have is the consistency of the complimentary wifi. Signal in the room was erratic and at times we were unable to log on. Had to go into the lobby area to get a connection. Hopefully that can be remedied fairly easily. That said, it's a free wifi facility so I am grateful for that!!

Thank you to the hotel staff for a wonderful stay. Will definately be back to stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Bill

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received during your stay with us.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team found it a joy to have hosted you.

We are grateful for your constructive comments which will help us improve and maintain our standards. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments.

Thank you again, we truly look forward to hosting your next trip to Banff.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.