We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top rates, mediocure facility” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Banff International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
St. Albert
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Top rates, mediocure facility”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Only good thing was location, rooms have no a/c, updated executive suite had window to no where, bed coverings were stained, had to have them changed.
Staff did respond quickly , underground parking was Ok.
Overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: Pick different facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    199
    122
    40
    21
See reviews for
113
173
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I stayed at Banff International Hotel for 1 night, as part of a group tour, in Sept 2011. Paid additional $ to upgrade to this hotel.

This hotel is located within 5 mins walk to the town centre, and there is a Safeway supermarket across the street. I had a room facing the mountain (which is good). However there is a train track nearby (believe it's between the mountain and the hotel) and I was awaken at least 3 times around 1am, 2am and 5am. I could also hear people chatting on the street late at night. I believe those rooms facing the interior (with no view) are quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was within walking distance to shopping/dining/night-life. Very affordable and decent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thank you for posting your valuable feedback. I will pass your comments on to our staff.

Daren - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. A five minute walk to downtown. Rooms deperately need updating. Pink ripped wallpaper, badly stained carpets, no A/C. Told we were staying in the premier room, I called down to say we mustve been given the wrong room...Nope!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
783 helpful votes 783 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Someone told me this is the only hotel that closest to the shopping area. Tho there is nothing to shop.
The hotel has a plenty space for our big luggage, big bed and comfortable. Breakfast was soso.

Overall experience, yes, it was good and affordable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This hotel is on the main strip of Banff. The surrounding area is awesome and this makes for an easy jumping off point. It's not fancy but the rooms are comfortable, with HD TV's. The hotel restaurant is pretty much a diner, but was great for breakfast. If you are looking for a memorable weekend, this might not be the place for you. If you're looking for a clean, comfortable and reasonable place to sleep while exploring Banff, this will do the trick. Two notes: the garage clearance is really low, but the hotel supplies a parking pass at the Safeway across the street. Also, our room didn't have it's own thermostat. It was a little warm but the ceiling fan helped.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This Hotel is right in the middle of it all at Banff and Elk and walking distance to all the sights and shopping - Safeway grocery/pharmacy, all the downtown shops, souvenir stores and the eateries, the Bow River Bridge, Museum and the historic Gardens across the Bridge.

We were in one of the Loft rooms, with 2 double beds upstairs and a double bed on the lower level, the rooms were very spacious and ours had a nice mountain view. There was no AC but this was not missed, the high ceiling fan plus the portable fan generated enough breeze and coolness - even though it was July, temps were low enough that we had to close the window at night. In addition there was free WIFI, two 40" LCDs, coffee maker and a small fridge - perfect for late night snacking and early morning breakfast. The beds were comfy, there were lots of towels and toiletries, and even a collapsable clothesline to take care of small laundry stuff. All in all, a wonderful base to explore the scenic Banff area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bihguestservices, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
I am very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and in Banff. Your comments are greatly appreciated and I truly thank you for taking your time out to share them.


Daren - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.