We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irwin's Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Irwin's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Irwin's Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Winnipeg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Great Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

A good budget hotel. It has a great location on the main road, an easy walk to shops and restaurants. I found the staff very helpful and friendly. My husband and I shared a suite with my sister and her husband and we really liked having a mini fridge and table and couch area to relax in. We also took advantage of the really nice hot tub and sauna area on the main floor- looks newly renovated. Overall a great place to stay while in Banff!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    159
    69
    10
    10
See reviews for
108
123
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

I booked this through Hotwire and got an excellent rate, although I did check on their website as well and the regular rates are a great value for Banff. It's located on the main road in Banff so it's easy to get anywhere. The room we had was their standard room with 2 queen beds. The beds were extremely comfortable and had lots of pillows which I like a lot. The room was very clean and I noticed even the hallways here smelled really nice. We didn't use the hot tub but I took a look in there and it was very clean. They have underground parking but our vehicle was too big so we parked in their small lot behind the hotel. Parking was ok but when we returned late at night it was hard to get into a spot because it was all large vehicles parking in a small space. I had no issues with their internet. When I checked in I was immediately given the info for using the internet and they had put a sticker on the envelope for my room key that had the network name and password. It would have been nice if they would have had a vending machine for drinks and snacks, at least there is a gas station close by. There was no breakfast included.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I thought the hotel was in the perfect spot, its just a short walk into town. There was a mini fridge in the room great for keeping snacks in and fresh free coffee in the lobby. The hot tub was good and hot !! Staff very friendly and even the cleaning crew would smile and say hi as I walked by.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

I had a wonderful experience in doing research on the hotel and corresponding with the staff there via email and telephone calls.

Location wasn't too bad; it's only a ~10 minute walk from downtown, although I wouldn't recommend walking there from the Greyhound Bus Station while carrying your luggage. The hotel itself looks clean and presentable as well.

Our problem was with the fact that we were staying in a queen suite - includes two queen beds, as well as a mini-fridge and a microwave. We were terribly disappointed in the fact that the room only had TWO free and accessible electrical outlets that worked. As two young women, we would have appreciated having more plugins from which to charge our laptops, cell phones and digital camera batteries.

Also, it is widely advertised on the website that the hotel has free wireless internet. Not only did we have to actually call the front desk to get the password for it, as it wasn't provided anywhere in the room, but from our third-floor room the signal was so bad that we could not get any web pages to fully open, eventually resorting to stealing wireless signal from a nearby, unsecured source (it's signal was stronger than the one in our hotel).

It was not a terrible stay by any means, though. The service was super friendly, and the hotel was nice and clean, but like many young people today, internet and plugins from which to charge our electronics rank high on our list of priorities, and as such we won't be staying at Irwin's again.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

I found Irwin Mountain Inn to be exactly what most previous reviewers have described it. It was a quiet and clean hotel located about 10 minutes walking from downtown Banff. The ski buses stop about 30 ft from the front of the hotel (Red Carpet Inn) which makes it very convenient to just put on your ski boots to take the shuttle. There are also ski locks down in the basement.

The staff was very friendly and gave great directions to all the places that we wanted to go. Our rooms were cleaned everyday although we did put out a "Do not clean" sign on one of the days. There was internet but it was quite spotty at times and slooooooooowwwwww. I guess they don't expect you to be doing any work when you are vacationing. :)

There were 3 of us to each room and while it was cosy, it didn't feel uncomfortable. The sink was outside the bathroom which can be both convenient and inconvenient. I guess it depends if your roommates have decent hygiene. :) I got a great price via Expedia and I cannot be happier with the choice.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitoba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

The staff was amazing here. VERY friendly and helpful gave a great feel to the place. rooms clean and tidy, nothing to complain about. Bathrooms were very cleanily which was important to us. There was a sauna and hot tub which was great after a long day. Hotel is right near downtown. Although it was busy, there was no excessive noise. Beautiful view of the mountains from our room. The restraunt was delicious and so handy. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

We were so happy we choose this hotel for our weekend retreat in Banff. Upon arrival we were greeted by a warm, comfortable lobby and smiling, friendly staff. We loved the one bedroom suite which accommodated 2 couples perfectly and even had a small kitchenette. We feel we have discovered a wonderful inn that also has a fabulous location. This hotel's location is a perfect walk to many of the great restaurants and shopping in Banff which is exactly what we needed. The hotel staff provided great advice to help direct us to the best spots in town. We had such a restful stay and will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveller. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect ammenity to relax after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irwin's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.