We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, conveniently located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irwin's Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Irwin's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Irwin's Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Hammond, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, conveniently located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We enjoyed our stay a Irwin's. It is only a 10 minute walk to downtown shops, pubs, restaurants, etc. room was quiet, spacious and comfortable. The hotel is not fancy or upscale tho if that is your thing.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the mountain and a balcony, very nice. #248
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your most honest review. We are indeed a budget hotel that provides personal touch and prime location. Our goal is for your stay to be remembered by clean rooms, comfortable bed and simple touches combined with your experiences of night life, sight seeing and so much more. You hit the nail on the head, our simple status brings people back again and again because we work so hard to keep our property affordable. Stay with us, book direct and find the savings. Our goal is to keep you returning time after time. Only 2 blocks from downtown, our hotel fits the bill for the experienced traveler looking to make memories with friends or family. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    160
    69
    10
    10
See reviews for
109
123
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights at the start of our tour of BC. Hotel was close to all amenities and comfortable, good parking although our SUV would not fit in the underground car park. Jacuzzi was good. Paid a fair price for our stay and was not dissappointed

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thanks for your recent review on your recent stay with us. So glad you discovered us and that we fit the bill for pricepoint and value. Our goal is to be price sensitive for the budget minded traveller and I am so glad we were able to make your stay enjoyable. Glad parking was able to be resolved. We do offer FREE parking and this can be a bit of a challenge in a busy destination like Banff. Stay with us again soon! Book direct and save. Our best price guarantee is by booking direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stopped here on a recent trip to Banff. The location was perfect. Parking was included in an underground garage. It was a little tight in there but was very useful. Was a little noisy outside on our 1st night but the staff were very helpful and I would stop there again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
So glad that your experience was made better by our staff. Helpful is what we are proud of. Our staff can point you in the right direction and provide many opportunities for sights and sounds on tours and options. I am so sorry our parking is a hassle. We are one of a few properties that offer FREE parking and as a result, parking can be tight. Glad that you made the best of it and I sure hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We spent two nights here in August 2014. Friendly and helpful staff,, 5 minutes walk to town. Breakfast at the restaurant attached was very good. Rooms clean. No hesitation in booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your simple and direct review. I appreciate your honesty and forthrightness on your stay with us. So glad that our staff are remembered as pleasant and helpful. That's our goal. So glad that you experienced El Toro and enjoyed that meal and memory. Please stay with us again on your return. Book direct and get the best price guaranteed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was the perfect place after touring around all day! The check-in was effortless, staff very friendly and helpful! The room was very comfortable and very clean. The bed and pillows were great!! The hotel was very quiet which was nice for a good nights sleep. Had a nice balcony with the view of the mountains. Could not think of anything that was not provided. The attached restaurant was fabulous!! The food there was the best I had had on the whole trip! Would definitely stay here and eat here again!!

Room Tip: Mountain view is worth the little extra you pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
I am so pleased with your review of the Irwin's Mountain Inn. The fact that check in and check out are deemed effortless means we were able to make your stay enjoyable. I am so glad that your meals at El Toro are memorable too! So grateful for your kind words on your stay with us.
Cheers and please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for 3 weeks for a skiing trip. The rooms were great, with air-con/heating, a fridge and comfortable beds. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially with directions etc. The hotel had lockers to keep ski equipment in which was useful. It would have been better if there were safety deposit boxes in each of the rooms, however they had storage at reception which I took full advantage of and the staff were very accommodating in that respect. The food at the El Toro restaurant was fantastic - I ate breakfast here every morning and dinner most evenings. The hotel's location was good, situated on the main street - there was a bit of a walk to the main attractions of Banff however it was all within walking distance and there were shuttle buses to take you to the slopes. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you so very much for your most recent review. I am very grateful you highlighted your stay with us and the ammenities that made your stay memorable. Glad our location fit the bill and that you enjoyed the amazing El Toro restaurant. We are so proud of our partnership wtih this restaurant and it's incredible service. Thanks again for staying with us and please do stay again. When you do, book directly with Irwin's Mountain Inn and save! Our lowest price is by booking direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, AZ
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Parking was at a premium. We first parked in the back but left to sightsee and when we returned there were no spaces open. We couldn't park in the underground garage because the SUV was too tall for the door opening. They had us park along the driveway. Difficult to get out in the morning. The lobby was not air conditioned because they said they were being eco friendly. Our room was air conditioned very well. The beds were a bit hard. Room was clean. Front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions. Also helpful with sightseeing and directions. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for recommending us to others! We appreciate your review very much. Our hope is that our friendly staff and priced right accomodation will hit the spot for your trip. Our parking is FREE which is not the standard in Banff. The Irwin's has been around since 1967 and is family owned and operated. Our parking can be a bit of a challenge in busy summer but we do our best to accomodate. Our staff are second to none! Friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. Our hope is that the simple touches make the difference both in your experience and our price will make the difference on your pocketbook! Book direct and save! Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveller. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect ammenity to relax after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irwin's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.