We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irwin's Mountain Inn

Save Saved
You added Irwin's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 hotels in Banff
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

From the moment we walked into this place- the Irwin Mountain Inn far outpaced any expectation we could ever have.

Easy to find, close to everything, and the place looks great from the street, but even greater as you walk in the front doors!

Staff were awesome, very helpful with any request, and treated us beyond expectations.

This place bills itself as "affordable & budget" but without asking you to give up comfort, convenience, and location- and this is the first time in a very long time that I can remember a place I've stayed actually pulling all that off... while being VERY affordable.

The lobby was bright, sunny, full of windows, great fireplace, and plenty of big comfy leather furniture. I've paid 2-3 times as much for a room in places where the lobby was non-descript and very dated. This was no "budget motel" lobby- instead it was very nice, and gave us GREAT first impressions.

We received a WARM reception from front desk, and although we were far too early for check in due to time zone changes etc., our room was available and so it was offered to us immediately!!!

Everything was super clean- which REALLY matters to us, and well maintained. The place must have recently been extensively renovated... and the view out our window was amazing. We certainly didn't check into this place to sit in our room and watch the scenery, but waking up and looking at the vast mountains was amazing!

We felt safe, clean, comfy, and had a GREAT family vacation! We got to spend our money on activities instead of a room, and didn't have to sacrifice a great room in the process!

Jetted tub in room, great hot-tub off of main lobby, and a good restaurant. Heat was fine, easily controlled in room, and they have A/C for warmer months. Very comfy bed, good tv, quiet at night, and yet the place seemed fairly busy. Great free parking, behind building or even underground!

Next time we're in Banff, I know where we're staying! This place was awesome, and look at my other reviews... we're not the easiest people in the world to please. Oh-and BANFF is a great place, beautiful, and with a great vibe!

The location is awesome, close to everything.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMIBanff, Front Office Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2010
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We work hard to provide a comfortable, clean, and affordable place to stay in Banff, while also offering our friendly staff. It is wonderful to know when we have achieved this. We look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    151
    63
    9
    10
See reviews for
101
115
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

good price, location and hot tub! staff helpful, clean rooms., not all have a fridge though

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

This is a basic hotel but then they don't charge the earth. The staff absolutely made this the right hotel for me. Down to earth, pleasant & helpful beyond the call of duty. The rooms are a little old but they have everything you need. Ours had a big comfortable bed, fridge, a jacuzzi and mountain views through both windows. (I think it was rm348) The ski bus stops right outside and the town is in sight from the front door. It's about a 10 minute stroll - if you're not hurrying - and it's all on the flat so it's really no inconvenience.
There's no restaurant but there is access through the lobby to the fabulous El Toro. We didn't have breakfast included so we ordered a main breakfast every morning which was served with a side of lightly fried potatoes & fresh fruit. It was substantial enough that we skipped lunch most days. Some people on tours had a choice of a complimentary continental breakfast or money off the main menu. I'd go for the main. Yummy. They also do apres ski tapas & drinks and have a great dinner menu.
Spoke to some people from UK who got a great deal through Inghams so would look at booking through them in future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Great motel, clean and tidy, laundry facilities and back then was not as dear as other motels.

Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

We had a very relaxing and pleasant holiday. The staff were extremely helpful, courteous and friendly. The room looked great and was very clean and comfortable and had a balcony that we could drink our tea/coffee on. Also, great shopping and restaurants are all within a short walking distance (The staff even helped us find places to eat and things to do). I also believe they just put in a new hottub in the building. My husband and I had even taken a look at another higher-end hotel in the area, but the room was far more expensive, smaller, and had no added amenities compared to our room at Irwin's. We would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMIBanff, Front Office Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2009
Dear Guest,

We, at Irwin’s Mountain Inn, would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We value our guests, and It is our goal to offer a great value and exceptional service. It’s nice to know when guests leave our property, that we have fulfilled their expectations. We appreciate you choosing Irwin’s Mountain Inn, and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We were very happy with our stay at Irwins. The rooms were bright, clean and spacious with comfortable beds. We really enjoyed the newly renovated hot tub and sauna area. The hotel is located close to downtown Banff so you can walk to the shops and restaurants. We were so impressed by the incredibly helpful and knowledgeable staff who suggested places to go for diner, for a hike, or a scenic drive. We will definitely be staying at Irwin’s again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Cozy, warm and nice place, excellent ration of money/service, nice staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveller. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect ammenity to relax after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irwin's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.