We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not an Hotel it is a Hostel!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Avenue Inn

Banff Avenue Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banff Avenue Inn
Save
You added Banff Avenue Inn to your Saves list
433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Albourne West Sussex
1 review
“This is not an Hotel it is a Hostel!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

Booked this place through Crystal for 15 people have written a complaint to them as the brochure is very misleading.Spent 10 nights there and we have been skiing together all over Europe for 10 years and this was our first trip to Canada,Hotel is by far the worst we have stayed in.
Good points:Rooms were the largest for a family of 4 we have ever stayed in.
Evening meals were great a choice of 2 dishes for every course ordered in the morning.
Hotel in main high street,5 mins. to shops & right next to bus pick-up to ski slopes in the morning.
the hotel is extremely warm(especially dining room),bedrooms get too hot during the night but you cannot open the windows as the noise throughout the night is continuous(dustman at 6.00am).
Bad to absolutely unbelievably bad points:
Room was never cleaned properly or hoovered , only enough hanging space & drawers for 2 persons not 4.
Breakfast was a continental type,if you asked for a cooked one you needed a microscope to see it (1/2Tomato, small piece of bacon, 2 Mushrooms).You always had to ask for more butter,Jam,Bread etc. as the staff never kept an eye on the stock.Orange & Apple juice run out after 2 days and was not replaced for 4 days.
Evening food was great but although the brochure says you have a choice of 6.30 or 8.15 you don't as they tell you what sitting you can have if the hotel is full, which it was.
there are no childrens meals at all.
Wine and soft drinks are supposed to be complementary with your meal but one night while still eating they refused to give us any more wine & the waitress(who had obviously had no service training ) eventually gave us another carafe but it was pretty obvious it had been watered down.
The dining room is extremely small and cramped whilst the reception area/lounge area is extremely small and sits about 6 people it also has a computer with broadband which costs $10 a week although this packed up 3 days before we left and nobody especially the female manager seemed interested in getting repaired. Both these areas in the brochure are described as 'COSY'.
The skiing on the slopes is fantastic, wide runs,deep powdery snow, Sunshine is the best.So your boots can become a bit wet,when you get back to the hotel,no boot room.
Hotel is 3 storeys high,no lift! Mondays the staff have the day off,gives you the chance to look at other hotels and restaurants,try either Tony Romas or The Keg great food. Do not ask for a room near the ice machine it has the same decibels as a boeing 757 aeroplane!
A lot of the staff were devoid of any personality,the receptionist was going back to England as she had just qualified as an accountant (does'nt that tell you everthing) I'm sorry but there are so many better hotels(hostels as well) to stay in Banff than this one.
Good job we had a good set of friends with us to ease the pain,
Terry

  • Liked — Large Bedroom
  • Disliked — Lack of space in the Hotel/Poor facilities/too small
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    2
    9
    4
See reviews for
7
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

Nearly changed my booking after reading the reviews. I was pleasantly surprised when we were ushered into a large room with a super king bed, a jacuzzi bath with a spacious toilet and shower off it. We had a very comfortable stay here, the beds are wonderful. The staff couldn't have been nicer. It could have done with a wee dust along the venetian blinds but overall toilet and bath clean. I have 3 teenagers who can amuse themselves . However after dinner there isn't much to do as the lounge area is small and I never realised that children can't get into licensed premises ie. to participate in line dancing, play pool or listen to music. The skiing was awesome and the canadians very well mannered compared to the europeans.

  • Liked — the spacious room
  • Disliked — the small lounge area
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

my wife and i have just returned from the banff ave inn. before leaving i read some of the reviews and to be honest wondered if we had made the right choice. i can safely say we had no problems and would recommend the inn. food was good ,staff friendly and helpful , rooms always clean. my only comment would be that i would like to have had a ski/ boot room where boots could be put on warmers overnight and at only having 18 rooms would not really see this as to much expense, but beneficial in the long term. boots had to be taken to the room and although not a problem could be improved. i can only say that the staff who were at the inn when we were made us welcome and put the other reviews to the back of our minds. we would return and hopefully be treated the same as we were this time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

