We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irwin's Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Irwin's Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Irwin's Mountain Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fine place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, booked online a king room. Check-in was fast, receptionist friendly, and the underground parking was easy and convenient. Our room on the first floor was extremely tiny. I don't mind small rooms, but the layout was not very functional. There was a large table that was completely useless as it was shoved into the corner, with walls on two sides, tv stand on third side, and large refrigerator on the 4th side. Nice to have a fridge I guess, but with the size of the room we were barely able to walk around the bed. Room had a large glass patio door going out to patio in the front of the hotel. We had to keep the curtains closed all the time, as all the people strolling by on the sidewalk could see right into the room, which made it very dark inside. We were really only there to sleep, but if we were staying more than 2 nights I think we would have needed a bit more space, to be comfortable. We were tripping over our two suitcases! Air conditioner was also very noisy, but we needed it because the room always seemed to be hot. (Much hotter than air temp outside, or even in the hallway) On the plus side, the room was clean and bathroom shower was nice.Had a lovely breakfast at El Toro as well. I'd stay here again but only if I could get a more functional room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks for staying with us on your recent passing through of Banff. The Irwin's Mountain Inn has a variety of room styles and room sizes to meet whatever your needs are. Thanks for your feedback to us and I hope you will give us another try! And when you do, phone our front desk and book direct to get the room you want at a price that is right for you! El Toro is fabulous! We are so proud of our restaurant partners and want to make mention of their outstanding food quality and value. Try us both again soon and when you do, book direct wtih the hotel. Best price and value guaranteed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    158
    68
    10
    10
See reviews for
106
123
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was a nice hotel on a street of indistinguishably nice hotels. They are all quite pricey and all in a good location. Some are closer to the center of town than this, some are further away. We had a very nice stay here, but, as I said, this was a bit expensive compared to where we would normally stay. Staying near town was important to us on this trip but each family needs to decide if that extra cost is worth the money. I had heard that parking in town was hard to find, and that seems to be the case. The only negative I have to offer about this particular Inn is that they have underground parking and, if you drive an SUV or bigger vehicle, you have to fight for the 8 or so parking spots they have in the back. They're very tight spots, and there were usually only one or two left at the end of the afternoon when we came back from hiking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for your most recent review and for staying with us. We are glad you chose us! Summer season is busy and parking is as you say a premium. The one perk to our parking situation is that it is indeed FREE. We do have FREE underground parking for minivans and cars and smaller truck/suvs and we do have FREE parking in our courtyard. Our hotel was built in 1967 and the designs back then didn't take into consideration the SUV and TRUCKS we have today. However, our staff are always able to point you in the right direction and our sister properties all have overflow parking along the back of our hotel. Our 65 room hotel is just 2 blocks from the shops downtown and well within walking distance of the sights and sounds that is Banff. Bus stops are just outside our hotel as well.

Please come again and stay with us. Book direct and save! Our best price is found by calling us direct and our front desk is open 24 hours a day to book your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very clean and friendly hotel. The front desk is very informative about downtown events and restaurants which was helpful. Rooms were spotless and had all amenities needed. Will be coming back on our next trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Wow! Thanks for your review of Irwin's. It is great to have the feedback on what is done well and it's great to be called HOME! Our staff are eager to help you experience what is Banff. Thanks for your comments and come again real soon.

When you do, book direct at Irwin's and get the best price guarantee for our hotel. Best price is always found at our hotel directly! No complicated bookings, helpful staff to make your booking better and best of all, the human touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Whenever my husband and I go to banff, Irwin's mountain inn is our favorite place to stay, and this time was no exception! The location is perfect, the service is so friendly and the rooms are very comfy. We love that we can soak in the hot tub after hiking, make our appetizers in the room's kitchenette and then easily walk to town for dinner and drinks. The perfect getaway!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your most recent review and your repeat stay with us! I appreciate the highlights you mentioned in your review and I'd like to take the time to thank you for your continued patronage of our hotel. The Irwin's has been in Banff since 1967. Our goal is great customer service at a great price and a clean room with a memorable experience while in the Rockies. Please come again soon.

When you do, call direct and book with us! Our front desk is open 24 hours a day to take your reservation. Save money and book today!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We wanted to hike Tunnel Mtn and the hotel is right across the street. The staff were very friendly, the room cosy and the hot tub area very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends, couples and families.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks so much for your most recent review of our hotel. We appreciate our guests feedback so much. Your stay with us highlights our location and our goal for a friendly experience and a clean hotel and clean ammenities. We are in perfect distance for the avid hiker, the avid shopper and the avid biker. We are thrilled when our guests mention our friendly atmosphere that will enhance your experience and make memories.

Thanks so much for your kind comments and please come again soon. Book direct with our hotel and save! Our lowest price exists at our hotel directly with direct bookings. Why shop online when you can phone and book direct! Stay and save!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My friend and I recently spent 4 nights here, and it was great. I loved being able to just walk out the front door and join the nightly promenade up and down Banff Avenue. The staff was friendly and helpful. The parking is a bit snug, but we were always able to find a spot. The WiFi is great. Our room was clean with plenty of room. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest, we are so grateful for your review of our property. Thanks for highlighting our beautiful hotel. We work so hard to keep things clean and crisp for a comfortable stay. Please come again soon. We are so glad for repeat guests. Book direct with us and achieve the best price at our hotel. Or book online on our website to achieve the best price. Safe travels and come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had the pleasure of spending three nights here. This hotel is not new and is showing its age. Having said that our room was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfy. We had a small kitchen area with a microwave, frig and sink. The hotel is located on Banff Ave within easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants. They have parking but I preferred to park on the street since their lot is tight. There is a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was that the air conditioner was difficult to operate. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review of our property. The Irwin's hotel has been around Banff since 1967. Family owned and operated, the Irwin's is a family friendly hotel that focuses on the little touches to make every stay enjoyable. From Air Conditioned rooms to free parking plus the added comforts of free hot tub and free wifi, we look to make your stay pleasurable. Our staff is friendly and helpful and we work so hard on ensuring your experience in Banff is memorable so they are trained to point you in the right direction. With just 2 blocks from downtown, the Irwin's is the perfect fit for your stay in the world class destination, Banff.

Book directly with us on your next stay. Our best rate is achieved by booking direct at Irwin's. Or go online to our website and book directly online for the best rate. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveller. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect ammenity to relax after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irwin's Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.