We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irwin's August 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irwin's Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Irwin's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Irwin's Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Banff
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Irwin's August 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We spent two nights here in August 2014. Friendly and helpful staff,, 5 minutes walk to town. Breakfast at the restaurant attached was very good. Rooms clean. No hesitation in booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your simple and direct review. I appreciate your honesty and forthrightness on your stay with us. So glad that our staff are remembered as pleasant and helpful. That's our goal. So glad that you experienced El Toro and enjoyed that meal and memory. Please stay with us again on your return. Book direct and get the best price guaranteed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    159
    69
    10
    10
See reviews for
108
123
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was the perfect place after touring around all day! The check-in was effortless, staff very friendly and helpful! The room was very comfortable and very clean. The bed and pillows were great!! The hotel was very quiet which was nice for a good nights sleep. Had a nice balcony with the view of the mountains. Could not think of anything that was not provided. The attached restaurant was fabulous!! The food there was the best I had had on the whole trip! Would definitely stay here and eat here again!!

Room Tip: Mountain view is worth the little extra you pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
I am so pleased with your review of the Irwin's Mountain Inn. The fact that check in and check out are deemed effortless means we were able to make your stay enjoyable. I am so glad that your meals at El Toro are memorable too! So grateful for your kind words on your stay with us.
Cheers and please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for 3 weeks for a skiing trip. The rooms were great, with air-con/heating, a fridge and comfortable beds. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially with directions etc. The hotel had lockers to keep ski equipment in which was useful. It would have been better if there were safety deposit boxes in each of the rooms, however they had storage at reception which I took full advantage of and the staff were very accommodating in that respect. The food at the El Toro restaurant was fantastic - I ate breakfast here every morning and dinner most evenings. The hotel's location was good, situated on the main street - there was a bit of a walk to the main attractions of Banff however it was all within walking distance and there were shuttle buses to take you to the slopes. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you so very much for your most recent review. I am very grateful you highlighted your stay with us and the ammenities that made your stay memorable. Glad our location fit the bill and that you enjoyed the amazing El Toro restaurant. We are so proud of our partnership wtih this restaurant and it's incredible service. Thanks again for staying with us and please do stay again. When you do, book directly with Irwin's Mountain Inn and save! Our lowest price is by booking direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, AZ
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Parking was at a premium. We first parked in the back but left to sightsee and when we returned there were no spaces open. We couldn't park in the underground garage because the SUV was too tall for the door opening. They had us park along the driveway. Difficult to get out in the morning. The lobby was not air conditioned because they said they were being eco friendly. Our room was air conditioned very well. The beds were a bit hard. Room was clean. Front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions. Also helpful with sightseeing and directions. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for recommending us to others! We appreciate your review very much. Our hope is that our friendly staff and priced right accomodation will hit the spot for your trip. Our parking is FREE which is not the standard in Banff. The Irwin's has been around since 1967 and is family owned and operated. Our parking can be a bit of a challenge in busy summer but we do our best to accomodate. Our staff are second to none! Friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. Our hope is that the simple touches make the difference both in your experience and our price will make the difference on your pocketbook! Book direct and save! Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, Wirral.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Hi All

Great choice for families the rooms are huge and so are the beds. Its very clean and tidy.
The hot tub was a favourite of ours after the slopes, set us up nicely for our evening meals.
................................................................................................................................................
We will be booking again when we next visit Banff.

Andy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Wow thanks for thinking of us and sending us your review! I appreciate you taking the time to comment on our facility during your winter stay with us. Thanks for highlighting the hot tub and the facility. Our staff works hard to keep this property in tip top shape for our guests. Please come again soon! When you do, book directly with us for the best price guaranteed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Just came back august 6th 2014. Location was good, staff friendly. Definitely needs microwaves in rooms. Parking had very tight spots. Nothing fancy but nice place for the money. Walking distance to everything, but far enough away from all the foot traffic to make for a quiet hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for your most recent review with us. I appreciate the feedback very much. I do hope your travels were excellent along the way. When you pass through again, please stay again. Book directly with us and save! Call us 24 hours a day to make a reservation with us. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We got a 'family size room with jetted tub', which was nice, but, not as nice as the pictures showed. The room was need of updating, especially the bathroom with its stained linoleum and peeling wallpaper. The bathroom was small, and the tub was smallish with jacuzzi jets. The room was big, with 2 areas for hanging up clothes and,had a frig and microwave. It's within easy walking distance of the great shops, Safeway, and we enjoyed the free wi fi and big hot tub. Underground parking is nice but tight.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for staying with us on your recent travels to Banff. Our hotel is equipped with FREE wifi, FREE parking and Air Conditioning. Our staff are both friendly and helpful. El Toro is next door with all your dining needs-they serve dinner and breakfast and all at a very reasonable price. When you come to Banff again, please stay with us and book direct to get the best price guaranteed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveller. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect ammenity to relax after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irwin's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.