We stayed at Banff Avenue Inn in February 2008.
During the winter season the hotel is taken over and run by Crystal Ski and what a great job they make of it.
The hotel is very clean, the rooms are massive and the Jacuzzi is great after a days skiing.
Breakfast is a buffet of cold meat, pastries and breads and each day a hot breakfast is offered.
Afternoon tea is a selection of cheese, olives and cold meat with a choice of at least two cakes with as much tea and coffee as you can drink.
The evening meal is two sittings 18:30 or 20.00hrs. You choose at breakfast which sitting you would like. You also have a choice of two starters and two main courses each day. These are not run of the mill meals but fresh fish, quality meats and something different each day. They are happy to cater for vegetarians and others with particular requirements.
The staff are great and bend over backwards to help.
Ski lockers are very handy in the underground car park and the ski bus stops nearly outside.
The main shopping, eating and drinking places are 5 min stroll down the road.
We will be going back soon.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales,uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

We were a family of five, including two children, 10 months and 7 years old.
This is not a hotel for children, no lounge to relax in, and the dining room too small. Meals in two sittings.
There is no menu for children, and definately not for babies. The menu is varied. No famous Canadian breakfast and the sausage sandwich for one morning was a little strange.
On the cleanliness side this hotel scores a big fat NIL.
In our 14 day stay,the carpet in our room was not hoovered once and even at requests were told that it was not hotel policy to hoover rooms, even though we could hear the corridors outside our room being hoovered daily??
The staff are friendly and do what they can but on Mondays they all take the day off and you fend for yourselves. Not what I wanted to hear with a baby in tow.
Would we stay there again?..........That's a definate....NO!!!!!!!!!!!
Would we recommend?.................Again a definate.....NO!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr scotland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

We were a family of 5 staying at the Banff Avenue Inn over New Year. Our experience was mixed. We found the rooms spacious and they had everything we needed - chairs, table, TV etc. and the beds were very comfortable (although we agree with others it could do much better on the cleanliness side!), the food was of a good quality and the menu selections varied. Breakfast was very basic by Canadian standards. It was disappointing though that the dinner times changed - sometimes 6 pm (too early after a day on the slopes) to 8.30 (verging on being too late). On two occassions we were unable to get our menu choice as the food had run out despite having ordered in in the morning. The staff were young and pleasant enough, one girl in particular offered advice and shared ideas. The bar doubled as the dining room and the tables were very close together - not the most comforatble place to relax for a drink in the evenings. The place was friendly and had a relaxed approach - maybe too relaxed on the cleanliness front. All in all we had a comfortable stay although I feel this place has the potential to be much better and could be a real gem with a little more effort.

  • Liked — The beds and the bath!
  • Disliked — The bar area
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

I read the reviews for the Banff Avenue Inn and was a little dubious to be booking this place.

The bad reviews relate to things that are petty in my opinion.

Yeah .... this place is run by a bunch of young people who are there for a life experience, paid little but get great perks like free meals, accomodation and ski passes.

Yeah, the room could have been a little cleaner since found previous occupiers stuff under the beds.

Yeah, you only get fresh towels half way through the week and you only get complimentary soap and shampoo, etc on the first day.

Let's GET A GRIP NOW !

The rooms had beds to sleep in (most comfortable at that), TV's to watch (tons of channels), hot water and were clean !

The hotel staff were brilliant. Couldn't help you enough and so friendly and considerate.

The food ...... well ...... Dan the Chef ! What can I say but FANTASTIC.

You get a choice in the morning of the evening meal and it was every day faultless.

Plus free wine while you are eating you meal (not at breakfast as that would be just wrong ... !)

The location is perfect, right on Banff ave, a small strole to shops, restaurants and bars ...... 5 mins tops.

BOOK THIS if you are considering it .... you will not be dissapointed !

Thanks Banff Avenue Inn staff for an unforgettable stay ..... I'll be back !

Hope this help !

  • Liked — Did everthing it said on the tin ! - Food and staff were fantastic
  • Disliked — Not alot. If I were to be snobby, the rooms could have been a tad cleaner like under beds but I ain't a snob. Think of the mess under most peoples beds at home !!!!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Avenue Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Avenue Inn

Address: 433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Avenue Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.