We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Avenue Inn

Banff Avenue Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banff Avenue Inn
Save Saved
You added Banff Avenue Inn to your Saves list
433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
oxford
1 review
“good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

my wife and i have just returned from the banff ave inn. before leaving i read some of the reviews and to be honest wondered if we had made the right choice. i can safely say we had no problems and would recommend the inn. food was good ,staff friendly and helpful , rooms always clean. my only comment would be that i would like to have had a ski/ boot room where boots could be put on warmers overnight and at only having 18 rooms would not really see this as to much expense, but beneficial in the long term. boots had to be taken to the room and although not a problem could be improved. i can only say that the staff who were at the inn when we were made us welcome and put the other reviews to the back of our minds. we would return and hopefully be treated the same as we were this time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    2
    9
    4
See reviews for
7
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

We stayed at Banff Avenue Inn in February 2008.
During the winter season the hotel is taken over and run by Crystal Ski and what a great job they make of it.
The hotel is very clean, the rooms are massive and the Jacuzzi is great after a days skiing.
Breakfast is a buffet of cold meat, pastries and breads and each day a hot breakfast is offered.
Afternoon tea is a selection of cheese, olives and cold meat with a choice of at least two cakes with as much tea and coffee as you can drink.
The evening meal is two sittings 18:30 or 20.00hrs. You choose at breakfast which sitting you would like. You also have a choice of two starters and two main courses each day. These are not run of the mill meals but fresh fish, quality meats and something different each day. They are happy to cater for vegetarians and others with particular requirements.
The staff are great and bend over backwards to help.
Ski lockers are very handy in the underground car park and the ski bus stops nearly outside.
The main shopping, eating and drinking places are 5 min stroll down the road.
We will be going back soon.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales,uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

We were a family of five, including two children, 10 months and 7 years old.
This is not a hotel for children, no lounge to relax in, and the dining room too small. Meals in two sittings.
There is no menu for children, and definately not for babies. The menu is varied. No famous Canadian breakfast and the sausage sandwich for one morning was a little strange.
On the cleanliness side this hotel scores a big fat NIL.
In our 14 day stay,the carpet in our room was not hoovered once and even at requests were told that it was not hotel policy to hoover rooms, even though we could hear the corridors outside our room being hoovered daily??
The staff are friendly and do what they can but on Mondays they all take the day off and you fend for yourselves. Not what I wanted to hear with a baby in tow.
Would we stay there again?..........That's a definate....NO!!!!!!!!!!!
Would we recommend?.................Again a definate.....NO!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr scotland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

We were a family of 5 staying at the Banff Avenue Inn over New Year. Our experience was mixed. We found the rooms spacious and they had everything we needed - chairs, table, TV etc. and the beds were very comfortable (although we agree with others it could do much better on the cleanliness side!), the food was of a good quality and the menu selections varied. Breakfast was very basic by Canadian standards. It was disappointing though that the dinner times changed - sometimes 6 pm (too early after a day on the slopes) to 8.30 (verging on being too late). On two occassions we were unable to get our menu choice as the food had run out despite having ordered in in the morning. The staff were young and pleasant enough, one girl in particular offered advice and shared ideas. The bar doubled as the dining room and the tables were very close together - not the most comforatble place to relax for a drink in the evenings. The place was friendly and had a relaxed approach - maybe too relaxed on the cleanliness front. All in all we had a comfortable stay although I feel this place has the potential to be much better and could be a real gem with a little more effort.

  • Liked — The beds and the bath!
  • Disliked — The bar area
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

I read the reviews for the Banff Avenue Inn and was a little dubious to be booking this place.

The bad reviews relate to things that are petty in my opinion.

Yeah .... this place is run by a bunch of young people who are there for a life experience, paid little but get great perks like free meals, accomodation and ski passes.

Yeah, the room could have been a little cleaner since found previous occupiers stuff under the beds.

Yeah, you only get fresh towels half way through the week and you only get complimentary soap and shampoo, etc on the first day.

Let's GET A GRIP NOW !

The rooms had beds to sleep in (most comfortable at that), TV's to watch (tons of channels), hot water and were clean !

The hotel staff were brilliant. Couldn't help you enough and so friendly and considerate.

The food ...... well ...... Dan the Chef ! What can I say but FANTASTIC.

You get a choice in the morning of the evening meal and it was every day faultless.

Plus free wine while you are eating you meal (not at breakfast as that would be just wrong ... !)

The location is perfect, right on Banff ave, a small strole to shops, restaurants and bars ...... 5 mins tops.

BOOK THIS if you are considering it .... you will not be dissapointed !

Thanks Banff Avenue Inn staff for an unforgettable stay ..... I'll be back !

Hope this help !

  • Liked — Did everthing it said on the tin ! - Food and staff were fantastic
  • Disliked — Not alot. If I were to be snobby, the rooms could have been a tad cleaner like under beds but I ain't a snob. Think of the mess under most peoples beds at home !!!!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

We stayed here over Christmas and New Year 07/08, and I was pretty concerned over what we might have let ourselves in for given some of the reviews on here. But we had a brilliant time. The staff were charming, always ready to help - they all came from the ski operator company and were all of university age or so. They were lovely and couldn't have made our stay easier. The food was outstanding - really top notch, what I would expect from a good restaurant - and the wine was free-flowing and not bad given it was included in the price! Maybe there has been a change of management since the other reviews were written. They gave us all Molton Brown presents on Christmas Day, and the atmosphere in the Inn the whole time was very friendly and relaxed. Of course not everything was perfect, but then if you want somewhere faultless to stay then you're unlikely to stay in a catered chalet in the first place! Having the food and wine inlcluded meant we could splash out on other things. They did a brilliant job and I thoroughly recommend staying there.

  • Liked — The jacuzzi baths - perfect for soothing away aches and pains after a day of skiing!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

Firstly the positives. The place looks good, the Honeymoon suite was lovely, great location.
Now the negatives. Where do we begin? On arrival we found the parking lot (underground) was a nightmare to get in and the parking spaces were the tightest we've seen in Canada and the US. When we mentioned this to the guy who checked us in he seemed surprised. Check in was poor. No-one at the desk to greet us and we had to phone somewhere (where I don't know but we didn't pay for call) to get someone along to check us in. We stayed 5 nights in total and our room was never cleaned in all that time. The only evidence we had of anyone coming to the room was the bed being made and that was it. Bins not emptied, toiletries not replaced (very minor), towels not replaced with clean ones and no hoovering of the floor. Also noticed that the dirty bed linen bags were piled up against the fire exit doors.
We didn't have any food whilst here as we went to the Keg at the Banff Caribou Lodge instead which we would highly recommend. We also agree that the whole place does have a hostel feel about it which is strange given the outside. Would we stay here again? Absolutely not!

  • Liked — our jacuzzi room
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Avenue Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Avenue Inn

Address: 433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Avenue Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.