We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

A really nice hotel, and well placed at the bottom of the main street in Banff. Lovely well set rooms, quite big with a decent sized bathroom, lovely and clean also. We had a great view straight up the main street and could see the gondola ride on the mountain further up. We had a buffet breakfast with the room which was pretty standard fare but all hot and lots of it. Good service and underground parking at the hotel also. The only thing missing really was an outdoor pool (there is an indoor one) but as the surrounding area was so fantastic that didnt really matter in the end! Recommended!!

Room Tip: All good, though try and avoid one at the back because of the train line!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    171
    113
    40
    21
See reviews for
104
158
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kimberley, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We chose this hotel for a quick getaway based on its central location and convenience, and the Banff International Hotel fit the bill. I am on crutches and wanted a place which would be no more than a few blocks from downtown. We had some service issues that are reflected in the 3/5 rating.

The first issue arose upon check-in: After going through the entire process of checking in, the front desk agent informed us that the underground parkade was full and that we would have to park on the street somewhere. If you've ever spent time in Banff, you'll know that this is no easy feat. While I (who cannot drive at the moment) am familiar with the town, my friend is not and was left to drive around and around and finally found a spot three blocks away.

We were never offered any suggestions as to where we might find a place to park where we wouldn't be paying by the hour or get towed. I eventually asked somebody who seemed to be a supervisor (?) for help and was given a map and some directions. Why they don't automatically offer that information is beyond me.

Just to clarify, the staff were not at all rude, but could definitely have gone only a TINY bit further and thrown us a bone.... the attitude was: " I don't know what to tell you.... you're on your own". I get that real estate is at a premium in Banff, but I've never stayed ANYWHERE that you cannot park at your own hotel. Frustrating.

When we finally got sorted, we found ourselves in a very average room. I'm not super fussy and it was fine. It was clean, which is the most important thing to me. We were in a dark corner of the property so not much natural light, but was okay for our purposes. The only thing I would comment on was the lighting in the room. The lamps located on one side of the room didn't throw enough light for us to sit and hang out, but the bedside "interrogation lights" were so strong, you couldn't stand to have even one of those turned on! So we sat in the dark. :-) Not a huge big deal, I guess, but a little bit annoying. Liked the mini-fridge!

We were out for most of the night, had a good sleep and went to check out. Of course, we were amongst the rest of the Sunday morning "herd", all checking out at the last minute and hung over.... so I get that things are a bit hectic at that time. My issue here was with the chain restaurant located in the lobby where we were hoping to have breakfast. Hoping.

We enquired after a table for two, and were told that it would be a 40 minute wait for food. They had just served a couple of large groups and were behind on orders. "Okay", we said. At least two-thirds of the tables were empty, but they would not seat us, told us we would have to wait out in the lobby. " What?" I'm a server myself and I don't understand why you would not let people at least sit down and have coffee or maybe a caesar. Brutal!! We left, and waited 40 minutes somewhere else, LOL! It just ticked me off. Don't irritate a hungover middle-aged woman on a full moon...

That's my rant.... it's not a horrible place, but if you have mobility issues, ask in advance about the parking situation, maybe they can do something for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Rooms are quite large and more than adequate for 2 guys going skiing. Well located and within easy access to restaurants and nightlife

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omak, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Pictures on the website made this place look better than it was but I would stay there again based on value and location. Right in the heart of downtown Banff it was an easy walk to all the shops and restaurants in town. There was an indoor hot tub, dry sauna and steam room which was nice, especially for the skiers in town. Staff were very personable and helpful. Although underground parking came with the accommodation, the height restriction was a joke. Anyone with a vehicle over 6'1" could not make clearance. There was really no view from our room even though it was listed as a view room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

First off I will say the staff were out of the world in how they looked after everything. Got our room and then took us out and showed us the parking spot where they said large trucks should park. The rooms were very clean and set up for ur family needs.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are great for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay NSW
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

great hotel, clean, non smoking. Staff friendly, awesome location

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

While staying at the Banff International in December 2011, we found it to be Brialliant in every way. The welcome was warm and informative, the room was cosy, clean, quiet and well equiped, the location was perfect - just on the edge of town, but an easy walk into the centre for all the shops, and everywhere you turned, beautiful snow capped mountains. Attached to the hotel is Ricky's Bar and Grill - now if you love your food, and plenty of it for a extremely good price, this is the place to go!, we had all meals there - we couldnt find anywhere else to match the value for money, and again, the staff were Great!!!. We cannot rate the Hotel or Ricky's high enough - go there and see for yourself!.

Room Tip: We stayed in Loft Guest Room - two queens in loft, and double / sitting area with loung, table and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.