We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel, Nice location. Poor internet service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Curitiba, PR
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel, Nice location. Poor internet service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Hotel's highest quality is its location. The rooms are hot and there is no air conditioning web windows are opened the air conditioned machines make to much noise. The internet access, although free is so slow it is impossible to use (it would be mire reasonable to charge and offer a decent access).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    195
    120
    40
    21
See reviews for
112
170
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Pinas
Top Contributor
1,076 reviews 1,076 reviews
216 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
596 helpful votes 596 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good location close to shops and restaurants. Pleasant and helpful staff. Clean, spacious room with comfortable bed. Value for money - I was pleasantly surprised that it was such a good find. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed here for four nights in July 2012. I was very surprised at just how good this hotel was - as given the price in comparison to other hotels in the town, I expected to be disappointed. But no way. The room was a great size - two queen size beds, nice sized bathroom - with a bath. Even coffee and tea making facilities. I really couldn't fault this hotel - and would highly recommend it - unless you're set on throwing away $800 per night (summer price) at the Fairmont. Personally I'd say that staying here and visiting the Fairmont for afternoon tea is a much better idea! Great location too.

Room Tip: eat out - restaurant not good. But the location is so great, eating out is almost compulsory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Bad location across from Safeway store on very busy street corner with noise of shoppers, kids and tour buses all day and night. Beautiful and artistic design features overlying totally dysfunctional engineering aspects-e.g. need two elevators to go from underground garage (with 6-foot, 1-inch vehicle clearance) to 5th-floor--which is really third floor with different number.
Large room with tasteful furnishings and no closet, tiny bath shelf space, no Air conditioning, occasional flushing toilet....
Also features less than mediocre grill that offers 45 minute wait for food to be cooked...all for only about $190 per night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This past week I stayed at the BI Hotel. Overall, it was an excellent hotel. Customer service was fantastic. The only problem I experienced was controlling the room temperature. In the evening the room temperature, was very high with two fans running. We tried to lower the temperature manually, but the temperature stayed the same. If I return to Banff, I would stay at the Banff International Hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Pleasant hotel, excellent location, good facilities other than no pool just whirlpool, steam room and sauna. No cooling air con in room just a couple of fans which is fine in the winter but torture in the summer. Cleaning staff were really friendly and happy! Bar staff saw us waiting for a drink and ignored us. So we went else where after waiting ages. Breakfast was included so we ate at Rucky's all day grill located in the hotel. Tea was cold and quality was average. Staff seemed spread thin.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback. We are pleased that your stay was pleasant overall. Regarding your experience at the bar and with breakfast: it will be addressed immediately. While that does not change what occured, we hope to host you again in the beautiful Rocky mountains.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just stayed one night at this hotel as we wrap up our trip passing through Banff. Its disappointing from the moment we walk into the hotel lobby. It was dimly lit and the size was small, giving it a non-welcoming atmosphere. It was mid-evening and we were exhausted from the road trip from BC so we were really ready to settle down to a nice room. The front desk gentleman looked like he was out of energy or just in pain to be working there. He did not greet, smile or even have any enthusiasm to be there. Check in was 10 minutes which is fine for us but it felt longer due to the lack of friendliness. While checking in, we asked for the Wi-Fi availability and he said he will provide it to us afterwards. After we received the key cards, he forgot to give us the information so he just blurted out the password as if it was a chore. We left the lobby and tried to park our car in the complimentary parkade in the basement. The entrance to the parkade is about a block and a half to turn around behind the hotel which is annoying and easily missed. Once there, we do not even know if we parked at the right place because there are no clear signage indicating it belongs to “Banff International Hotel”. We only assumed its right. Then back to the lobby and there are two elevators serving this 3 storey hotel. It was fairly fast to get and once we got out of the elevator, we were met with a low ceiling hallway that makes you feel claustrophobic. The wall paper and carpeting is dated and looks dingy. Once we swiped the key cards in the door, we went in the door and was greeted by an old musty, older apartment like stale smell. We ran and opened the small window quickly to air out the room. The source is the bathroom and we took a look around as we found the floor dirty which is a sign that the rest of the room would not be good either. And there is a ring around the toilet bowl from neglect. The counter is cheap pressed plastic covered surface. Just a frameless mirror above the sink. The tub was lower than standard, and the shower curtain was not even long enough to cover the entire length of the tub. For friction, they provided a bath mat with those little suction cups to use still. We were careful not to pull it too much to the front or else water would be splashed outside. The towels are thick but there are only 3 towels total given! (two bath towels and one face towel.)
Standard toiletries given including shower cap. The area where the two queen beds are does not smell any better. Surprisingly in the cabinet, there is a 32” LCD TV! There is a small desk to work on with a non-wheeled chair, an arm chair with a small coffee table also there. One nightstand only in between the two queens. The beds and bedding are adequate. Two pillows and a sham pillow per bed as well. There is a wall mounted air conditioner we could not get working as it was not user friendly. The wall mounted thermostat did not respond either. At this time, we were just too tired to call the unfriendly front desk clerk to address the smell of the room, the bathroom cleanliness, air conditioning state and lack of sufficient towels. Its just one night to survive so we just slummed it with the window open. I rather breathe the fresh air than this stale musty air.
There is a full serviced restaurant in the lobby but can’t comment on it since we didn’t eat there.
For $189 + taxes, this hotel is so not worth it. A disappointing end to our vacation.
The three things that this hotel has going for it is the good location on the main strip and the amount of amenities surrounding it. Shopping, restaurants and variety of people watching.
If you dislike noise, don't stay here cause a lot of cars pass by here also.

Room Tip: If you want location, this is for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for giving us your feedback on your recent stay. Your comments are taken to heart and we aspire to respond to the issues your review raises.

We were sorry to hear about your check-in experience. Normally, our check-ins are fast (3 mins), efficient, friendly, and informative. We apologize that this was not the case upon your arrival and this issue will be addressed with our staff. We will also address the issues you found with your assigned room. Our housekeeping department has won numerous awards for cleanliness. It is unacceptable that your room was not up to standard.

Should you ever come back to Banff, we would be happy to have the opportunity to provide you with excellent all-around hospitality.

Sincerely, and with Kind Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.