We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 33 hotels in Banff
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I arrived from Vancouver on 20th December hoping for a white Xmas. We were greeted by Alyce at reception and immediately felt welcomed. She was so helpful. The hotel is a little dated however, it felt very cosy. The bedroom had a view of the surrounding snow capped mountains and was quiet roomy. The bed was very comfortable. Their restaurant (Ricky's) was probably our only disappointment. Whilst we didn't eat their often, a couple of the meals were average, however, I wouldn't let that stop me from staying there as the town is full of great restaurants and cafes. Overall, our stay from the 20th to Boxing Day (6 nights) was very enjoyable. I would certainly recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Michael

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you in-house. I have also taken the liberty of sharing your specific comments with our team member who made an extra positive impact during your stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    126
    81
    30
    15
See reviews for
84
114
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 9 nights and had a lovely time. Check in was fast and efficient and the member of staff on the desk friendly and welcoming.

The room was very clean, a very good size, well maintained, warm and cozy. The room had two queen size beds which were very comfortable. Bathroom was spotlessly clean and well maintained.

Staff throughout our stay were always friendly and happy to help, from bus timings to various attractions, to Safeway opening times. This hotel is in a superb location, very close to Banff town centre, shops, and a large number of bars and restaurants.

We had breakfast at Ricky's All Day Grill which is located within the hotel. Food was excellent and the service quick and friendly. We frequented the bar on many occasions and always received great service.

The one and only minor criticism I have is the consistency of the complimentary wifi. Signal in the room was erratic and at times we were unable to log on. Had to go into the lobby area to get a connection. Hopefully that can be remedied fairly easily. That said, it's a free wifi facility so I am grateful for that!!

Thank you to the hotel staff for a wonderful stay. Will definately be back to stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Bill

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We were pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received during your stay with us.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team found it a joy to have hosted you.

We are grateful for your constructive comments which will help us improve and maintain our standards. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments.

Thank you again, we truly look forward to hosting your next trip to Banff.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Hotel room was quaint, but hallway noise was ridiculous. Might as well be trying to sleep in the hallway. It's impossible to sleep without earplugs. Hotel restaurant took 67 minutes to serve breakfast, they then got the order wrong, then had the audacity to kindly discount the meal by 25%. An electrical outlet was damaged and likely dangerous. Front desk staff were polite but useless when asked for information. Calls to request the hallway noise be dealt with seem to have been ignored.

I've been coming to Banff for decades, and this is my worst hotel experience ever.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear R_sparrow

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We have taken note of your comments and deeply regret that you were not 100% satisfied during your recent stay. We pride ourselves in offering only the best to our guests and assure this experience is not common with that of our standards.

We always strive to ensure that our guests are happy during their stay. We thank you for your
constructive comments which will help us to improve and maintain our standards. I have taken the liberty of sharing them with the appropriate departments.


Thank you again, we truly look forward to serving you in the near future

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts

Manager on duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The check in staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean. It also had a good view of the mountains. The only thing that might be an issue is that there is no air conditioning in the room and it was really hot when we were in Banff. However, opening the windows worked fine. We had Breakfast included in the stay. What was on offer was the 2 by 5. Which was 2 of 5 different things. The restaurant staff seemed surprised when we said that would be too much food but were happy to replace it by something smaller.
We loved Banff and enjoyed going up Sulphur Mountain.
We would definitely come back to Banff and stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went to a conference in Banff last week and we found the Banff Internation Hotel to be a good place to stay - in the heart of the town. We found the rooms clean, the hotel comfortable, and the food was better than expected. For the price, we were delighted.

Room Tip: Any room is decent at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Datt,

Thank you for sharing your Banff International Hotel experience! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team is humbled and found it a joy to have you and your family in -house.

We look forward to serving you again on your next Banff getaway.


Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

There was nothing spectacular about this hotel except its location. It is located on Banff Avenue, the main road in town. It was within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants.

Customer service was below average. The check in process was very robotic and the person didn't even smile. It seemed that we were bothering her just by checking in. She told us where everything was located in the hotel, including the pool and sauna, but I couldn't find it. There is a business center in the lobby, but it costs a few bucks to use. Wireless internet is complimentary throughout the hotel.

We were in room 202, which was a corner room. It was fairly large, but it looked like the other rooms were smaller in size from looking at the map on the back of the door. The beds were actually extremely comfortable; it was very soft! The room had a nice sitting area by the window and a small desk. The TV had a lot of stations to keep us entertained. The restroom was a bit small compared to the rest of the room, but it was good enough. The only thing I didn't like about the room is that every single bulb was an energy-efficient compact fluorescent bulb and I felt like I was at the gas station at night.

One point of contention about the cleanliness of the room is that I found a strand of curly hair on the shower wall, so I'm not sure the restroom was properly cleaned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Boys in NY,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

We are very sorry and deeply regret that our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in offering only the best to our guests and assure this experience is not common with that of our standards.

We are grateful for your constructive comments. I have taken the liberty to share them with the appropriate departments.

This will help us improve and maintain our standards.

Thank you for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great location in the heart of the rockies 2min walk from Banff town centre. Mountain view from most rooms. Accomodation was very clean and spacious, staff friendly and willing to help at every opportunity.

Room Tip: Be careful how you book you can get better deals through travel websites than direct through the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Jason,

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel!

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us, and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look truly forward to serving you and your family again in the near future.


Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.